Astra Militarum – Primaris Psyker
This datasheet does not meet the selection criteria (see Filter combo-box or Settings tab).

Primaris Psyker

Primaris Psyker (base: 25mm)
Primaris Psyker
A Primaris Psyker is a single model armed with a laspistol and force stave.
Pistol 1
Force stave
Force stave
Unquestioning Loyalty
It’s For Your Own Good: If this model is slain as a result of Perils of the Warp whilst within 6" of a friendly COMMISSAR, they are executed before anything untoward can happen – the power they were attempting still fails, but units within 6" of them do not suffer D3 mortal wounds as normal.
This model can attempt to manifest one psychic power in each friendly Psychic phase, and attempt to deny one psychic power in each enemy Psychic phase. It knows the Smite power and two psychic powers from the Psykana discipline.

Datasheet-related Stratagems



Astra Militarum Stratagem

When they fight together, the psychic power of Primaris Psykers and Wyrdvane Psykers is magnified to a level far greater than the sum of their parts.

Use this Stratagem at the start of your Psychic phase. Select one WYRDVANE PSYKERS unit from your army and one friendly ASTRA MILITARUM PRIMARIS PSYKER unit within 6" of that WYRDVANE PSYKERS unit. Until the end of that phase, when a Psychic test is taken for a model in either of those units, add 2 to the result. In addition, until the end of that phase, each of those units can attempt to manifest one additional psychic power.


Astra Militarum Stratagem

By leveraging their considerable influence upon the Departmento Munitorum, high-ranking Imperial commanders can secure vital resources for their military campaigns.

Use this Stratagem before the battle. Your army can have one extra relic from the Heirlooms of Conquest for 1 CP, or two extra relics for 3 CPs. All of the relics that you include must be different and be given to different ASTRA MILITARUM CHARACTERS. You can only use this Stratagem once per battle.


Astra Militarum Stratagem

Sometimes the only possible response to overwhelming enemy fire is to hit the dirt and wait for the storm to pass, before springing up to unleash an answering volley.

Use this Stratagem in your opponent’s Shooting phase when your opponent selects one of your ASTRA MILITARUM INFANTRY units as a target. You can add 1 to armour saving throws you make for this unit until the end of the phase.


Astra Militarum Stratagem

They may be mere mortals in a galaxy of gods and monsters, but the soldiers of the Astra Militarum stand tall in the face of obliteration, lasguns blazing.

Use this Stratagem at the start of the Morale phase. Pick an ASTRA MILITARUM INFANTRY unit from your army that is required to take a Morale test. You can roll a D3 for the unit, rather than a D6, when taking this test.
Due to their compact size, pistols can even be used in melee to shoot at point-blank range.
A model can make attacks with a Pistol even when its unit is within Engagement Range of enemy units, but it must target an enemy unit that is within Engagement Range of its own unit when it does so. In such circumstances, the model can target an enemy unit even if other friendly units are within Engagement Range of the same enemy unit.

When a model equipped with both a Pistol and another type of ranged weapon (e.g. a Pistol and a Rapid Fire weapon) shoots, it can either shoot with its Pistol(s) or with its other ranged weapons. Choose which it will fire (Pistols or non-Pistols) before selecting targets.

  • Can be shot even if firing model’s unit is within Engagement Range of enemy unit.
  • Cannot be shot alongside any other type of weapon.

Force stave used in the following datasheets:

Select Weapon
When a model makes a close combat attack, it must do so using a melee weapon (i.e. a weapon that has the ‘Melee’ type). The weapons a model is equipped with are described on its datasheet. If a model is not equipped with any melee weapons, or if it cannot make an attack with any of the melee weapons it is equipped with, then that model makes its attacks using a close combat weapon, which has the following profile:

Close combat weaponMeleeMeleeUser01

If a model has more than one melee weapon, select which it will use before resolving any attacks. If a model has more than one melee weapon and can make several attacks, it can split them between these weapons however you wish – declare which attacks are being made with which weapons before any attacks are resolved. If the selected weapon has more than one profile that you must choose between, you must declare which profile is being used at the same time. Different attacks made with such a weapon can be made using different profiles if you wish.

