Chaos Daemons – Skarbrand
This datasheet does not meet the selection criteria (see Filter combo-box or Settings tab).


NoNAME  M WS BS S T W! A Ld Sv Base
Skarbrand (base: 60mm)
8" 2+ 2+ 7 7 9-16 6 9 3+ 60mm
6" 3+ 2+ 7 7 5-8 7 9 3+
4" 4+ 2+ 7 7 1-4 8 9 3+
Skarbrand is a single model armed with Slaughter and Carnage, and attacks with a bellow of endless fury. Only one of this model may be included in your army.
Bellow of endless fury
Bellow of endless fury
Assault D6
This weapon automatically hits its target.
This weapon automatically hits its target.
Slaughter and Carnage
When attacking with this weapon, choose one of the profiles below.
Slaughter and Carnage
When attacking with this weapon, choose one of the profiles below.
 - Mighty strike
 - Mighty strike
You can re-roll failed hit rolls for this weapon.
You can re-roll failed hit rolls for this weapon.
 - Sweeping blow
 - Sweeping blow
Make 2 hit rolls instead of 1 for each attack made with this weapon.
Make 2 hit rolls instead of 1 for each attack made with this weapon.
Daemonic, Unstoppable Ferocity, Daemonic Ritual
Deathbringer: Each unmodified hit roll of 6 made for Skarbrand’s attacks in the Fight phase scores 2 hits instead of 1.
Rage Embodied: All units, friend or foe, within 8" of Skarbrand do not take Morale tests and add 1 to their Attacks characteristic. Furthermore, any unit that wishes to Fall Back whilst within 8" of Skarbrand must first roll 3D6. If the total is greater than the highest Leadership characteristic in that unit then it cannot Fall Back this turn.
Rage Incarnate: Re-roll hit rolls of 1 for friendly KHORNE DAEMON units that charged this turn and are within 8" of your Warlord when they fight.

Datasheet-related Stratagems



Chaos Daemons Stratagem

A daemonic pact of terrible power can be assured for a price…

Use this Stratagem before a CHAOS CHARACTER from your army attempts to summon a unit of DAEMONS to the battlefield using a Daemonic Ritual. That character suffers D3 mortal wounds, but you can roll up to 4 dice rather than 3 for the summoning roll. In addition, re-roll hit rolls of 1 for the summoned unit while it is within 6" of the character that performed the Daemonic Ritual.


Chaos Daemons Stratagem

The Dark Gods sometimes bestow their daemonic lieutenants with powerful artefacts and rewards.

Use this Stratagem before the battle. Your army can have one extra Hellforged Artefact for 1 CP, or two extra Hellforged Artefacts for 3 CPs. All of the Hellforged Artefacts that you include must be different and be given to different DAEMON CHARACTERS. You can only use this Stratagem once per battle.


Chaos Daemons Stratagem

Many foul champions are adept at summoning daemonic allies.

Use this Stratagem after a CHAOS CHARACTER from your army summons a unit of DAEMONS to the battlefield using a Daemonic Ritual. That character can immediately attempt to summon a second unit of Daemons to the battlefield by performing another Daemonic Ritual.


Khorne Daemons Stratagem

Khorne’s wrath empowers those who fight beside his champions.

Use this Stratagem at the start of any Fight phase. Select a KHORNE DAEMON CHARACTER from your army – until the end of the phase you can re-roll any failed hit rolls made for friendly KHORNE DAEMON units within 6" of that model.
Select Weapon
When a model makes a close combat attack, it must do so using a melee weapon (i.e. a weapon that has the ‘Melee’ type). The weapons a model is equipped with are described on its datasheet. If a model is not equipped with any melee weapons, or if it cannot make an attack with any of the melee weapons it is equipped with, then that model makes its attacks using a close combat weapon, which has the following profile:

Close combat weaponMeleeMeleeUser01

If a model has more than one melee weapon, select which it will use before resolving any attacks. If a model has more than one melee weapon and can make several attacks, it can split them between these weapons however you wish – declare which attacks are being made with which weapons before any attacks are resolved. If the selected weapon has more than one profile that you must choose between, you must declare which profile is being used at the same time. Different attacks made with such a weapon can be made using different profiles if you wish.

