Chaos Space Marines – Noctilith Crown
 ]
This datasheet does not meet the selection criteria (see Filter combo-box or Settings tab).
5

Noctilith Crown

NoNAME  M WS BS S T W A Ld Sv
85
Noctilith Crown
1
85
Noctilith Crown
- - 4+ - 8 14 - - 3+
A Noctilith Crown is a single model equipped with lashing warp energies.
WEAPON
RANGE
TYPE
S
AP
D
ABILITIES 
Lashing warp energies
Lashing warp energies
6"
Pistol D6
7
-2
2
-
ABILITIES
ABILITIES
Malevolent Locus: PSYKERS attempting to manifest powers within 24" of this model will suffer Perils of the Warp on any double result rolled for the Psychic test, rather than only double 1 or double 6. CHAOS PSYKERS are not affected by this ability.
Loathsome Aura: CHAOS units have a 5+ invulnerable save while they are wholly within 6" of this model. In addition, you can re-roll Psychic tests for CHAOS PSYKERS while they are within 6" of this model. At the start of the second and third battle rounds, the range of both these aura abilities is increased by 3" (i.e. it is 9" in the second battle round, and 12" in the third and subsequent battle rounds).
Immobile: This model cannot move for any reason, nor can it fight in the Fight phase. Enemy models automatically hit this model in the Fight phase – do not make hit rolls. However, friendly units can still target enemy units that are within 1" of this model in the Shooting phase.
Unstable Energies: If this model is reduced to 0 wounds, roll a D6 before removing it from the battlefield. On a 6, each unit within D6" of this model suffers D6 mortal wounds.
FACTION KEYWORDS: CHAOS
KEYWORDS: BUILDING, VEHICLE, NOCTILITH CROWN

This datasheet has Fortifications Battlefield Role. Full list of Chaos Space Marines units sharing same Battlefield Role follows:

Fortifications
PISTOL
Due to their compact size, pistols can even be used in melee to shoot at point-blank range.
A model can make attacks with a Pistol even when its unit is within Engagement Range of enemy units, but it must target an enemy unit that is within Engagement Range of its own unit when it does so. In such circumstances, the model can target an enemy unit even if other friendly units are within Engagement Range of the same enemy unit.

When a model equipped with both a Pistol and another type of ranged weapon (e.g. a Pistol and a Rapid Fire weapon) shoots, it can either shoot with its Pistol(s) or with its other ranged weapons. Choose which it will fire (Pistols or non-Pistols) before selecting targets.

  • Can be shot even if firing model’s unit is within Engagement Range of enemy unit.
  • Cannot be shot alongside any other type of weapon.
Manifesting Psychic Powers
The same PSYKER unit cannot attempt to manifest Smite more than once during the same battle round. When you select a PSYKER unit to manifest psychic powers, you select one psychic power that unit knows and attempt to manifest it. With the exception of Smite, you cannot attempt to manifest the same psychic power more than once in the same battle round, even with different PSYKER units.

To manifest the psychic power, you must first pass a Psychic test. The opposing player can then select one of their PSYKER units that is within 24" of the PSYKER unit attempting to manifest the power and attempt to deny that power before its effects are resolved by passing a Deny the Witch test.

So long as the Psychic test was successful and the psychic power was not denied by a successful Deny the Witch test, the psychic power is successfully manifested and its effects, which will be described in the power itself, are then resolved. If the PSYKER unit can attempt to manifest more than one psychic power in its Psychic phase, you can then attempt to manifest those, one at a time, as described above. The number of psychic powers each PSYKER unit can attempt to manifest in its Psychic phase is listed on its datasheet.

  • Select psychic power.
  • You cannot select the same psychic power more than once per battle round, unless that power is Smite.
  • Attempt to manifest the psychic power by taking a Psychic test.
  • The opponent can attempt to deny the psychic power by taking a Deny the Witch test.
  • If successfully manifested, resolve the psychic power’s effects.
  • Select another psychic power.
Perils of the Warp
When a PSYKER unit suffers Perils of the Warp, it suffers D3 mortal wounds. If a PSYKER unit is destroyed by Perils of the Warp while attempting to manifest a psychic power, that power automatically fails to manifest. If a PSYKER unit is destroyed by Perils of the Warp, then just before removing the last model in that unit, every unit within 6" of it immediately suffers D3 mortal wounds.

