Craftworlds – Avatar of Khaine
This datasheet does not meet the selection criteria (see Settings tab).

Avatar of Khaine

NoNAME  M WS BS S T W A Ld Sv Base
Avatar of Khaine (base: 40mm)
Avatar of Khaine
7" 2+ 2+ 6 6 8 5 9 3+ 40mm
The Avatar of Khaine is a single model armed with the Wailing Doom. Only one of this model may be included in your army.
The Wailing Doom (shooting)
The Wailing Doom (shooting)
Assault 1
Roll two dice when inflicting damage with this weapon and discard the lowest result.
Roll two dice when inflicting damage with this weapon and discard the lowest result.
The Wailing Doom (melee)
The Wailing Doom (melee)
Roll two dice when inflicting damage with this weapon and discard the lowest result.
Roll two dice when inflicting damage with this weapon and discard the lowest result.
Ancient Doom, Battle Focus
Molten Body: Roll a D6 whenever the Avatar of Khaine suffers a wound or mortal wound. On a 5+ that wound is ignored.
Khaine Awakened: Friendly ASURYANI units within 12" of the Avatar of Khaine do not take Morale tests, and you can re-roll failed charge rolls for these units.
Daemon: The Avatar of Khaine has a 5+ invulnerable save.

Datasheet-related Stratagems



Craftworlds Stratagem

In times of great need, the Seer Council of a craftworld will authorise the use of the full array of the world-ship’s treasures, arming their kin with artefacts of extraordinary power.

Use this Stratagem before the battle. Your army can have one extra Remnant of Glory for 1 CP, or two extra Remnants of Glory for 3 CPs. All of the Remnants of Glory that you include must be different and be given to different CRAFTWORLDS CHARACTERS. You can only use this Stratagem once per battle.


Craftworlds Stratagem

The Aeldari are masters at using hit and run tactics, engaging a target with a flurry of shots before quickly manoeuvring into cover or out of sight.

You can use this Stratagem after an Asuryani unit from your army (excluding AIRCRAFT) shoots in your Shooting phase. If you do so, the unit can immediately move 7" as if it were the Movement phase (it cannot Advance as part of this move). However, it cannot charge in the same turn that it does so.


Craftworlds Stratagem

The Avatar of Khaine bursts out from the centre of a mound of enemy dead, roaring its refusal to die.

Use this Stratagem in the Fight phase if an Avatar of Khaine is slain. Do not remove the Avatar of Khaine as a casualty. Instead, roll a D6 after the enemy unit that slew it has resolved all of its attacks; the Avatar of Khaine remains on the battlefield with that many wounds remaining.


Biel-Tan Stratagem

The Aspect Warriors of Biel-Tan have given their souls to the bloody arts of destruction. The presence of an Avatar of Khaine will inspire them to even greater acts of fury.

Use this Stratagem at the start of your Charge phase. When you do so, pick a BIEL-TAN ASPECT WARRIOR unit from your army that contains an Exarch. You can add 2 to result of the roll to see how far that unit can charge in that Charge phase, and can re-roll hit rolls of 1 for that unit in the following Fight phase. If the unit is within 6" of the Avatar of Khaine when the Stratagem is used, then add 3 to the charge roll and re-roll any failed hit rolls instead.
Assault weapons fire so rapidly or indiscriminately that they can be shot from the hip as warriors dash forwards into combat.
If a unit includes any models equipped with Assault weapons, that unit is still eligible to shoot with in your Shooting phase even if it has Advanced this turn, but you can only resolve attacks using those Assault weapons when you select that unit to shoot with. If a model shoots an Assault weapon in the same turn in which its unit has Advanced, subtract 1 from hit rolls when resolving that weapon’s attacks.

  • Can be shot even if firing model’s unit Advanced.
  • Subtract 1 from hit rolls if the firing model’s unit Advanced.
Engagement Range
Engagement Range represents the zone of threat that models present to their enemies. While a model is within 1" horizontally and 5" vertically of an enemy model, those models are within Engagement Range of each other. While two enemy models are within Engagement Range of each other, those models’ units are also within Engagement Range of each other. Models cannot be set up within Engagement Range of enemy models.

