Tyranids – Gargoyles
 ]
This datasheet does not meet the selection criteria (see Filter combo-box or Settings tab).
4

Gargoyles

NoNAME  M WS BS S T W A Ld Sv Base
8
Gargoyle (base: 32mm flying base)
10‑20
8
Gargoyle
12" 4+ 4+ 3 3 1 1 5 6+ 32mm flying base
If this unit contains 11 or more models, it has Power Rating 8. Every model is equipped with: fleshborer.
WEAPON
RANGE
TYPE
S
AP
D
ABILITIES 
Fleshborer
Fleshborer
18"
Assault 1
5
-1
1
-
ABILITIES
ABILITIES
Swarming Masses
FACTION KEYWORDS: HIVE TENDRIL, TYRANIDS,
KEYWORDS: INFANTRY, FLY, CORE, ENDLESS MULTITUDE, GARGOYLES

Datasheet-related Stratagems

VANGUARD ONSLAUGHT1CP
Tyranids – Battle Tactic Stratagem – Crusade

First amongst the swarm to assail the prey, vanguard organisms pounce upon ill-prepared defenders.

Use this Stratagem in the Fight phase, when a GARGOYLES, GENESTEALERS, HARPY, HIVE CRONE or LICTOR unit from your army is selected to fight. Until the end of the phase, if that unit made a charge move, was charged, or performed a Heroic Intervention this turn, then each time a model in that unit makes an attack, you can re-roll the wound roll.
UNPARALLELED FEROCITY1CP/2CP
Behemoth – Battle Tactic Stratagem

So single-minded is the aggression with which the beasts of Hive Fleet Behemoth fight that even death does not immediately halt their brutal rampage.

Use this Stratagem in the Fight phase, when a BEHEMOTH INFANTRY unit (excluding CHARACTER units) from your army that has not fought this phase is selected as the target of a melee attack. Until the attacking model’s unit has finished making its attacks, each time a model in that BEHEMOTH unit is destroyed, instead of using any rules that are triggered when that model is destroyed, do not remove the destroyed model from play - it can, after the attacking model’s unit has finished making its attacks, attack as if its unit had been selected to fight. After resolving these attacks, the destroyed model is then removed. If that BEHEMOTH INFANTRY unit has the ENDLESS MULTITUDE keyword, this Stratagem costs 1CP; otherwise, it costs 2CP.
OPPORTUNISTIC ADVANCE1CP
Kraken – Battle Tactic Stratagem

Before the prey can react, Krakens swarms are already amongst them.

Use this Stratagem in your Movement phase, when a KRAKEN unit from your army is selected to move. Until the end of the turn:
  • Each time that unit Advances, do not make an Advance roll. Instead, until the end of the phase, add 8" to the Move characteristic of models in that unit (note that a unit cannot be affected by both this Stratagem and the Bounding Advance Stratagem, in the same phase).
  • Models in that unit do not suffer the penalty to hit rolls incurred for firing Assault weapons in the same turn that their unit has Advanced.
COMBINED ASSAULT1CP
Leviathan – Battle Tactic Stratagem

The broods of Hive Fleet Leviathan hunt as one, exhibiting eerie precision in their strikes.

Use this Stratagem in the Fight phase. Select one enemy unit within Engagement Range of two or more LEVIATHAN units from your army. Until the end of the phase, each time a LEVIATHAN model makes a melee attack against that enemy unit, improve the Armour Penetration characteristic of that attack by 1.
CRITICAL MASS1CP
Hydra – Battle Tactic Stratagem

Once this hive fleets warrior organisms outnumber their prey, they soon overwhelm them in a hideous, heaving mass.

Use this Stratagem in the Fight phase, when a HYDRA unit from your army is selected to fight. Until the end of the phase, each time a melee attack made by a model in that unit targets an enemy unit with fewer models than its own, you can re-roll the wound roll.
SCORCH BUGS1CP/2CP
Tyranids – Battle Tactic Stratagem

These beetles boast powerful legs and incendiary biochemicals.

Use this Stratagem in your Shooting phase, when a HIVE TENDRIL unit from your army is selected to shoot. Until the end of the phase, add 6" to the Range characteristic and add 1 to the Strength characteristic of fleshborer and fleshborer hive weapons models in that unit are equipped with. If that unit has 16 or more models or has the MONSTER keyword, this Stratagem costs 2CP; otherwise, it costs 1CP.
BURIED IN WAIT1CP
Jormungandr – Requisition Stratagem

The Great Serpent attacks from below, bursting out from subterranean tunnels into the midst of its prey.

