The skaven are a race of mutant ratmen. They are true beings of Chaos, their every thought turned towards selfish advancement and conquest. Their technologies and magics are powered by the foul substance known as warpstone. Anarchic, prolific and deranged, the skaven are a threat to every living being in the Mortal Realms.
This page contains all of the rules you need to field your Skaven miniatures on the battlefields of the Mortal Realms, from a host of exciting faction rules to a range of warscrolls. The rules are split into the following sections:Contents | ||
Book | Kind | Edition | Last update | |
![]() | ||||
![]() | Battletome | 4 | September 2024 | |
![]() | ||||
![]() | Faction Pack | 4 | July 2025 | |
![]() | ||||
![]() | Rulebook | 4 | July 2025 | |
![]() | ||||
![]() | Expansion | 4 | May 2025 | |
![]() | ||||
![]() | Warscroll | 4 | April 2025 | |
![]() | ||||
![]() | Battletome | 4 | March 2025 | |
![]() | ||||
![]() | Faction Pack | 4 | January 2025 | |
![]() | ||||
![]() | Faction Pack | 4 | January 2025 | |
![]() | ||||
![]() | Battletome | 4 | December 2024 | |
![]() | ||||
![]() | Faction Pack | 4 | December 2024 |
Q: | If I pick a friendly Stormfiends unit as the target of the ‘Filth-crust’ prayer with a chanting roll of 8+, how would the Crit (Mortal) weapon ability interact with the ‘Shock Gauntlets’ ability? |
A: | The Crit (Mortal) weapon ability would inflict mortal damage on the target unit equal to the Damage characteristic and the attack sequence would end, so ‘Shock Gauntlets’ would have no further effect. |
Q: | If an enemy unit is affected by the ‘Gaze of the Gnaw’ ability and must attack Vizzik Skour, can the models in that unit that are not within Vizzik Skour’s combat range after piling in attack? |
A: | No. |
Q: | If a Warp-Grinder picks another Warp-Grinder unit to be set up in the tunnels below using the ‘Tunnel Skulkers’ ability, can both of those units use the ‘Warp-Ambush’ ability to attempt to set up the units on the battlefield? |
A: | Yes. |
Q: | When using the Grey Seer’s ‘Warpstone Shards’ ability, if the 3D6 casting roll includes 2 or more rolls of 1 (before removing one of the dice), is that spell miscast? |
A: | Yes. |
Q: | If I successfully cast ‘Gnaw Through Reality’ on a Scourge of Ghyran Grey Seer on Screaming Bell, could I then use ‘Tunnels Through Reality’ to remove that unit and set it up wholly within 6" of another friendly Gnawhole? |
A: | No. ‘Gnaw Through Reality’ does not allow the Grey Seer on Screaming Bell to use abilities from the Gnawhole warscroll, only to be treated as a Gnawhole when using those abilities. |
Q: | If a flying unit passes across a Gnawhole, does it ignore the effect of the ‘Volatile Ground’ ability since the ‘Fly’ ability means that units ignore terrain features while moving? |
A: | No. The unit still counts as having passed across the Gnawhole, so the effect applies. |
Skaven armies can use the following abilities:
![]() |
KEYWORDS | DEPLOY |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
You can pick 1 of the following battle formations for a Skaven army. Each battle formation grants a different ability you can use in the battle.
