Astra Militarum – Astropath
 ]
This datasheet does not meet the selection criteria (see Filter combo-box or Settings tab).
2

Astropath

NoNAME  M WS BS S T W A Ld Sv
35
Astropath
1
35
Astropath
6" 5+ 6+ 3 3 3 1 6 6+
An Astropath is a single model armed with a Telepathica stave.
WEAPON
RANGE
TYPE
S
AP
D
ABILITIES 
Laspistol
Laspistol
12"
Pistol 1
3
0
1
-
Telepathica stave
Telepathica stave
Melee
Melee
+1
0
D3
-
WARGEAR OPTIONS
WARGEAR OPTIONS
 • This model may replace its Telepathica stave with a laspistol.
ABILITIES
ABILITIES
Astral Divination: At the start of your Shooting phase, pick an enemy unit within 18" of this model. For the duration of the phase, the unit you picked gains no bonus to their saving throws for being in cover when it is targeted by attacks made by friendly ASTRA MILITARUM units within 6" of this model.
Telepathic Assault: Each time you take a Psychic test for this unit when it attempts to manifest Smite, roll 1D6 instead of 2D6.
PSYKER
PSYKER
This model can attempt to manifest one psychic power in each friendly Psychic phase, and attempt to deny one psychic power in each enemy Psychic phase. It knows the Smite power and one power from the Psykana discipline.
FACTION KEYWORDS: IMPERIUM, ASTRA MILITARUM, ASTRA TELEPATHICA, SCHOLASTICA PSYKANA
KEYWORDS: CHARACTER, INFANTRY, PSYKER, ASTROPATH

Datasheet-related Stratagems

1CP/3CP

IMPERIAL COMMANDER’S ARMOURY

Astra Militarum Stratagem

By leveraging their considerable influence upon the Departmento Munitorum, high-ranking Imperial commanders can secure vital resources for their military campaigns.

Use this Stratagem before the battle. Your army can have one extra relic from the Heirlooms of Conquest for 1 CP, or two extra relics for 3 CPs. All of the relics that you include must be different and be given to different ASTRA MILITARUM CHARACTERS. You can only use this Stratagem once per battle.
1CP

TAKE COVER!

Astra Militarum Stratagem

Sometimes the only possible response to overwhelming enemy fire is to hit the dirt and wait for the storm to pass, before springing up to unleash an answering volley.

Use this Stratagem in your opponent’s Shooting phase when your opponent selects one of your ASTRA MILITARUM INFANTRY units as a target. You can add 1 to armour saving throws you make for this unit until the end of the phase.
1CP

FIGHT TO THE DEATH

Astra Militarum Stratagem

They may be mere mortals in a galaxy of gods and monsters, but the soldiers of the Astra Militarum stand tall in the face of obliteration, lasguns blazing.

Use this Stratagem at the start of the Morale phase. Pick an ASTRA MILITARUM INFANTRY unit from your army that is required to take a Morale test. You can roll a D3 for the unit, rather than a D6, when taking this test.
PISTOL
Due to their compact size, pistols can even be used in melee to shoot at point-blank range.
A model can make attacks with a Pistol even when its unit is within Engagement Range of enemy units, but it must target an enemy unit that is within Engagement Range of its own unit when it does so. In such circumstances, the model can target an enemy unit even if other friendly units are within Engagement Range of the same enemy unit.

When a model equipped with both a Pistol and another type of ranged weapon (e.g. a Pistol and a Rapid Fire weapon) shoots, it can either shoot with its Pistol(s) or with its other ranged weapons. Choose which it will fire (Pistols or non-Pistols) before selecting targets.

  • Can be shot even if firing model’s unit is within Engagement Range of enemy unit.
  • Cannot be shot alongside any other type of weapon.
Select Weapon
When a model makes a close combat attack, it must do so using a melee weapon (i.e. a weapon that has the ‘Melee’ type). The weapons a model is equipped with are described on its datasheet. If a model is not equipped with any melee weapons, or if it cannot make an attack with any of the melee weapons it is equipped with, then that model makes its attacks using a close combat weapon, which has the following profile:

WEAPONRANGETYPESAPD
Close combat weaponMeleeMeleeUser01

If a model has more than one melee weapon, select which it will use before resolving any attacks. If a model has more than one melee weapon and can make several attacks, it can split them between these weapons however you wish – declare which attacks are being made with which weapons before any attacks are resolved. If the selected weapon has more than one profile that you must choose between, you must declare which profile is being used at the same time. Different attacks made with such a weapon can be made using different profiles if you wish.

If your unit is making attacks with more than one melee weapon against a unit, and those weapons have different characteristics profiles, then after you have resolved an attack with one of those weapons you must, if any other weapons with the same characteristics profile are also being used to make attacks against that unit, resolve those attacks before resolving any attacks against the target with a weapon that has a different characteristics profile. Note that all the attacks you have declared are always resolved against the target unit even if, when you come to resolve an individual attack, no models in the target unit remain in range (this can happen because of models being destroyed and removed from the battlefield as the result of resolving other attacks made by the attacking model’s unit first).