If your unit is making attacks with more than one melee weapon against a unit, and those weapons have different characteristics profiles, then after you have resolved an attack with one of those weapons you must, if any other weapons with the same characteristics profile are also being used to make attacks against that unit, resolve those attacks before resolving any attacks against the target with a weapon that has a different characteristics profile. Note that all the attacks you have declared are always resolved against the target unit even if, when you come to resolve an individual attack, no models in the target unit remain in range (this can happen because of models being destroyed and removed from the battlefield as the result of resolving other attacks made by the attacking model’s unit first).

  • Each close combat attack is made with a melee weapon.
  • A model makes attacks using the close combat weapon profile if it has no other melee weapons.
  • If a unit attacks with multiple weapons, all attacks made with weapons that have the same profile must be resolved before resolving attacks with the next.

The denizens of the warp do not have a true physical form; they are beings of energy, given fell shape and terrible purpose. Such a creature defies the natural laws of the universe, and many of the most powerful weapons are all but useless against them.

Units with this ability have a 5+ invulnerable save.
Daemonic Ritual

Through dark pacts and blasphemous rituals, a champion of Chaos can weaken the fabric of reality to create a gateway to the warp. From this rent pour forth the Daemons of that realm, ready to rend and tear those who stand against the Ruinous Powers.

Instead of moving in their Movement phase, any CHAOS CHARACTER can, at the end of their Movement phase, attempt to summon a DAEMON unit with this ability by performing a Daemonic Ritual (the character cannot do so if they arrived as reinforcements this turn, or if they were themselves summoned to the battlefield this turn).

If they do so, first choose one of the four Chaos Gods – KHORNE, TZEENTCH, NURGLE or SLAANESH. A CHARACTER who owes allegiance to one of the Dark Gods can only attempt to summon the units of their patron – for example, a KHORNE CHARACTER could only attempt to summon KHORNE DAEMONS.

Roll up to 3 dice – this is your summoning roll. You can summon one new unit with the Daemonic Ritual ability to the battlefield that has a Power Rating equal to or less than the total result so long as it has the same Chaos God keyword you chose at the start (in the case of units that have a choice of allegiance, such as Furies, the unit when summoned will have this keyword). This unit is treated as reinforcements for your army and can be placed anywhere on the battlefield that is wholly within 12" of the character and more than 9" from any enemy model. If the total rolled is insufficient to summon any unit, the ritual fails and no new unit is summoned.

If your summoning roll included any doubles, your character then suffers a mortal wound. If it contained any triples, it instead suffers D3 mortal wounds.
The Warlord
While mustering your army, you can nominate one model (except a model with the FORTIFICATION keyword) to be your Warlord. That model gains the WARLORD keyword. If this model is a CHARACTER, you can also assign a Warlord Trait to it. Note, that more than one model in your army can have a Warlord Trait (e.g. by using Stratagems), but they are only considered your Warlord for the purpose of that trait.
Mortal Wounds
Some attacks inflict mortal wounds – these are so powerful that no armour or force field can withstand their fury. Each mortal wound inflicts 1 point of damage on the target unit, and they are always applied one at a time. Do not make a wound roll or saving throw (including invulnerable saves) against a mortal wound – just allocate it as you would any other attack and inflict damage to a model in the target unit. Unlike damage inflicted by normal attacks, excess damage from mortal wounds is not lost. Instead, keep allocating damage to another model in the target unit until either all the damage has been allocated or the target unit is destroyed.