  • Perils of the Warp: The PSYKER unit manifesting the power suffers D3 mortal wounds.
  • If PSYKER unit is destroyed, the psychic power fails to manifest.
  • If PSYKER unit destroyed, every other unit within 6" suffers D3 mortal wounds.
Psychic Tests
When a PSYKER unit attempts to manifest a psychic power, you must take a Psychic test for that unit by rolling 2D6. If the total is equal to or greater than that power’s warp charge value, the Psychic test is passed. If you roll a double 1 or a double 6 when taking a Psychic test, that unit immediately suffers Perils of the Warp.

  • Psychic test: Passed if 2D6 equals or exceeds psychic power’s warp charge.
  • If double 1 or double 6 rolled, PSYKER suffers Perils of the Warp.
Saving Throw
The player commanding the target unit then makes one saving throw by rolling one D6 and modifying the roll by the Armour Penetration (AP) characteristic of the weapon that the attack was made with. For example, if the weapon has an AP of -1, then 1 is subtracted from the saving throw roll. If the result is equal to, or greater than, the Save (Sv) characteristic of the model the attack was allocated to, then the saving throw is successful and the attack sequence ends. If the result is less than the model’s Save characteristic, then the saving throw fails and the model suffers damage. An unmodified roll of 1 always fails.
Invulnerable Saves
Some models have an invulnerable save. Each time an attack is allocated to a model with an invulnerable save, you can choose to use either its normal Save (Sv) characteristic or its invulnerable save, but not both. If a model has more than one invulnerable save, it can only use one of them – choose which it will use. If you use a model’s invulnerable save, it is never modified by a weapon’s Armour Penetration value.

  • Invulnerable save: Saving throw that is never modified by attacking weapon’s AP.
  • A model with an invulnerable save can use it instead of its normal Sv.
Psychic Tests
When a PSYKER unit attempts to manifest a psychic power, you must take a Psychic test for that unit by rolling 2D6. If the total is equal to or greater than that power’s warp charge value, the Psychic test is passed. If you roll a double 1 or a double 6 when taking a Psychic test, that unit immediately suffers Perils of the Warp.

  • Psychic test: Passed if 2D6 equals or exceeds psychic power’s warp charge.
  • If double 1 or double 6 rolled, PSYKER suffers Perils of the Warp.
Aura Abilities
Some abilities affect models or units in a given range – these are aura abilities. A model with an aura ability is always within range of its effect. The effects of multiple, identically named aura abilities are not cumulative (i.e. if a unit is within range of two models with the same aura ability, that aura ability only applies to the unit once).
Hit Roll
When a model makes an attack, make one hit roll for that attack by rolling one D6. If the result of the hit roll is equal to or greater than the attacking model’s Ballistic Skill (BS) characteristic (if the attack is being made with a ranged weapon) or its Weapon Skill (WS) characteristic (if the attack is being made with a melee weapon), then that attack scores one hit against the target unit. If not, the attack fails and the attack sequence ends.

If an attack is made with a weapon that has an ability that says it ‘automatically hits the target’, no hit roll is made – that attack simply scores one hit on the target unit. An unmodified hit roll of 6 always scores a hit, and an unmodified hit roll of 1 always fails. A hit roll can never be modified by more than -1 or +1. This means that if, after all the cumulative modifiers to a hit roll have been calculated, the total modifier would be -2 or worse, it is changed to be -1. Similarly, if, after all the cumulative modifiers to a hit roll have been calculated, the total modifier would be +2 or better, it is changed to be +1.
Mortal Wounds
Some attacks inflict mortal wounds – these are so powerful that no armour or force field can withstand their fury. Each mortal wound inflicts 1 point of damage on the target unit, and they are always applied one at a time. Do not make a wound roll or saving throw (including invulnerable saves) against a mortal wound – just allocate it as you would any other attack and inflict damage to a model in the target unit. Unlike damage inflicted by normal attacks, excess damage from mortal wounds is not lost. Instead, keep allocating damage to another model in the target unit until either all the damage has been allocated or the target unit is destroyed.

If an attack inflicts mortal wounds in addition to the normal damage, resolve the normal damage first. If an attack inflicts mortal wounds in addition to the normal damage, but the normal damage is subsequently saved, the target unit still suffers the mortal wounds, as described before. If an ability modifies the damage inflicted by a weapon, and that weapon can inflict mortal wounds in addition to the normal damage, the modifier does not apply to any mortal wounds that are inflicted (unless the rule specifically states otherwise).

  • Each mortal wound inflicted on a unit causes one model in the unit to lose one wound.
  • No saving throws can be made against mortal wounds.
  • Mortal wounds inflicted by attacks in addition to normal damage always apply, even if normal damage saved.
Army List
Datasheets collated
© Vyacheslav Maltsev 2013-2021