Death Guard – Dreadclaw Drop Pod
 ]
This datasheet does not meet the selection criteria (see Filter combo-box or Settings tab).
6

Dreadclaw Drop Pod

NoNAME  M WS BS S T W A Ld Sv Base
115
Dreadclaw Drop Pod (base: Use model)
1
115
Dreadclaw Drop Pod
12" 4+ - 6 6 9 4 8 3+ Use model
A Dreadclaw Drop Pod is equipped with: blade struts; thermal jets.
WEAPON
RANGE
TYPE
S
AP
D
ABILITIES 
Blade struts
Blade struts
Melee
Melee
x2
-4
3
-
OTHER WARGEAR
ABILITIES 
Thermal jets
After the bearer has moved, you can select one unit the bearer moved across and roll one D6, subtracting 2 from the roll if that unit has the CHARACTER keyword: on a 2-5, that unit suffers D3 mortal wounds; on a 6, that unit suffers D6 mortal wounds.
Thermal jets
After the bearer has moved, you can select one unit the bearer moved across and roll one D6, subtracting 2 from the roll if that unit has the CHARACTER keyword: on a 2-5, that unit suffers D3 mortal wounds; on a 6, that unit suffers D6 mortal wounds.
ABILITIES
ABILITIES
Armour of Contempt
Drop Pod Assault: During deployment, you must set up this unit high in the skies instead of setting it up on the battlefield, but neither it, nor any units embarked within it, are counted towards any limits that the mission you are playing places on the maximum number of Reinforcement units you can have in your army. In the Reinforcements step of your first, second or third Movement phase, regardless of any mission rules, you can set up this unit anywhere on the battlefield that is more than 9" away from any enemy models. Any units embarked within this transport can immediately disembark after it has been set up on the battlefield for the first time, and if they do so, they must be set up more than 9" away from any enemy models.
Hover Transport: Distances are measured to and from either this model’s hull or its base, whichever is the closest.
Explodes: When this transport is destroyed, roll one D6 before any embarked models disembark and before removing it from play. On a 6 it explodes, and each unit within 6" suffers 1 mortal wound.
TRANSPORT
TRANSPORT
This model has one of the following transport capacities:
• 10 DEATH GUARD INFANTRY models. Each JUMP PACK or TERMINATOR model takes up the space of 2 models and each CULT OF DESTRUCTION model takes up the space of 3 models.
• 1 DEATH GUARD CHAOS CONTEMPTOR DREADNOUGHT model.
• 1 DEATH GUARD HELBRUTE model.
FACTION KEYWORDS: CHAOS, NURGLE, HERETIC ASTARTES, DEATH GUARD,
KEYWORDS: VEHICLE, TRANSPORT, FLY, DREADCLAW DROP POD, BUBONIC ASTARTES

Datasheet-related Stratagems

FERRIC MIASMA1CP
Inexorable – Strategic Ploy Stratagem

As the foe press forward they are engulfed in a whirling storm of fleshrust flakes that clog lungs and eyes.

Use this Stratagem in your opponent’s Charge phase, when an INEXORABLE unit from your army is selected as a target of a charge. Until the end of the phase, subtract 2 from charge rolls made for any unit that declares a charge against that INEXORABLE unit (to a minimum of 1).
RELAPTIC ASSAULT1CP
Mortarion’s Anvil – Strategic Ploy Stratagem

Like a sickness flaring back to life, these stolid warriors erupt from their dug-in positions to counter attack.

Use this Stratagem in your opponent’s Charge phase, when an enemy unit finishes a charge move. Select any number of MORTARION’S ANVIL units from your army within 3" of that enemy unit. Until the end of the phase, the selected units are eligible to perform Heroic Interventions as if they were CHARACTERS.
BLIGHT BOMBARDMENT2CP/3CP
Death Guard – Strategic Ploy Stratagem

Utilising far away artillery, the Death Guard pound an area of the battlefield with flesh-starved blight spores that rampantly spread over any unfortunate enough to be nearby.

Use this Stratagem in your Command phase, if a DEATH GUARD WARLORD from your army is on the battlefield. Select one point on the battlefield and place a marker on that point. At the start of your next Command phase, roll one D6 for each unit within 6" of the centre of that marker, adding 1 if the unit being rolled for is an INFANTRY unit and subtracting 1 if the unit being rolled for is a CHARACTER: on a 2-6, that unit suffers D3 mortal wounds; on a 7+, that unit suffers D6 mortal wounds. The marker is then removed. If your WARLORD has the LORD OF VIRULENCE keyword, this Stratagem costs 2CP; otherwise it costs 3CP. You can only use this Stratagem once.
PUTRID DETONATION1CP/2CP
Death Guard – Strategic Ploy Stratagem

Upon their destruction, the seven-cursed hulls of Death Guard battle tanks have an alarming tendency to burst like ruptured boils, exploding in a swelling mass of pus and foulness.

