Unaligned – Vortex Missile Aquila Strongpoint
This datasheet does not meet the selection criteria (see Settings tab).
24

Vortex Missile Aquila Strongpoint

NoNAME  M WS BS S T W A Ld Sv Base
470
Vortex Missile Aquila Strongpoint (base: Use model)
1
470
Vortex Missile Aquila Strongpoint
- - 5+ - 10 30 - - 3+ Use model
A Vortex Missile Aquila Strongpoint is a single model equipped with: vortex missile battery.
WEAPON
RANGE
TYPE
S
AP
D
ABILITIES 
Vortex missile battery
Vortex missile battery
180"
Heavy D6
-
-
-
Blast. This weapon can target units that are not visible to the bearer, even when firing in accordance with the Automated Weapons ability. When resolving an attack made with this weapon, if a hit is scored the target suffers D6 mortal wounds. If a model in the target unit loses any wounds as a result of those mortal wounds but is not destroyed, roll another D6; on a 6 that model suffers a further D6 mortal wounds.
Blast. This weapon can target units that are not visible to the bearer, even when firing in accordance with the Automated Weapons ability. When resolving an attack made with this weapon, if a hit is scored the target suffers D6 mortal wounds. If a model in the target unit loses any wounds as a result of those mortal wounds but is not destroyed, roll another D6; on a 6 that model suffers a further D6 mortal wounds.
+15
Heavy bolter
+15
Heavy bolter
36"
Heavy 3
5
-1
2
-
WARGEAR OPTIONS
WARGEAR OPTIONS
 • This model can additionally be equipped with up to 4 heavy bolters.
ABILITIES
ABILITIES
Containment Failure: When this model is destroyed, before any embarked models disembark, its vortex missiles explode. Each unit within 2D6" suffers D6 mortal wounds. If a model loses any wounds as a result of those mortal wounds but is not destroyed, roll another D6; on a 6 that model suffers a further D6 mortal wounds.

Designer’s Note: If you cannot physically remove this model from your battlefield when it is destroyed (because, for example, it is glued to the surface) then it is wrecked – from that point on, models can no longer embark inside it, it can no longer shoot etc.
Automated Weapons: Unless a friendly unit is embarked aboard, this model’s weapons can only target the closest visible enemy unit. If two or more units are equally close, you can choose which is targeted.
Fire Points: Up to 15 models embarked aboard this model can shoot in your Shooting phase, measuring distances and drawing line of sight from any point on this model. When they do so, any restrictions and modifiers that apply to this model also apply to its embarked models.
Immobile: This model cannot move for any reason, nor can it fight in the Fight phase. When resolving an attack made against this model in the Fight phase, do not make a hit roll: it automatically scores a hit. This model can shoot in your Shooting phase even if there are enemy units within 1" of it, and friendly units can target enemy units that are within 1" of this model.
TRANSPORT
TRANSPORT
This model has a transport capacity of 2 INFANTRY units, up to a total of 30 models.

Designer’s Note: When you embark models onto a Vortex Missile Aquila Strongpoint, you may find it useful to place some of them on the battlements to remind you which unit(s) are inside the fortification.
FACTION KEYWORDS: UNALIGNED
KEYWORDS: BUILDING, VEHICLE, TRANSPORT, WALL OF MARTYRS, AQUILA STRONGPOINT, VORTEX MISSILE
HEAVY
Heavy weapons are amongst the biggest guns on the battlefield, but they require bracing to fire at full effect and are unwieldy to bring to bear at close quarters.
When an INFANTRY model shoots a Heavy weapon, subtract 1 from the hit rolls when resolving that weapon’s attacks if the firing model’s unit has moved for any reason this turn (e.g. it made a Normal Move this turn).

  • Subtract 1 from hit rolls if firing model is INFANTRY and its unit has moved this turn.
Embark
If a unit makes a Normal Move, an Advance or it Falls Back, and every model in that unit ends that move within 3" of a friendly TRANSPORT model they can embark within it. A unit cannot embark within a TRANSPORT model that is within Engagement Range of enemy models, and it cannot embark if it has already disembarked from a TRANSPORT model in the same phase. Remove the unit from the battlefield and place it to one side – it is now embarked within the model.

Units cannot normally do anything or be affected in any way while they are embarked. Unless specifically stated, other units’ abilities have no effect on units while they are embarked, and Stratagems cannot be used to affect units while they are embarked. For all rules purposes, units that are embarked within a TRANSPORT model that has made a Normal Move, Advanced, Fallen Back or Remained Stationary also count as having made the same kind of move that turn.

  • Units can embark in a friendly TRANSPORT if every model ends a Normal Move, an Advance or a Fall Back within 3" of it.
  • A unit cannot embark within a TRANSPORT that is within Engagement Range of any enemy models.
  • A unit cannot embark and disembark in the same phase.
  • Units cannot do anything, or be affected in any way, while they are embarked within a TRANSPORT.
Disembark
If a unit starts its Movement phase embarked within a TRANSPORT model, that unit can disembark in that phase so long as the model itself has not yet made a Normal Move, an Advance or has Fallen Back that phase.

