Skaventide – Gnawhole
This warscroll does not meet the selection criteria (see Settings tab).


Gnawholes split the skin of reality, tearing open like lesions and allowing frenzied skaven swarms to spill forth. Manifesting as whirling green portals, gaping black holes, fume-wreathed chasms and countless other malignant phenomena, these tunnels through reality seep with the ruinous energies of the Horned Rat.

Unit Size: 1      Points: 0
Battlefield Role: Scenery


A Skaventide army can include up to 3 GNAWHOLE terrain features. After territories have been chosen but before armies are set up, you can set up the GNAWHOLES for your army. Each GNAWHOLE must be set up wholly within 8" of the edge of the battlefield, more than 3" from any enemy units or objectives, and more than 1" from any other terrain features. If both players can set up any terrain features before armies are set up, they must roll off, and the winner chooses who sets up their terrain features first.


A Gnawhole is a single terrain feature. It is an obstacle.

Scenery Rules

Tunnels Through Reality: The skaven can move through gnawholes to invade any corner of the Mortal Realms.
At the start of your movement phase, you can use 1 GNAWHOLE to transport 1 friendly SKAVENTIDE unit. In order to do so, that unit must be wholly within 6" of the GNAWHOLE, and a friendly SKAVENTIDE HERO must be within 6" of the GNAWHOLE.

If this is the case, remove the SKAVENTIDE unit from the battlefield and then set it up wholly within 6" of another GNAWHOLE and more than 9" from any enemy models. This counts as that unit’s move for that movement phase.

Aura of the Horned Rat: Gnawholes emit unholy radiation that empowers skaven spellcasters but is deadly to other races.
SKAVENTIDE units treat this terrain feature as having the Arcane scenery rule (see below). Other units treat this terrain feature as having the Deadly scenery rule (see below). In addition, you can add 1 to the dice that determines if a prayer is answered if the prayer is chanted by a friendly SKAVENTIDE PRIEST within 1" of a GNAWHOLE.

Arcane: Add 1 to casting and unbinding rolls for WIZARDS while they are within 1" of any Arcane terrain features.

Deadly: Roll a dice for each unit that finishes a normal move or charge move within 1" of any Deadly terrain features. On a 1, that unit suffers D3 mortal wounds.


The GNAWHOLE keyword is used in following Skaventide warscrolls:

Sometimes a rule may require the players to make a roll-off. When this is the case, each of the players rolls a dice, and whoever rolls highest wins the roll-off. If there is a tie for the highest roll, make the roll-off again. Neither player is allowed to re-roll or modify any of the dice when making a roll-off.
Some terrain features are obstacles that block attacks to targets that lie beyond them. When this is the case, it will be noted on the warscroll for the terrain feature.

When a missile weapon targets an enemy unit that has all of its models within 1" of an obstacle, then the target unit receives the benefit of cover if the attacking model is closer to the obstacle than it is to the target unit.

The GNAWHOLE keyword is used in following Skaventide warscrolls:


The SKAVENTIDE and PRIEST keywords are used in following Skaventide warscrolls:

Leader, Behemoth

The GNAWHOLE keyword is used in following Skaventide warscrolls:

Casting and Unbinding Spells
A WIZARD can attempt to cast spells in its own hero phase. You cannot attempt to cast the same spell more than once in the same turn (even with a different wizard).

In order to cast a spell, first say which spell the wizard is going to attempt to use (it must be one they know). To cast the spell, roll 2D6. If the total is equal to or greater than the casting value of the spell, the spell is successfully cast.

If a spell is cast, the opposing player can choose one of their WIZARDS that is within 30" of the caster to attempt to unbind the spell before its effects are applied. To unbind a spell, roll 2D6. If the roll beats the roll used to cast the spell, then the spell is not successfully cast. Only one attempt can be made to unbind a spell.
Normal Moves
Moves made in the movement phase are referred to as normal moves, to differentiate them from charge moves (made in the charge phase) and pile-in moves (made in the combat phase). A model making a normal move can move a distance in inches equal to or less than the Move characteristic shown on its warscroll.
Charge roll, charge move
Any of your units within 12" of the enemy in your charge phase can attempt to make a charge move. Pick an eligible unit and make a charge roll for it by rolling 2D6. Each model in the unit can move a number of inches equal to the charge roll. You cannot make a charge move with a unit that has run or retreated earlier in the turn, or with a unit that is within 3" of an enemy unit.

The first model you move from a unit making a charge move must finish the move within ½" of an enemy model (you do not have to pick the target for the charge before making the charge roll). If that’s impossible, or you decide not to make the charge move, the charge fails and no models in the unit can move in this phase.

Once all models in one unit have made their charge moves, you can pick another eligible unit to make a charge attempt, until all units that you want to make charge attempts have done so.
Mortal Wounds
Some attacks, spells and abilities inflict mortal wounds. Do not make hit, wound or save rolls for mortal wounds. Instead, the damage inflicted on the target is equal to the number of mortal wounds that were suffered. Allocate any mortal wounds that are caused while a unit is attacking at the same time as any other wounds caused by the unit’s attacks, after all of the unit’s attacks have been completed. Mortal wounds caused at other times are allocated to models in the target unit as soon as they occur, in the same manner as wounds caused by damage from an attack.

After they have been allocated, a mortal wound is treated in the same manner as any other wound for all rules purposes.
© Vyacheslav Maltsev 2013-2021