Use this Stratagem in any phase, when a DEATH GUARD VEHICLE model from your army is destroyed. Do not roll to see if that model explodes: it does so automatically. If that model has a Wounds characteristic of 9 or less, this Stratagem costs 1CP; otherwise, it costs 2CP.

This datasheet has Fast Attack Battlefield Role. Full list of Death Guard units sharing same Battlefield Role follows:

Select Weapon
When a model makes a close combat attack, it must do so using a melee weapon (i.e. a weapon that has the ‘Melee’ type). The weapons a model is equipped with are described on its datasheet. If a model is not equipped with any melee weapons, or if it cannot make an attack with any of the melee weapons it is equipped with, then that model makes its attacks using a close combat weapon, which has the following profile:

WEAPONRANGETYPESAPD
Close combat weaponMeleeMeleeUser01

If a model has more than one melee weapon, select which it will use before resolving any attacks. If a model has more than one melee weapon and can make several attacks, it can split them between these weapons however you wish – declare which attacks are being made with which weapons before any attacks are resolved. If the selected weapon has more than one profile that you must choose between, you must declare which profile is being used at the same time. Different attacks made with such a weapon can be made using different profiles if you wish.

If your unit is making attacks with more than one melee weapon against a unit, and those weapons have different characteristics profiles, then after you have resolved an attack with one of those weapons you must, if any other weapons with the same characteristics profile are also being used to make attacks against that unit, resolve those attacks before resolving any attacks against the target with a weapon that has a different characteristics profile. Note that all the attacks you have declared are always resolved against the target unit even if, when you come to resolve an individual attack, no models in the target unit remain in range (this can happen because of models being destroyed and removed from the battlefield as the result of resolving other attacks made by the attacking model’s unit first).

  • Each close combat attack is made with a melee weapon.
  • A model makes attacks using the close combat weapon profile if it has no other melee weapons.
  • If a unit attacks with multiple weapons, all attacks made with weapons that have the same profile must be resolved before resolving attacks with the next.

The CELESTIAN SACRESANTS keyword is used in the following Adepta Sororitas datasheets:

The NEMESIS DREADKNIGHT keyword is used in the following Grey Knights datasheets:

Heavy Support
Armour of Contempt
Each time an attack is allocated to an ASTRA MILITARUM VEHICLE, ADEPTUS ASTARTES, SANCTIC ASTARTES, HERETIC ASTARTES or ADEPTA SORORITAS model, worsen the Armour Penetration characteristic of that attack by 1.
This rule does not apply to any of the following:
  • Models equipped with a storm shield, a relic shield or a combat shield (or a Relic that replaces one of these shields).
  • Models with either the Sacresant Shield or Force Shielding ability (CELESTIAN SACRESANT and NEMESIS DREADKNIGHT units).
  • Models that are under the effects of any other rule that worsens or reduces the Armour Penetration characteristic of an attack.
Mortal Wounds
Some attacks inflict mortal wounds – these are so powerful that no armour or force field can withstand their fury. Each mortal wound inflicts 1 point of damage on the target unit, and they are always applied one at a time. Do not make a wound roll or saving throw (including invulnerable saves) against a mortal wound – just allocate it as you would any other attack and inflict damage to a model in the target unit. Unlike damage inflicted by normal attacks, excess damage from mortal wounds is not lost. Instead, keep allocating damage to another model in the target unit until either all the damage has been allocated or the target unit is destroyed.

If an attack inflicts mortal wounds in addition to the normal damage, resolve the normal damage first. If an attack inflicts mortal wounds in addition to the normal damage, but the normal damage is subsequently saved, the target unit still suffers the mortal wounds, as described before. If an ability modifies the damage inflicted by a weapon, and that weapon can inflict mortal wounds in addition to the normal damage, the modifier does not apply to any mortal wounds that are inflicted (unless the rule specifically states otherwise).