If an attack inflicts mortal wounds in addition to the normal damage, resolve the normal damage first. If an attack inflicts mortal wounds in addition to the normal damage, but the normal damage is subsequently saved, the target unit still suffers the mortal wounds, as described before. If an ability modifies the damage inflicted by a weapon, and that weapon can inflict mortal wounds in addition to the normal damage, the modifier does not apply to any mortal wounds that are inflicted (unless the rule specifically states otherwise).

  • Each mortal wound inflicted on a unit causes one model in the unit to lose one wound.
  • No saving throws can be made against mortal wounds.
  • Mortal wounds inflicted by attacks in addition to normal damage always apply, even if normal damage saved.
Hit Roll
When a model makes an attack, make one hit roll for that attack by rolling one D6. If the result of the hit roll is equal to or greater than the attacking model’s Ballistic Skill (BS) characteristic (if the attack is being made with a ranged weapon) or its Weapon Skill (WS) characteristic (if the attack is being made with a melee weapon), then that attack scores one hit against the target unit. If not, the attack fails and the attack sequence ends.

If an attack is made with a weapon that has an ability that says it ‘automatically hits the target’, no hit roll is made – that attack simply scores one hit on the target unit. An unmodified hit roll of 6 always scores a hit, and an unmodified hit roll of 1 always fails. A hit roll can never be modified by more than -1 or +1. This means that if, after all the cumulative modifiers to a hit roll have been calculated, the total modifier would be -2 or worse, it is changed to be -1. Similarly, if, after all the cumulative modifiers to a hit roll have been calculated, the total modifier would be +2 or better, it is changed to be +1.
Morale Tests
To take a Morale test, roll one D6 and add the number of models from the unit that have been destroyed this turn. If the result is equal to or less than the highest Leadership (Ld) characteristic in the unit, the Morale test is passed and nothing else happens. An unmodified roll of 1 also always results in a passed Morale test, irrespective of the total result. In any other case, the Morale test is failed, one model flees that unit, and you must then take Combat Attrition tests for the remaining models in the unit. You decide which model from your unit flees – that model is removed from play and counts as having been destroyed, but it never triggers any rules that are used when a model is destroyed.

  • Morale test = D6 + number of models destroyed this turn.
  • Unmodified roll of 1 always a success (no models flee).
  • If Morale test exceeds unit’s Ld, one model flees and other models must take Combat Attrition tests.
Assault weapons fire so rapidly or indiscriminately that they can be shot from the hip as warriors dash forwards into combat.
If a unit includes any models equipped with Assault weapons, that unit is still eligible to shoot with in your Shooting phase even if it has Advanced this turn, but you can only resolve attacks using those Assault weapons when you select that unit to shoot with. If a model shoots an Assault weapon in the same turn in which its unit has Advanced, subtract 1 from hit rolls when resolving that weapon’s attacks.

  • Can be shot even if firing model’s unit Advanced.
  • Subtract 1 from hit rolls if the firing model’s unit Advanced.
Fall Back
When a unit Falls Back, each model in that unit can move a distance in inches equal to or less than the Move (M) characteristic shown on its datasheet, and when doing so you can move it within Engagement Range of enemy models, but it cannot end its move within Engagement Range of any enemy models – if it cannot do this then it cannot Fall Back. A unit cannot declare a charge in the same turn that it Fell Back. A unit cannot shoot or attempt to manifest a psychic power in the same turn that it Fell Back unless it is TITANIC.

  • Fall Back: Models move up to M".
  • Units that Fall Back cannot charge this turn.
  • Units that Fall Back cannot shoot or manifest psychic powers this turn unless they are TITANIC.
Unstoppable Ferocity

Khorne Daemons hunger to spill blood and claim skulls, and their fury in the midst of battle is without limit.

If this unit makes a charge move, is charged, or performs a Heroic Intervention, then until the end of the turn add 1 to the Attacks characteristic of all its models and add 1 to the Strength characteristic of all the melee weapons the unit is armed with.

The BLOODTHIRSTER keyword is used in the following Chaos Daemons datasheets:

© Vyacheslav Maltsev 2013-2021