Beasts of Chaos – Jabberslythe
This warscroll does not meet the selection criteria (see Settings tab).


Grotesque conglomerations of monstrous body parts, Jabberslythes lurch forth from their swampy lairs to hunt. Their anarchic form drives those who look upon them to madness, while their corrosive blood melts those foolish enough to attack them.
MISSILE WEAPONSRangeAttacksTo HitTo WoundTo WndRendDamageDmg
Slythey Tongue
Slythey Tongue9"33+3+-11
MELEE WEAPONSRangeAttacksTo HitTo WoundTo WndRendDamageDmg
Vorpal Claws
Vorpal Claws1"63+3+-21
Spiked Tail
Spiked Tail3"14+2+-2D3

Unit Size: 1      Points: 150
Battlefield Role: Behemoth
Base size: 120 x 92mm
Notes: Single


A Jabberslythe is a single model armed with a Slythey Tongue, Vorpal Claws and a Spiked Tail.

FLY: Jabberslythes can fly.


Aura of Madness: Simply being in the presence of a Jabberslythe is enough to drive a warrior mad, causing them to lash out at friend and foe alike.
Subtract 1 from casting, dispelling and unbinding rolls for enemy WIZARDS within 6" of any units in your army with this ability.

In addition, each time an enemy unit within 3" of any units in your army with this ability is chosen to fight, roll 3D6. If the roll is greater than that enemy unit’s Bravery characteristic, until the end of that phase, that unit is deranged. Add 1 to the Attacks characteristic of melee weapons used by a unit that is deranged. However, if the unmodified hit roll for an attack made by a unit that is deranged is 1, it suffers 1 mortal wound after all of its attacks have been resolved.

Spurting Bile Blood: Jabberslythes are filled with deadly acidic blood that can cause horrific burns to those who dare attack them.
Roll a dice each time a wound inflicted by a melee weapon is allocated to this model and not negated. On a 4+, the attacking unit suffers 1 mortal wound.

Hit Roll
Roll a dice. If the roll equals or beats the attacking weapon’s To Hit characteristic, the attack scores a hit and you must make a wound roll. If not, the attack fails and the attack sequence ends. An unmodified hit roll of 1 always fails and an unmodified hit roll of 6 always hits. A hit roll cannot be modified by more than +1 or -1 (this is an exception to the principle that abilities take precedence over core rules).

Sometimes an ability will allow a single hit roll to score two or more hits. If this is the case, make all of the wound and save rolls for those hits at the same time.
13.1.2 Combat Attacks
When a friendly unit fights, you must make combat attacks with all of the melee weapons the models in the unit are armed with that they are allowed to use (including melee weapons used by the unit’s mounts, if there are any).

The target of a combat attack must be within a number of inches of the attacking model equal to the Range characteristic of the weapon being used to make the attack (the target does not have to be visible).

The BEASTS OF CHAOS keyword is used in the following Beasts of Chaos warscrolls:

14.5 Mortal Wounds
Some attacks, spells and abilities cause mortal wounds. Do not make hit, wound or save rolls for mortal wounds. Instead, the damage inflicted on the target is equal to the number of mortal wounds that were caused.

Mortal wounds caused while a unit is attacking are allocated at the same time as wounds caused by the unit’s attacks: after all of the unit’s attacks have been made. Mortal wounds caused at other times are allocated as soon as they are caused. Mortal wounds are allocated in the same way as wounds and are treated in the same manner as wounds for rules purposes.

The MONSTERS OF CHAOS keyword is used in the following Beasts of Chaos warscrolls:

• Chimera

The MONSTER keyword is used in the following Beasts of Chaos warscrolls:

• Chimera
• Cygor
• Ghorgon
9.4 Flying
If the warscroll used by a model says that it can fly, you can ignore other models and terrain features when you trace the path of its move across the battlefield (it flies over them). In addition, when a model that can fly starts or finishes a move on a terrain feature, instead of tracing its move across the battlefield, you can trace it ‘through the air’, as shown in the diagram below.

A flying model cannot finish a move on top of another model or finish a normal move, run or retreat within 3" of an enemy unit.
19.1.2 Unbinding Spells
If a spell is successfully cast, your opponent can pick 1 of their WIZARDS that is within 30" of the caster to attempt to unbind the spell before its effects are applied. In order to attempt to unbind a spell, first say which WIZARD will attempt to unbind it. Then make an unbinding roll by rolling 2D6. If the unbinding roll is greater than the roll used to cast the spell, then the spell is unbound and its effects are not applied. The number of spells a WIZARD can attempt to unbind is noted on their warscroll. Only 1 unbinding attempt can be made for each spell.
19.1 Casting Spells
In your hero phase, you can attempt to cast spells with friendly WIZARDS. You cannot attempt to cast the same spell more than once in the same hero phase, even with a different WIZARD. In order to attempt to cast a spell, pick a friendly WIZARD, say which of the spells that they know will be attempted, and then make a casting roll by rolling 2D6. If the casting roll is equal to or greater than the casting value of the spell, the spell is successfully cast.
19.3.2 Dispelling Endless Spells
At the start of the hero phase, each player can attempt to dispel 1 endless spell with each friendly WIZARD and friendly PRIEST. The player whose turn is taking place makes all of their dispelling attempts first. If a WIZARD attempts to dispel an endless spell, they can attempt to cast or unbind 1 fewer spell in that hero phase. If a PRIEST attempts to dispel an endless spell, they can chant 1 fewer prayer in that hero phase. The same player cannot attempt to dispel the same endless spell more than once per phase.

To attempt to dispel an endless spell, pick 1 endless spell that is within 30" of a friendly WIZARD or friendly PRIEST and that is visible to them. Then make a dispelling roll by rolling 2D6. If the roll is greater than the casting value of that endless spell, it is dispelled and removed from play. An endless spell cannot be summoned again in the turn that it is removed from play.
© Vyacheslav Maltsev 2013-2022