Nighthaunt – The Briar Queen
This warscroll does not meet the selection criteria (see Settings tab).
6"
5
4+
10
WARSCROLL

The Briar Queen

The Briar Queen was once incarcerated in the vaults of the Shyishan city of Shadespire, locked away for crimes too horrendous to mention. Since the coming of the Necroquake, she has been set loose upon the living, her remit to bring madness and terror to all who would evade Nagash’s punishments.
MISSILE WEAPONSRangeAttacksTo HitTo WoundTo WndRendDamageDmg
Rending Scream
Rending Scream10"33+3+-31
MELEE WEAPONSRangeAttacksTo HitTo WoundTo WndRendDamageDmg
Briar Whip
Briar Whip3"13+3+-2D3
PITCHED BATTLE PROFILE

Unit Size: 1      Points: 280
Battlefield Role: Leader
Notes: Single, Unique. The Briar Queen and Thorns of the Briar Queen units must be taken as a set. Although taken as a set, each is a separate unit.

The Briar Queen is armed with a Rending Scream and Briar Whip.

WIZARD: This unit can attempt to cast 1 spell in your hero phase and attempt to unbind 1 spell in the enemy hero phase.

FLY: This unit can fly.

RETINUE: This unit’s retinue is the THORNS OF THE BRIAR QUEEN unit in your army.

Grasping Chains: The Chainrasps bound to the Briar Queen throw themselves in harm's way for their mistress, ensnaring her foes to allow for escape or quick vengeance.
Before you allocate a wound or mortal wound to this unit, or instead of making a ward roll for a wound or mortal wound that would be allocated to this unit, if this unit is within 3" of its retinue, roll a dice. On a 1-2, that wound or mortal wound is allocated to this unit as normal. On a 3+, that wound or mortal wound is allocated to this unit’s retinue instead of this unit.

Howling Vortex: A pitch-black void of shrieking winds opens in the air, dragging the victim towards it.
Howling Vortex is a spell that has a casting value of 7 and a range of 18". If successfully cast, pick a point on the battlefield within range and visible to the caster. Then, roll 2D6 for each enemy unit within 6" of that point. If the roll is greater than that unit’s unmodified Move characteristic, or the roll is a double, that unit suffers 1 mortal wound and its Move characteristic is halved until your next hero phase.

KEYWORDS
DEATH, NIGHTHAUNT, MALIGNANT, GRIEVING LEGION, HERO, WIZARD, THE BRIAR QUEEN
9.4 Flying
If the warscroll used by a model says that it can fly, you can ignore other models and terrain features when you trace the path of its move across the battlefield (it flies over them). In addition, when a model that can fly starts or finishes a move on a terrain feature, instead of tracing its move across the battlefield, you can trace it ‘through the air’, as shown in the diagram below.

A flying model cannot finish a move on top of another model or finish a normal move, run or retreat within 3" of an enemy unit.
14.5 Mortal Wounds
Some attacks, spells and abilities cause mortal wounds. Do not make hit, wound or save rolls for mortal wounds. Instead, the damage inflicted on the target is equal to the number of mortal wounds that were caused.

Mortal wounds caused while a unit is attacking are allocated at the same time as wounds caused by the unit’s attacks: after all of the unit’s attacks have been made. Mortal wounds caused at other times are allocated as soon as they are caused. Mortal wounds are allocated in the same way as wounds and are treated in the same manner as wounds for rules purposes.
19.1 Casting Spells
In your hero phase, you can attempt to cast spells with friendly WIZARDS. You cannot attempt to cast the same spell more than once in the same hero phase, even with a different WIZARD. In order to attempt to cast a spell, pick a friendly WIZARD, say which of the spells that they know will be attempted, and then make a casting roll by rolling 2D6. If the casting roll is equal to or greater than the casting value of the spell, the spell is successfully cast.
19.1.2 Unbinding Spells
If a spell is successfully cast, your opponent can pick 1 of their WIZARDS that is within 30" of the caster to attempt to unbind the spell before its effects are applied. In order to attempt to unbind a spell, first say which WIZARD will attempt to unbind it. Then make an unbinding roll by rolling 2D6. If the unbinding roll is greater than the roll used to cast the spell, then the spell is unbound and its effects are not applied. The number of spells a WIZARD can attempt to unbind is noted on their warscroll. Only 1 unbinding attempt can be made for each spell.

The WIZARD keyword is used in the following Nighthaunt warscrolls:

Leader, Behemoth
Leader
14.3 Wards
Some abilities allow you to roll a dice to negate a wound or mortal wound. Abilities of this type are referred to as wards, and the dice roll is referred to as a ward roll. Unless stated otherwise, the ward roll is made before the wound is allocated to the model in question. Up to 1 ward roll can be made for each wound or mortal wound. If the ward roll is successful, the wound or mortal wound is negated and has no effect on the model.

The THORNS OF THE BRIAR QUEEN keyword is used in the following Nighthaunt warscrolls:

None
14.1 Allocating Wounds
Wounds are allocated to the models in a unit 1 wound at a time. You can allocate the wounds caused to your units as you see fit. However, once you have allocated a wound to a model, you cannot allocate wounds to other models in the unit until that model is slain (see 14.2). If a unit is destroyed, all wounds that remain to be allocated to the unit are negated and have no effect.
© Vyacheslav Maltsev 2013-2022