  • Engagement Range: 1" horizontally + 5" vertically.
  • Models cannot be set up within Engagement Range of enemy models.
Charging with a Unit
Once you have chosen an eligible unit to declare a charge with, you must select one or more enemy units within 12" of it as the targets of its charge. The target(s) of this charge do not need to be visible to the charging unit. You then make a charge roll for your unit by rolling 2D6. This is the maximum number of inches each model in the charging unit can now be moved if they can make the charge move. To make a charge move, the unit’s charge roll must be sufficient that it is able to end that move in unit coherency and within Engagement Range of every unit that was a target of its charge, without moving within Engagement Range of any enemy units that were not a target of its charge. If this is possible, then the charge is successful and the models in the unit make a charge move so as to fulfil the above conditions. If this is impossible, the charge fails and no models in the charging unit move this phase.

  • Declare targets of the charge (must be within 12").
  • Charge roll = 2D6".
  • If insufficient to move charging unit into Engagement Range of all targets, charge fails.
  • If charge successful, models make their charge move.
  • Cannot make a charge move within Engagement Range of any unit that was not the target of the charge.
Hit Roll
When a model makes an attack, make one hit roll for that attack by rolling one D6. If the result of the hit roll is equal to or greater than the attacking model’s Ballistic Skill (BS) characteristic (if the attack is being made with a ranged weapon) or its Weapon Skill (WS) characteristic (if the attack is being made with a melee weapon), then that attack scores one hit against the target unit. If not, the attack fails and the attack sequence ends.

If an attack is made with a weapon that has an ability that says it ‘automatically hits the target’, no hit roll is made – that attack simply scores one hit on the target unit. An unmodified hit roll of 6 always scores a hit, and an unmodified hit roll of 1 always fails. A hit roll can never be modified by more than -1 or +1. This means that if, after all the cumulative modifiers to a hit roll have been calculated, the total modifier would be -2 or worse, it is changed to be -1. Similarly, if, after all the cumulative modifiers to a hit roll have been calculated, the total modifier would be +2 or better, it is changed to be +1.
When a unit makes an Advance, make an Advance roll for the unit by rolling one D6. Add the result in inches to the Move (M) characteristic of each model in that unit until the end of the current phase. Each model in that unit can then move a distance in inches equal to or less than this total, but no model can be moved within Engagement Range of enemy models. A unit cannot shoot or declare a charge in the same turn that it made an Advance.

  • Advance: Models move up to M+D6".
  • Cannot move within Engagement Range of enemy models.
  • Units that Advance cannot shoot or charge this turn.
Mortal Wounds
Some attacks inflict mortal wounds – these are so powerful that no armour or force field can withstand their fury. Each mortal wound inflicts 1 point of damage on the target unit, and they are always applied one at a time. Do not make a wound roll or saving throw (including invulnerable saves) against a mortal wound – just allocate it as you would any other attack and inflict damage to a model in the target unit. Unlike damage inflicted by normal attacks, excess damage from mortal wounds is not lost. Instead, keep allocating damage to another model in the target unit until either all the damage has been allocated or the target unit is destroyed.

If an attack inflicts mortal wounds in addition to the normal damage, resolve the normal damage first. If an attack inflicts mortal wounds in addition to the normal damage, but the normal damage is subsequently saved, the target unit still suffers the mortal wounds, as described before. If an ability modifies the damage inflicted by a weapon, and that weapon can inflict mortal wounds in addition to the normal damage, the modifier does not apply to any mortal wounds that are inflicted (unless the rule specifically states otherwise).