Use this Stratagem before the battle, during the Declare Reserves and Transports step (if you are playing a mission without this step, use this Stratagem during deployment instead). Select one JORMUNGANDR unit from your army (excluding TITANIC units). You can set up that unit near to the surface instead of setting it up on the battlefield. If you do so, then in the Reinforcements step of one of your Movement phases, you can set up that unit anywhere on the battlefield that is more than 9" away from any enemy models. You can only use this Stratagem once, unless you are playing a Strike Force battle (in which case you can use this Stratagem twice), or an Onslaught battle (in which case you can use this Stratagem three times).
INFESTATION1CP
Tyranids – Strategic Ploy Stratagem – Crusade

So thoroughly saturated with Tyranid swarms has the prey world become, that broods prowl almost all environs and surge from every tangled thicket and blasted ruin to attack.

Use this Stratagem before the battle, during the Declare Reserves and Transports step (if you are playing a mission without this step, use this Stratagem during deployment instead). Select one ENDLESS MULTITUDE unit from your army. During deployment, when you set up that unit, it can be set up anywhere on the battlefield that is wholly within an Area Terrain feature and more than 9" away from the enemy deployment zone and any enemy models.
ENDLESS SWARM1CP
Tyranids – Strategic Ploy Stratagem

As the battle rages, more organisms pour in to bolster the swarms.

Use this Stratagem at the start of your Command phase. Select one ENDLESS MULTITUDE unit from your army. Up to D3+3 destroyed models can be added back to that unit with their full wounds remaining. These returned models can only be set up within Engagement Range of enemy units that are already within Engagement Range of the unit they are being added back to.
ENCIRCLE THE PREY1CP
Tyranids – Strategic Ploy Stratagem

For organisms that can soar on high or burrow, it is no hardship to fade back during battle and stalk their prey before striking again.

Use this Stratagem at the end of your Movement phase. Select one BURROWERS unit or unit that can FLY from your army. Remove that unit from the battlefield. In the Reinforcements step of your next Movement phase, you can set that unit back up anywhere on the battlefield anywhere that is more than 9" away from any enemy models. If the battle ends and that unit is not on the battlefield, it is destroyed. A unit cannot be selected for this Stratagem if it was set up on the battlefield this turn.
BIO-ADAPTED BORER GRUBS1CP/2CP
Leviathan (Supplement) – Wargear Stratagem

The Hive Mind has adapted a borer beetle that is perfectly formed to annihilate this world’s native fauna. Indeed, the beetles are far more complex biocreatures than the warrior-organisms that bear them to battle.

Use this Stratagem in your Shooting phase when a LEVIATHAN unit from your army is selected to shoot. Until the end of the phase, each time a model in that unit makes an attack with a fleshborer or fleshborer hive, on an unmodified wound roll of 6, that attack inflicts 1 mortal wound on the target in addition to the normal damage (a maximum of 6 mortal wounds can be inflicted per phase via this Stratagem). If that unit is a TYRANNOFEX, this Stratagem costs 2CP; otherwise, it costs 1CP. You cannot use this Stratagem and the Scorch Bugs Stratagem on the same unit during the same phase.
BLINDING VENOM1CP
Tyranids – Wargear Stratagem

Vomited in hissing gouts, this noxious venom blinds its victims and leaves them reeling in agony.

Use this Stratagem at the start of the Fight phase. Select one enemy unit within Engagement Range of any GARGOYLES units from your army. Until the end of the phase:
  • Each time a model in that enemy unit makes an attack, the hit roll cannot be re-rolled.
  • Each time a model in that enemy unit makes a melee attack, subtract 1 from that attack’s hit roll.
PATHOGENIC SLIME1CP/2CP
Tyranids – Wargear Stratagem

Tyranid biological ammunition is often doused in a pathogenic mucus, which seeps into wounds and devours flesh.

Use this Stratagem in your Shooting phase, when a HIVE TENDRIL unit from your army is selected to shoot. Until the end of the phase, each time a model in that unit makes an attack, an unmodified hit roll of 6 automatically wounds the target. If that unit has the TOXIN SACS keyword, this Stratagem costs 1CP; otherwise, it costs 2CP.

This datasheet has Troops Battlefield Role. Full list of Tyranids units sharing same Battlefield Role follows:

ASSAULT
Assault weapons fire so rapidly or indiscriminately that they can be shot from the hip as warriors dash forwards into combat.
If a unit includes any models equipped with Assault weapons, that unit is still eligible to shoot with in your Shooting phase even if it has Advanced this turn, but you can only resolve attacks using those Assault weapons when you select that unit to shoot with. If a model shoots an Assault weapon in the same turn in which its unit has Advanced, subtract 1 from hit rolls when resolving that weapon’s attacks.

  • Can be shot even if firing model’s unit Advanced.
  • Subtract 1 from hit rolls if the firing model’s unit Advanced.

