Chaos Daemons – Feculent Gnarlmaw
 ]
This datasheet does not meet the selection criteria (see Filter combo-box or Settings tab).
5

Feculent Gnarlmaw

This unit contains 1 Feculent Gnarlmaw. It can consist of one additional Feculent Gnarlmaw (Power Rating +5), or 2 additional Feculent Gnarlmaws (Power Rating +10). Each Feculent Gnarlmaw in this unit must be set up within 6" of each other, and none can be set up within 1" of any terrain feature.
95
ABILITIES
ABILITIES
Pestilent Garden: After it is set up, a Feculent Gnarlmaw is treated as a terrain feature. It cannot move for any reason, is not treated as a friendly or enemy model, and cannot be targeted or affected by any attacks or abilities.
Shroud of Flies: All NURGLE DAEMON units – except VEHICLES and MONSTERS – that are completely within 7" of any Feculent Gnarlmaws receive the benefits of cover from them. While a unit is receiving the benefits of cover from any Feculent Gnarlmaws, they count as receiving the benefits of Light Cover. In addition, each time a ranged attack is allocated to a model in that unit, add an additional 1 to any armour saving throw made against that attack.
Sickness Blossoms: At the start of your turn, roll a D6 for every unit that is within 3" of any Feculent Gnarlmaws; on a 4+ that unit suffers 1 mortal wound, but on a 6 it suffer D3 mortal wounds instead. NURGLE units are unaffected by this ability.
The Plague Bells Chime: NURGLE DAEMON units that are within 7" of any Feculent Gnarlmaws at the start of their turn can shoot and/or charge this turn, even if they Fell Back or Advanced.
Conduit to Nurgle’s Domain: You can re-roll any of the dice used in the summoning roll when a CHAOS CHARACTER from your army that is within 7" of any Feculent Gnarlmaw attempts to summon a unit of NURGLE DAEMONS to the battlefield using a Daemonic Ritual.
FACTION KEYWORDS: CHAOS, DAEMON, NURGLE
KEYWORDS: FECULENT GNARLMAW

This datasheet has Fortifications Battlefield Role. Full list of Chaos Daemons units sharing same Battlefield Role follows:

Light Cover
When an attack made with a ranged weapon wounds a model that is receiving the benefits of cover from this terrain feature, add 1 to the saving throw made against that attack (invulnerable saving throws are not affected).

  • +1 to saving throws against ranged weapons.
  • Invulnerable saving throws unaffected.
Saving Throw
The player commanding the target unit then makes one saving throw by rolling one D6 and modifying the roll by the Armour Penetration (AP) characteristic of the weapon that the attack was made with. For example, if the weapon has an AP of -1, then 1 is subtracted from the saving throw roll. If the result is equal to, or greater than, the Save (Sv) characteristic of the model the attack was allocated to, then the saving throw is successful and the attack sequence ends. If the result is less than the model’s Save characteristic, then the saving throw fails and the model suffers damage. An unmodified roll of 1 always fails.
Mortal Wounds
Some attacks inflict mortal wounds – these are so powerful that no armour or force field can withstand their fury. Each mortal wound inflicts 1 point of damage on the target unit, and they are always applied one at a time. Do not make a wound roll or saving throw (including invulnerable saves) against a mortal wound – just allocate it as you would any other attack and inflict damage to a model in the target unit. Unlike damage inflicted by normal attacks, excess damage from mortal wounds is not lost. Instead, keep allocating damage to another model in the target unit until either all the damage has been allocated or the target unit is destroyed.

If an attack inflicts mortal wounds in addition to the normal damage, resolve the normal damage first. If an attack inflicts mortal wounds in addition to the normal damage, but the normal damage is subsequently saved, the target unit still suffers the mortal wounds, as described before. If an ability modifies the damage inflicted by a weapon, and that weapon can inflict mortal wounds in addition to the normal damage, the modifier does not apply to any mortal wounds that are inflicted (unless the rule specifically states otherwise).

  • Each mortal wound inflicted on a unit causes one model in the unit to lose one wound.
  • No saving throws can be made against mortal wounds.
  • Mortal wounds inflicted by attacks in addition to normal damage always apply, even if normal damage saved.
Fall Back
When a unit Falls Back, each model in that unit can move a distance in inches equal to or less than the Move (M) characteristic shown on its datasheet, and when doing so you can move it within Engagement Range of enemy models, but it cannot end its move within Engagement Range of any enemy models – if it cannot do this then it cannot Fall Back. A unit cannot declare a charge in the same turn that it Fell Back. A unit cannot shoot or attempt to manifest a psychic power in the same turn that it Fell Back unless it is TITANIC.

  • Fall Back: Models move up to M".
  • Units that Fall Back cannot charge this turn.
  • Units that Fall Back cannot shoot or manifest psychic powers this turn unless they are TITANIC.
Advance
When a unit makes an Advance, make an Advance roll for the unit by rolling one D6. Add the result in inches to the Move (M) characteristic of each model in that unit until the end of the current phase. Each model in that unit can then move a distance in inches equal to or less than this total, but no model can be moved within Engagement Range of enemy models. A unit cannot shoot or declare a charge in the same turn that it made an Advance.

  • Advance: Models move up to M+D6".
  • Cannot move within Engagement Range of enemy models.
  • Units that Advance cannot shoot or charge this turn.
Daemonic Ritual

Through dark pacts and blasphemous rituals, a champion of Chaos can weaken the fabric of reality to create a gateway to the warp. From this rent pour forth the Daemons of that realm, ready to rend and tear those who stand against the Ruinous Powers.

Instead of moving in their Movement phase, any CHAOS CHARACTER can, at the end of their Movement phase, attempt to summon a DAEMON unit with this ability by performing a Daemonic Ritual (the character cannot do so if they arrived as reinforcements this turn, or if they were themselves summoned to the battlefield this turn).

If they do so, first choose one of the four Chaos Gods – KHORNE, TZEENTCH, NURGLE or SLAANESH. A CHARACTER who owes allegiance to one of the Dark Gods can only attempt to summon the units of their patron – for example, a KHORNE CHARACTER could only attempt to summon KHORNE DAEMONS.

Roll up to 3 dice – this is your summoning roll. You can summon one new unit with the Daemonic Ritual ability to the battlefield that has a Power Rating equal to or less than the total result so long as it has the same Chaos God keyword you chose at the start (in the case of units that have a choice of allegiance, such as Furies, the unit when summoned will have this keyword). This unit is treated as reinforcements for your army and can be placed anywhere on the battlefield that is wholly within 12" of the character and more than 9" from any enemy model. If the total rolled is insufficient to summon any unit, the ritual fails and no new unit is summoned.

If your summoning roll included any doubles, your character then suffers a mortal wound. If it contained any triples, it instead suffers D3 mortal wounds.
© Vyacheslav Maltsev 2013-2021