  • Each mortal wound inflicted on a unit causes one model in the unit to lose one wound.
  • No saving throws can be made against mortal wounds.
  • Mortal wounds inflicted by attacks in addition to normal damage always apply, even if normal damage saved.
Saving Throw
The player commanding the target unit then makes one saving throw by rolling one D6 and modifying the roll by the Armour Penetration (AP) characteristic of the weapon that the attack was made with. For example, if the weapon has an AP of -1, then 1 is subtracted from the saving throw roll. If the result is equal to, or greater than, the Save (Sv) characteristic of the model the attack was allocated to, then the saving throw is successful and the attack sequence ends. If the result is less than the model’s Save characteristic, then the saving throw fails and the model suffers damage. An unmodified roll of 1 always fails.
Invulnerable Saves
Some models have an invulnerable save. Each time an attack is allocated to a model with an invulnerable save, you can choose to use either its normal Save (Sv) characteristic or its invulnerable save, but not both. If a model has more than one invulnerable save, it can only use one of them – choose which it will use. If you use a model’s invulnerable save, it is never modified by a weapon’s Armour Penetration value.

  • Invulnerable save: Saving throw that is never modified by attacking weapon’s AP.
  • A model with an invulnerable save can use it instead of its normal Sv.
Select Weapon
When a model makes a close combat attack, it must do so using a melee weapon (i.e. a weapon that has the ‘Melee’ type). The weapons a model is equipped with are described on its datasheet. If a model is not equipped with any melee weapons, or if it cannot make an attack with any of the melee weapons it is equipped with, then that model makes its attacks using a close combat weapon, which has the following profile:

Close combat weaponMeleeMeleeUser01

If a model has more than one melee weapon, select which it will use before resolving any attacks. If a model has more than one melee weapon and can make several attacks, it can split them between these weapons however you wish – declare which attacks are being made with which weapons before any attacks are resolved. If the selected weapon has more than one profile that you must choose between, you must declare which profile is being used at the same time. Different attacks made with such a weapon can be made using different profiles if you wish.

If your unit is making attacks with more than one melee weapon against a unit, and those weapons have different characteristics profiles, then after you have resolved an attack with one of those weapons you must, if any other weapons with the same characteristics profile are also being used to make attacks against that unit, resolve those attacks before resolving any attacks against the target with a weapon that has a different characteristics profile. Note that all the attacks you have declared are always resolved against the target unit even if, when you come to resolve an individual attack, no models in the target unit remain in range (this can happen because of models being destroyed and removed from the battlefield as the result of resolving other attacks made by the attacking model’s unit first).

  • Each close combat attack is made with a melee weapon.
  • A model makes attacks using the close combat weapon profile if it has no other melee weapons.
  • If a unit attacks with multiple weapons, all attacks made with weapons that have the same profile must be resolved before resolving attacks with the next.
Ancient Doom

The Aeldari loathe and fear She Who Thirsts above all else, for in Slaanesh they see their doom made manifest.

You can re-roll failed hit rolls in the Fight phase for this unit in a turn in which it charges or is charged by a SLAANESH unit. However, you must add 1 to Morale tests for this unit if it is within 3" of any SLAANESH units.

The MONSTER keyword is used in the following Craftworlds datasheets:

Battle Focus

When the Asuryani don their war masks, they enter a battle trance so focused that they flow across the battlefield like quicksilver, killing their foes without breaking stride.

If this unit moves or Advances in its Movement phase, weapons (excluding Heavy weapons) are used as if the unit had remained stationary.
Morale Tests
To take a Morale test, roll one D6 and add the number of models from the unit that have been destroyed this turn. If the result is equal to or less than the highest Leadership (Ld) characteristic in the unit, the Morale test is passed and nothing else happens. An unmodified roll of 1 also always results in a passed Morale test, irrespective of the total result. In any other case, the Morale test is failed, one model flees that unit, and you must then take Combat Attrition tests for the remaining models in the unit. You decide which model from your unit flees – that model is removed from play and counts as having been destroyed, but it never triggers any rules that are used when a model is destroyed.

  • Morale test = D6 + number of models destroyed this turn.
  • Unmodified roll of 1 always a success (no models flee).
  • If Morale test exceeds unit’s Ld, one model flees and other models must take Combat Attrition tests.
© Vyacheslav Maltsev 2013-2021