Fleshborer used in the following datasheets:

Wound Roll
Each time an attack scores a hit against a target unit, make a wound roll for that attack by rolling one D6 to see if that attack successfully wounds the target. The result required is determined by comparing the attacking weapon’s Strength (S) characteristic with the target’s Toughness (T) characteristic, as shown on the following table:

WOUND ROLL
ATTACK’S STRENGTH vs TARGET’S TOUGHNESSD6 ROLL REQUIRED
Is the Strength TWICE (or more) than the Toughness?2+
Is the Strength GREATER than the Toughness?3+
Is the Strength EQUAL to the Toughness?4+
Is the Strength LOWER than the Toughness?5+
Is the Strength HALF (or less) than the Toughness?6+

If the result of the wound roll is less than the required number, the attack fails and the attack sequence ends. An unmodified wound roll of 6 always successfully wounds the target, and an unmodified wound roll of 1 always fails. A wound roll can never be modified by more than -1 or +1. This means that if, after all the cumulative modifiers to a wound roll have been calculated, the total modifier would be -2 or worse, it is changed to be -1. Similarly, if, after all the cumulative modifiers to a wound roll have been calculated, the total modifier would be +2 or better, it is changed to be +1.

The ENDLESS MULTITUDE keyword is used in the following Tyranids datasheets:

Advance
When a unit makes an Advance, make an Advance roll for the unit by rolling one D6. Add the result in inches to the Move (M) characteristic of each model in that unit until the end of the current phase. Each model in that unit can then move a distance in inches equal to or less than this total, but no model can be moved within Engagement Range of enemy models. A unit cannot shoot or declare a charge in the same turn that it made an Advance.

  • Advance: Models move up to M+D6".
  • Cannot move within Engagement Range of enemy models.
  • Units that Advance cannot shoot or charge this turn.

The HORMAGAUNTS keyword is used in the following Tyranids datasheets:

BOUNDING ADVANCE1CP/2CP
Tyranids – Strategic Ploy Stratagem

Synaptic impulses from the Hive Mind cause Hormagaunts to surge into battle.

Use this Stratagem in your Movement phase, when a HORMAGAUNTS unit from your army is selected to Advance. Until the end of the turn:
  • Each time that unit Advances, do not make an Advance roll. Instead, until the end of the phase, add 6" to the Move characteristic of models in that unit.
  • That unit is still eligible to declare a charge this turn even though it Advanced.
If that unit has 15 or fewer models, this Stratagem costs 1CP; otherwise, it costs 2CP.
Hit Roll
When a model makes an attack, make one hit roll for that attack by rolling one D6. If the result of the hit roll is equal to or greater than the attacking model’s Ballistic Skill (BS) characteristic (if the attack is being made with a ranged weapon) or its Weapon Skill (WS) characteristic (if the attack is being made with a melee weapon), then that attack scores one hit against the target unit. If not, the attack fails and the attack sequence ends.

If an attack is made with a weapon that has an ability that says it ‘automatically hits the target’, no hit roll is made – that attack simply scores one hit on the target unit. An unmodified hit roll of 6 always scores a hit, and an unmodified hit roll of 1 always fails. A hit roll can never be modified by more than -1 or +1. This means that if, after all the cumulative modifiers to a hit roll have been calculated, the total modifier would be -2 or worse, it is changed to be -1. Similarly, if, after all the cumulative modifiers to a hit roll have been calculated, the total modifier would be +2 or better, it is changed to be +1.
Engagement Range
Engagement Range represents the zone of threat that models present to their enemies. While a model is within 1" horizontally and 5" vertically of an enemy model, those models are within Engagement Range of each other. While two enemy models are within Engagement Range of each other, those models’ units are also within Engagement Range of each other. Models cannot be set up within Engagement Range of enemy models.

  • Engagement Range: 1" horizontally + 5" vertically.
  • Models cannot be set up within Engagement Range of enemy models.

The TITANIC keyword is used in the following Tyranids datasheets:

Lords of War
Mortal Wounds
Some attacks inflict mortal wounds – these are so powerful that no armour or force field can withstand their fury. Each mortal wound inflicts 1 point of damage on the target unit, and they are always applied one at a time. Do not make a wound roll or saving throw (including invulnerable saves) against a mortal wound – just allocate it as you would any other attack and inflict damage to a model in the target unit. Unlike damage inflicted by normal attacks, excess damage from mortal wounds is not lost. Instead, keep allocating damage to another model in the target unit until either all the damage has been allocated or the target unit is destroyed.