  • Each close combat attack is made with a melee weapon.
  • A model makes attacks using the close combat weapon profile if it has no other melee weapons.
  • If a unit attacks with multiple weapons, all attacks made with weapons that have the same profile must be resolved before resolving attacks with the next.
Terrain and Cover
Some pieces of terrain can provide certain bonuses to units in your army. Each bonus and how to acquire it is described in the Terrain Features section of the Core Rules. If a model has acquired such a bonus (to it's Save, Leadership or other characteristics), it is considered as receiving the benefit of cover. There are ways for some models to ignore such bonuses while making an attack, but it should be known what kind of benefit is ignored (see the Rare Rules for clarification).
Psychic Tests
When a PSYKER unit attempts to manifest a psychic power, you must take a Psychic test for that unit by rolling 2D6. If the total is equal to or greater than that power’s warp charge value, the Psychic test is passed. If you roll a double 1 or a double 6 when taking a Psychic test, that unit immediately suffers Perils of the Warp.

  • Psychic test: Passed if 2D6 equals or exceeds psychic power’s warp charge.
  • If double 1 or double 6 rolled, PSYKER suffers Perils of the Warp.
Manifesting Psychic Powers
The same PSYKER unit cannot attempt to manifest Smite more than once during the same battle round. When you select a PSYKER unit to manifest psychic powers, you select one psychic power that unit knows and attempt to manifest it. With the exception of Smite, you cannot attempt to manifest the same psychic power more than once in the same battle round, even with different PSYKER units.

To manifest the psychic power, you must first pass a Psychic test. The opposing player can then select one of their PSYKER units that is within 24" of the PSYKER unit attempting to manifest the power and attempt to deny that power before its effects are resolved by passing a Deny the Witch test.

So long as the Psychic test was successful and the psychic power was not denied by a successful Deny the Witch test, the psychic power is successfully manifested and its effects, which will be described in the power itself, are then resolved. If the PSYKER unit can attempt to manifest more than one psychic power in its Psychic phase, you can then attempt to manifest those, one at a time, as described above. The number of psychic powers each PSYKER unit can attempt to manifest in its Psychic phase is listed on its datasheet.

  • Select psychic power.
  • You cannot select the same psychic power more than once per battle round, unless that power is Smite.
  • Attempt to manifest the psychic power by taking a Psychic test.
  • The opponent can attempt to deny the psychic power by taking a Deny the Witch test.
  • If successfully manifested, resolve the psychic power’s effects.
  • Select another psychic power.
Smite
Smite has a warp charge value of 5. Add 1 to the warp charge value of this psychic power for each other attempt that has been made to manifest this power by a unit from your army in this phase, whether that attempt was successful or not. If manifested, the closest enemy unit within 18" of and visible to the psyker suffers D3 mortal wounds. If the result of the Psychic test was 11 or more, that unit suffers D6 mortal wounds instead.

  • Warp Charge 5: A Psychic test of 5+ is required to manifest Smite.
  • Warp charge increases by 1 for each other attempt to manifest Smite made in this phase.
  • If manifested, closest visible enemy unit in 18" suffers D3 mortal wounds.
  • If manifested with a Psychic test result of 11+, enemy instead suffers D6 mortal wounds.
Deny the Witch
When a PSYKER unit attempts to deny a psychic power, you must take a Deny the Witch test for that unit by rolling 2D6. If the total is greater than the result of the Psychic test, the Deny the Witch test is passed and the psychic power is denied. Only one attempt can be made to deny a psychic power. If a PSYKER unit can attempt to deny more than one psychic power in a psychic phase, this will be listed on its datasheet.

  • Deny the Witch: Passed if 2D6 exceeds result of the opposing PSYKER’s Psychic test.
  • Only one attempt can be made to deny each psychic power.

The ASTRA TELEPATHICA keyword is used in following Astra Militarum datasheets:

The SCHOLASTICA PSYKANA keyword is used in following Astra Militarum datasheets:

The PSYKER keyword is used in following Astra Militarum datasheets:

Saving Throw
The player commanding the target unit then makes one saving throw by rolling one D6 and modifying the roll by the Armour Penetration (AP) characteristic of the weapon that the attack was made with. For example, if the weapon has an AP of -1, then 1 is subtracted from the saving throw roll. If the result is equal to, or greater than, the Save (Sv) characteristic of the model the attack was allocated to, then the saving throw is successful and the attack sequence ends. If the result is less than the model’s Save characteristic, then the saving throw fails and the model suffers damage. An unmodified roll of 1 always fails.
Morale Tests
To take a Morale test, roll one D6 and add the number of models from the unit that have been destroyed this turn. If the result is equal to or less than the highest Leadership (Ld) characteristic in the unit, the Morale test is passed and nothing else happens. An unmodified roll of 1 also always results in a passed Morale test, irrespective of the total result. In any other case, the Morale test is failed, one model flees that unit, and you must then take Combat Attrition tests for the remaining models in the unit. You decide which model from your unit flees – that model is removed from play and counts as having been destroyed, but it never triggers any rules that are used when a model is destroyed.

  • Morale test = D6 + number of models destroyed this turn.
  • Unmodified roll of 1 always a success (no models flee).
  • If Morale test exceeds unit’s Ld, one model flees and other models must take Combat Attrition tests.
Army List
Datasheets collated
© Vyacheslav Maltsev 2013-2021