If your unit is making attacks with more than one melee weapon against a unit, and those weapons have different characteristics profiles, then after you have resolved an attack with one of those weapons you must, if any other weapons with the same characteristics profile are also being used to make attacks against that unit, resolve those attacks before resolving any attacks against the target with a weapon that has a different characteristics profile. Note that all the attacks you have declared are always resolved against the target unit even if, when you come to resolve an individual attack, no models in the target unit remain in range (this can happen because of models being destroyed and removed from the battlefield as the result of resolving other attacks made by the attacking model’s unit first).

  • Each close combat attack is made with a melee weapon.
  • A model makes attacks using the close combat weapon profile if it has no other melee weapons.
  • If a unit attacks with multiple weapons, all attacks made with weapons that have the same profile must be resolved before resolving attacks with the next.
Unquestioning Loyalty

So fanatically devoted are Genestealer Cultists that they would die for their masters.

Each time you fail a saving throw for a <CULT> CHARACTER model, and each time a <CULT> CHARACTER model suffers a mortal wound, before inflicting damage check to see if it is within 3" of any friendly <CULT> or BROOD BROTHERS units with this ability. If it is, you can select one of those units and roll a D6; on a 4+ you do not inflict any damage on the character, but one model in the selected unit (your choice) is slain. Otherwise, the character suffers damage as normal.
Perils of the Warp
When a PSYKER unit suffers Perils of the Warp, it suffers D3 mortal wounds. If a PSYKER unit is destroyed by Perils of the Warp while attempting to manifest a psychic power, that power automatically fails to manifest. If a PSYKER unit is destroyed by Perils of the Warp, then just before removing the last model in that unit, every unit within 6" of it immediately suffers D3 mortal wounds.

  • Perils of the Warp: The PSYKER unit manifesting the power suffers D3 mortal wounds.
  • If PSYKER unit is destroyed, the psychic power fails to manifest.
  • If PSYKER unit destroyed, every other unit within 6" suffers D3 mortal wounds.
Mortal Wounds
Some attacks inflict mortal wounds – these are so powerful that no armour or force field can withstand their fury. Each mortal wound inflicts 1 point of damage on the target unit, and they are always applied one at a time. Do not make a wound roll or saving throw (including invulnerable saves) against a mortal wound – just allocate it as you would any other attack and inflict damage to a model in the target unit. Unlike damage inflicted by normal attacks, excess damage from mortal wounds is not lost. Instead, keep allocating damage to another model in the target unit until either all the damage has been allocated or the target unit is destroyed.

If an attack inflicts mortal wounds in addition to the normal damage, resolve the normal damage first. If an attack inflicts mortal wounds in addition to the normal damage, but the normal damage is subsequently saved, the target unit still suffers the mortal wounds, as described before. If an ability modifies the damage inflicted by a weapon, and that weapon can inflict mortal wounds in addition to the normal damage, the modifier does not apply to any mortal wounds that are inflicted (unless the rule specifically states otherwise).

  • Each mortal wound inflicted on a unit causes one model in the unit to lose one wound.
  • No saving throws can be made against mortal wounds.
  • Mortal wounds inflicted by attacks in addition to normal damage always apply, even if normal damage saved.
Manifesting Psychic Powers
The same PSYKER unit cannot attempt to manifest Smite more than once during the same battle round. When you select a PSYKER unit to manifest psychic powers, you select one psychic power that unit knows and attempt to manifest it. With the exception of Smite, you cannot attempt to manifest the same psychic power more than once in the same battle round, even with different PSYKER units.

To manifest the psychic power, you must first pass a Psychic test. The opposing player can then select one of their PSYKER units that is within 24" of the PSYKER unit attempting to manifest the power and attempt to deny that power before its effects are resolved by passing a Deny the Witch test.

So long as the Psychic test was successful and the psychic power was not denied by a successful Deny the Witch test, the psychic power is successfully manifested and its effects, which will be described in the power itself, are then resolved. If the PSYKER unit can attempt to manifest more than one psychic power in its Psychic phase, you can then attempt to manifest those, one at a time, as described above. The number of psychic powers each PSYKER unit can attempt to manifest in its Psychic phase is listed on its datasheet.