When a unit disembarks, set it up on the battlefield so that it is wholly within 3" of the TRANSPORT model and not within Engagement Range of any enemy models.

Units that disembark can then act normally (move, shoot, charge, fight, etc.) in the remainder of the turn, but its models count as having moved that turn, even if they are not moved further (i.e. they never count as having Remained Stationary).

  • Units that start their Movement phase embarked in a TRANSPORT can disembark this phase.
  • A unit must disembark before their TRANSPORT moves.
  • Disembarking units must be set up wholly within 3" of their TRANSPORT and not within Engagement Range of any enemy models.
  • Units that have disembarked count as having moved this turn.
Mortal Wounds
Some attacks inflict mortal wounds – these are so powerful that no armour or force field can withstand their fury. Each mortal wound inflicts 1 point of damage on the target unit, and they are always applied one at a time. Do not make a wound roll or saving throw (including invulnerable saves) against a mortal wound – just allocate it as you would any other attack and inflict damage to a model in the target unit. Unlike damage inflicted by normal attacks, excess damage from mortal wounds is not lost. Instead, keep allocating damage to another model in the target unit until either all the damage has been allocated or the target unit is destroyed.

If an attack inflicts mortal wounds in addition to the normal damage, resolve the normal damage first. If an attack inflicts mortal wounds in addition to the normal damage, but the normal damage is subsequently saved, the target unit still suffers the mortal wounds, as described before. If an ability modifies the damage inflicted by a weapon, and that weapon can inflict mortal wounds in addition to the normal damage, the modifier does not apply to any mortal wounds that are inflicted (unless the rule specifically states otherwise).

  • Each mortal wound inflicted on a unit causes one model in the unit to lose one wound.
  • No saving throws can be made against mortal wounds.
  • Mortal wounds inflicted by attacks in addition to normal damage always apply, even if normal damage saved.
Transport Capacity
All TRANSPORT models have a transport capacity listed on their datasheet. This determines how many friendly models, and of what type, can embark within them. A model’s transport capacity can never be exceeded.

Units can start the battle embarked within a TRANSPORT instead of being set up separately – declare what units are embarked within a TRANSPORT model before you set it up.

  • Transport capacity: Maximum number of models that can embark within the Transport.
  • Units can start the battle embarked in a TRANSPORT.
Faction Rules
Blast Weapons
Some weapons have ‘Blast’ listed in their profile’s abilities. These are referred to as Blast weapons. In addition to the normal rules, the following rules apply to Blast weapons:
  1. If a Blast weapon targets a unit that has between 6 and 10 models, it always makes a minimum of 3 attacks. So if, when determining how many attacks are made with that weapon, the dice rolled results in less than 3 attacks being made, make 3 attacks instead. For example, if a Grenade D6 weapon with the Blast rule targets a unit that has 6 or more models, and you roll a 2 to determine how many attacks are made, that roll is counted as being a 3 and that weapon makes three attacks against that unit.
  2. When a Blast weapon targets a unit that has 11 or more models, do not roll dice to randomly determine how many attacks are made – instead, make the maximum possible number of attacks. For example, if a Grenade D6 weapon with the Blast rule targets a unit that has 11 or more models, that weapon makes six attacks against that unit.
Blast weapons can never be used to make attacks against a unit that is within Engagement Range of the firing model’s unit, even if the weapon has the Pistol type or if the firing model is a VEHICLE or a MONSTER – firing high-explosives at point-blank range is simply unwise.

  • Blast Weapons: Minimum three attacks against units with 6+ models. Always make maximum number of attacks against units with 11+ models.
  • Can never be used to attack units within the firing unit’s Engagement Range.
Hit Roll
When a model makes an attack, make one hit roll for that attack by rolling one D6. If the result of the hit roll is equal to or greater than the attacking model’s Ballistic Skill (BS) characteristic (if the attack is being made with a ranged weapon) or its Weapon Skill (WS) characteristic (if the attack is being made with a melee weapon), then that attack scores one hit against the target unit. If not, the attack fails and the attack sequence ends.

If an attack is made with a weapon that has an ability that says it ‘automatically hits the target’, no hit roll is made – that attack simply scores one hit on the target unit. An unmodified hit roll of 6 always scores a hit, and an unmodified hit roll of 1 always fails. A hit roll can never be modified by more than -1 or +1. This means that if, after all the cumulative modifiers to a hit roll have been calculated, the total modifier would be -2 or worse, it is changed to be -1. Similarly, if, after all the cumulative modifiers to a hit roll have been calculated, the total modifier would be +2 or better, it is changed to be +1.

The AQUILA STRONGPOINT keyword is used in the following Unaligned datasheets:

© Vyacheslav Maltsev 2013-2021