  • Each mortal wound inflicted on a unit causes one model in the unit to lose one wound.
  • No saving throws can be made against mortal wounds.
  • Mortal wounds inflicted by attacks in addition to normal damage always apply, even if normal damage saved.
Engagement Range
Engagement Range represents the zone of threat that models present to their enemies. While a model is within 1" horizontally and 5" vertically of an enemy model, those models are within Engagement Range of each other. While two enemy models are within Engagement Range of each other, those models’ units are also within Engagement Range of each other. Models cannot be set up within Engagement Range of enemy models.

  • Engagement Range: 1" horizontally + 5" vertically.
  • Models cannot be set up within Engagement Range of enemy models.
Charging with a Unit
Once you have chosen an eligible unit to declare a charge with, you must select one or more enemy units within 12" of it as the targets of its charge. The target(s) of this charge do not need to be visible to the charging unit. You then make a charge roll for your unit by rolling 2D6. This is the maximum number of inches each model in the charging unit can now be moved if they can make the charge move. To make a charge move, the unit’s charge roll must be sufficient that it is able to end that move in unit coherency and within Engagement Range of every unit that was a target of its charge, without moving within Engagement Range of any enemy units that were not a target of its charge. If this is possible, then the charge is successful and the models in the unit make a charge move so as to fulfil the above conditions. If this is impossible, the charge fails and no models in the charging unit move this phase.

  • Declare targets of the charge (must be within 12").
  • Charge roll = 2D6".
  • If insufficient to move charging unit into Engagement Range of all targets, charge fails.
  • If charge successful, models make their charge move.
  • Cannot make a charge move within Engagement Range of any unit that was not the target of the charge.
Performing a Heroic Intervention
When a unit performs a Heroic Intervention, you can move each model in that unit up to 3" – this is a Heroic Intervention move. Each model in the unit must finish its Heroic Intervention move closer to the closest enemy model. Remember that a unit must finish any type of move in unit coherency.

  • Heroic Intervention: Move up to 3".
  • Must end closer to the closest enemy model.
Characters
Some models have the CHARACTER keyword. These models can make Heroic Interventions in Charge Phase and are not easy targets in the Shooting Phase (see Look out, Sir, rule). If your Warlord has the CHARACTER keyword he may be able to have a Warlord Trait (see Warlord Trait section on model’s faction page).

Note that CHARACTERS cannot use their Aura Abilities while performing actions.
The Warlord
While mustering your army, you can nominate one model (except a model with the FORTIFICATION keyword) to be your Warlord. That model gains the WARLORD keyword. If this model is a CHARACTER, you can also assign a Warlord Trait to it. Note, that more than one model in your army can have a Warlord Trait (e.g. by using Stratagems), but they are only considered your Warlord for the purpose of that trait.

The LORD OF VIRULENCE keyword is used in the following Death Guard datasheets:

Army List
Datasheets collated
Transport Capacity
All TRANSPORT models have a transport capacity listed on their datasheet. This determines how many friendly models, and of what type, can embark within them. A model’s transport capacity can never be exceeded.

Units can start the battle embarked within a TRANSPORT instead of being set up separately – declare what units are embarked within a TRANSPORT model before you set it up.

  • Transport capacity: Maximum number of models that can embark within the Transport.
  • Units can start the battle embarked in a TRANSPORT.
Disembark
If a unit starts its Movement phase embarked within a TRANSPORT model, that unit can disembark in that phase so long as the model itself has not yet made a Normal Move, an Advance or has Fallen Back that phase.

When a unit disembarks, set it up on the battlefield so that it is wholly within 3" of the TRANSPORT model and not within Engagement Range of any enemy models.

Units that disembark can then act normally (move, shoot, charge, fight, etc.) in the remainder of the turn, but its models count as having moved that turn, even if they are not moved further (i.e. they never count as having Remained Stationary).

  • Units that start their Movement phase embarked in a TRANSPORT can disembark this phase.
  • A unit must disembark before their TRANSPORT moves.
  • Disembarking units must be set up wholly within 3" of their TRANSPORT and not within Engagement Range of any enemy models.
  • Units that have disembarked count as having moved this turn.

Blade struts used in the following datasheets:

Reinforcement Units
If a unit is ever added to a Battle-forged army during the battle, it is never considered to be part of a Detachment. This means that it never costs CPs to include them in your army but they will never benefit from any Detachment abilities.

  • Units added to your army during the battle are never part of a Detachment.

The DEATH GUARD, CHAOS and CONTEMPTOR DREADNOUGHT keywords are used in the following Death Guard datasheets:

The DEATH GUARD and HELBRUTE keywords are used in the following Death Guard datasheets:

Elites
© Vyacheslav Maltsev 2013-2022