Name | Points |
Virulent Procession | 0 |
Fleshmeld Menagerie | 0 |
Claw-horde | 0 |
Warpcog Convocation | 0 |
Envoys of the Deepengnaw | 0 |
Gathering of the Clans | 0 |
![]() |
![]() |
|
![]() |
![]() |
|
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() | 6 |
KEYWORDS | SPELL, UNLIMITED |
![]() | 6 |
KEYWORDS | SPELL |
![]() | 6 |
KEYWORDS | SPELL |
![]() | 4 |
KEYWORDS | PRAYER, UNLIMITED |
![]() | 4 |
KEYWORDS | PRAYER |
![]() | 5 |
KEYWORDS | PRAYER |
![]() | 7 |
KEYWORDS | SUMMON, SPELL |
![]() | 7 |
KEYWORDS | SUMMON, SPELL |
![]() | 7 |
KEYWORDS | SUMMON, SPELL |
ROSTER OPTIONS
| ||
![]() |
![]() |
KEYWORDS | WARPSHATTER THROES |
![]() |
KEYWORDS | WARPSHATTER THROES |
![]() |
KEYWORDS | WARPSHATTER THROES |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() | 8 |
KEYWORDS | SPELL, UNLIMITED |
![]() | 7 |
KEYWORDS | PRAYER, UNLIMITED |
![]() | 7 |
KEYWORDS | SPELL, SUMMON |
ROSTER OPTIONS
| ||
![]() |
![]() |
KEYWORDS | RAMPAGE |
![]() |
![]() |
KEYWORDS | RAMPAGE |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() | 5 |
KEYWORDS | SPELL, UNLIMITED |
![]() | 7 |
KEYWORDS | SPELL, SUMMON |
Here, you will find additional rules to use with a Skaven army while playing through a Path to Glory campaign. The Path to Glory content in this book is divided into two parts: the Anvil of Apotheosis and Paths for Skaven units.
![]() |
KEYWORDS | PRAYER, UNLIMITED |
![]() | 7 |
KEYWORDS | PRAYER |
Critical hits have no effect on their own but often trigger additional effects (see 20.0 Weapon Abilities). | ||
| ||
| ||
In some cases, it might not be immediately clear whether a model is visible. If so, stoop down to get a look from behind the observing model. If any part of the other model is visible, even if it is just the tip of a spear, then that model is visible for rules purposes. | ||
![]() |
![]() | 6 |
KEYWORDS | SPELL |
![]() |
When moving flying units, move them horizontally in any direction, ignoring intervening models and terrain, and place them where you wish, so long as they are allowed to end their move on that spot. Note that some units have the FLY keyword even if that unit can’t really fly. This often represents units that bounce, bound or skitter across the battlefield so adeptly that they might as well be flying! | ||
The non-MONSTER SKAVEN keyword is used in the following Skaven warscrolls:
![]() |
KEYWORDS | CORE, MOVE |
![]() |
KEYWORDS | CORE, MOVE, RUN |
![]() |
KEYWORDS | CORE, MOVE, RETREAT |
The PESTILENS keyword is used in the following Skaven warscrolls:
| ||
The non-HERO MOULDER keyword is used in the following Skaven warscrolls:
The VERMINUS keyword is used in the following Skaven warscrolls:
The SKRYRE keyword is used in the following Skaven warscrolls:
The DAEMON keyword is used in the following Skaven warscrolls:
The non-HERO SKAVEN and INFANTRY keywords are used in the following Skaven warscrolls:
![]() | 1 |
KEYWORDS | MOVE, RUN |
The MOULDER keyword is used in the following Skaven warscrolls:
The ESHIN keyword is used in the following Skaven warscrolls:
The HERO keyword is used in the following Skaven warscrolls:
The SKAVEN and HERO keywords are used in the following Skaven warscrolls:
![]() |
KEYWORDS | CORE, MOVE, CHARGE |
The SKRYRE and WAR MACHINE keywords are used in the following Skaven warscrolls:
The SKAVEN and WIZARD keywords are used in the following Skaven warscrolls:
The SKAVEN and PRIEST keywords are used in the following Skaven warscrolls:
The non-UNIQUE MASTERCLAN keyword is used in the following Skaven warscrolls:
The non-UNIQUE VERMINUS keyword is used in the following Skaven warscrolls:
The non-UNIQUE SKRYRE keyword is used in the following Skaven warscrolls:
The non-UNIQUE MOULDER keyword is used in the following Skaven warscrolls:
The Citadel Terrain List shows the number of scenery pieces each terrain feature can consist of. If you are using terrain features that are not included on that list, agree with your opponent before setting up the battlefield how many scenery pieces make up each terrain feature. | ||
Sometimes objective markers get accidentally nudged while you are moving models around. This is perfectly fine - just remember to put them back in their proper positions when determining objective control. | ||
The WIZARD keyword is used in the following Skaven warscrolls:
The PRIEST keyword is used in the following Skaven warscrolls:
The MONSTER keyword is used in the following Skaven warscrolls:
![]() | 1 |
![]() | 1 |
Contents | ||