If an attack inflicts mortal wounds in addition to the normal damage, resolve the normal damage first. If an attack inflicts mortal wounds in addition to the normal damage, but the normal damage is subsequently saved, the target unit still suffers the mortal wounds, as described before. If an ability modifies the damage inflicted by a weapon, and that weapon can inflict mortal wounds in addition to the normal damage, the modifier does not apply to any mortal wounds that are inflicted (unless the rule specifically states otherwise).

  • Each mortal wound inflicted on a unit causes one model in the unit to lose one wound.
  • No saving throws can be made against mortal wounds.
  • Mortal wounds inflicted by attacks in addition to normal damage always apply, even if normal damage saved.

The TYRANNOFEX keyword is used in the following Tyranids datasheets:

Heavy Support
SCORCH BUGS1CP/2CP
Tyranids – Battle Tactic Stratagem

These beetles boast powerful legs and incendiary biochemicals.

Use this Stratagem in your Shooting phase, when a HIVE TENDRIL unit from your army is selected to shoot. Until the end of the phase, add 6" to the Range characteristic and add 1 to the Strength characteristic of fleshborer and fleshborer hive weapons models in that unit are equipped with. If that unit has 16 or more models or has the MONSTER keyword, this Stratagem costs 2CP; otherwise, it costs 1CP.

The TOXIN SACS keyword is used in the following Tyranids datasheets:


– if equipped with the Toxin sacs the bearer gains the TOXIN SACS keyword.
Charging with a Unit
Once you have chosen an eligible unit to declare a charge with, you must select one or more enemy units within 12" of it as the targets of its charge. The target(s) of this charge do not need to be visible to the charging unit. You then make a charge roll for your unit by rolling 2D6. This is the maximum number of inches each model in the charging unit can now be moved if they can make the charge move. To make a charge move, the unit’s charge roll must be sufficient that it is able to end that move in unit coherency and within Engagement Range of every unit that was a target of its charge, without moving within Engagement Range of any enemy units that were not a target of its charge. If this is possible, then the charge is successful and the models in the unit make a charge move so as to fulfil the above conditions. If this is impossible, the charge fails and no models in the charging unit move this phase.

  • Declare targets of the charge (must be within 12").
  • Charge roll = 2D6".
  • If insufficient to move charging unit into Engagement Range of all targets, charge fails.
  • If charge successful, models make their charge move.
  • Cannot make a charge move within Engagement Range of any unit that was not the target of the charge.
Performing a Heroic Intervention
When a unit performs a Heroic Intervention, you can move each model in that unit up to 3" – this is a Heroic Intervention move. Each model in the unit must finish its Heroic Intervention move closer to the closest enemy model. Remember that a unit must finish any type of move in unit coherency.

  • Heroic Intervention: Move up to 3".
  • Must end closer to the closest enemy model.

The CORE keyword is used in the following Tyranids datasheets:

Fast Attack

The GARGOYLES keyword is used in the following Tyranids datasheets:

Troops

The GENESTEALERS keyword is used in the following Tyranids datasheets:

The HARPY keyword is used in the following Tyranids datasheets:

Flyers

The HIVE CRONE keyword is used in the following Tyranids datasheets:

The LICTOR keyword is used in the following Tyranids datasheets:

Swarming Masses
Each time this unit fights, models in this unit can fight if:
  • They are within Engagement Range of any enemy units.
  • They are within 2½" of any enemy units.
If, in the Fight phase, this unit is subject to any other rules that would reduce the number of models from this unit that are able to fight, then neither those rules nor the Swarming Masses rule take effect for that phase.

The ENDLESS MULTITUDE keyword is used in the following Tyranids datasheets:

The BURROWERS keyword is used in the following Tyranids datasheets:

Re-rolls
Some rules allow you to re-roll a dice roll, which means you get to roll some or all of the dice again. If a rule allows you to re-roll a dice roll that was made by adding several dice together (2D6, 3D6 etc.) then, unless otherwise stated, you must re-roll all of those dice again. If a rule allows you to re-roll specific dice results, only those dice can be re-rolled. If a rule allows you to re-roll a specific dice result, but the result is obtained by halving a D6 (such as when rolling a D3), you use the value of the halved roll to determine if it can be re-rolled, not the value of the original D6. For example, if a rule states to re-roll results of 1, and you roll a D3, you would re-roll if the D6 rolled a 1 or a 2 (which is then halved to get a D3 value of a 1).

You can never re-roll a dice more than once, and re-rolls happen before modifiers (if any) are applied. Rules that refer to the value of an ‘unmodified’ dice roll are referring to the dice result after any re-rolls, but before any modifiers are applied.

  • Re-roll: Roll dice again.
  • Re-rolls are applied before modifiers (if any).
  • A dice can never be re-rolled more than once.
  • Unmodified dice: Result of roll after re-rolls, but before modifiers (if any).
© Vyacheslav Maltsev 2013-2022