  • Select psychic power.
  • You cannot select the same psychic power more than once per battle round, unless that power is Smite.
  • Attempt to manifest the psychic power by taking a Psychic test.
  • The opponent can attempt to deny the psychic power by taking a Deny the Witch test.
  • If successfully manifested, resolve the psychic power’s effects.
  • Select another psychic power.
Deny the Witch
When a PSYKER unit attempts to deny a psychic power, you must take a Deny the Witch test for that unit by rolling 2D6. If the total is greater than the result of the Psychic test, the Deny the Witch test is passed and the psychic power is denied. Only one attempt can be made to deny a psychic power. If a PSYKER unit can attempt to deny more than one psychic power in a psychic phase, this will be listed on its datasheet.

  • Deny the Witch: Passed if 2D6 exceeds result of the opposing PSYKER’s Psychic test.
  • Only one attempt can be made to deny each psychic power.
Smite has a warp charge value of 5. Add 1 to the warp charge value of this psychic power for each other attempt that has been made to manifest this power by a unit from your army in this phase, whether that attempt was successful or not. If manifested, the closest enemy unit within 18" of and visible to the psyker suffers D3 mortal wounds. If the result of the Psychic test was 11 or more, that unit suffers D6 mortal wounds instead.

  • Warp Charge 5: A Psychic test of 5+ is required to manifest Smite.
  • Warp charge increases by 1 for each other attempt to manifest Smite made in this phase.
  • If manifested, closest visible enemy unit in 18" suffers D3 mortal wounds.
  • If manifested with a Psychic test result of 11+, enemy instead suffers D6 mortal wounds.

The ASTRA TELEPATHICA keyword is used in the following Astra Militarum datasheets:

The SCHOLASTICA PSYKANA keyword is used in the following Astra Militarum datasheets:

The PSYKER keyword is used in the following Astra Militarum datasheets:

The PRIMARIS PSYKER keyword is used in the following Astra Militarum datasheets:

The WYRDVANE PSYKERS keyword is used in the following Astra Militarum datasheets:

The ASTRA MILITARUM and PRIMARIS PSYKER keywords are used in the following Astra Militarum datasheets:

Psychic Tests
When a PSYKER unit attempts to manifest a psychic power, you must take a Psychic test for that unit by rolling 2D6. If the total is equal to or greater than that power’s warp charge value, the Psychic test is passed. If you roll a double 1 or a double 6 when taking a Psychic test, that unit immediately suffers Perils of the Warp.

  • Psychic test: Passed if 2D6 equals or exceeds psychic power’s warp charge.
  • If double 1 or double 6 rolled, PSYKER suffers Perils of the Warp.
Saving Throw
The player commanding the target unit then makes one saving throw by rolling one D6 and modifying the roll by the Armour Penetration (AP) characteristic of the weapon that the attack was made with. For example, if the weapon has an AP of -1, then 1 is subtracted from the saving throw roll. If the result is equal to, or greater than, the Save (Sv) characteristic of the model the attack was allocated to, then the saving throw is successful and the attack sequence ends. If the result is less than the model’s Save characteristic, then the saving throw fails and the model suffers damage. An unmodified roll of 1 always fails.
Morale Tests
To take a Morale test, roll one D6 and add the number of models from the unit that have been destroyed this turn. If the result is equal to or less than the highest Leadership (Ld) characteristic in the unit, the Morale test is passed and nothing else happens. An unmodified roll of 1 also always results in a passed Morale test, irrespective of the total result. In any other case, the Morale test is failed, one model flees that unit, and you must then take Combat Attrition tests for the remaining models in the unit. You decide which model from your unit flees – that model is removed from play and counts as having been destroyed, but it never triggers any rules that are used when a model is destroyed.

  • Morale test = D6 + number of models destroyed this turn.
  • Unmodified roll of 1 always a success (no models flee).
  • If Morale test exceeds unit’s Ld, one model flees and other models must take Combat Attrition tests.
Army List
Datasheets collated
© Vyacheslav Maltsev 2013-2021