Ynnari – The Yncarne
This datasheet does not meet the selection criteria (see Settings tab).
15

The Yncarne

NoNAME  M WS BS S T W A Ld Sv
290
The Yncarne
1
290
The Yncarne
8" 2+ 2+ 6 6 9 6 9 3+
The Yncarne is a single model equipped with: Vilith-zhar, the Sword of Souls. You can only include one of this model in your army.
WEAPON
RANGE
TYPE
S
AP
D
ABILITIES 
Vilith-zhar, the Sword of Souls
Vilith-zhar, the Sword of Souls
Melee
Melee
User
-4
D6
When resolving an attack made with this weapon, you can re-roll the wound roll.
When resolving an attack made with this weapon, you can re-roll the wound roll.
ABILITIES
ABILITIES
Strength from Death
Daemonic Avatar: This model has a 4+ invulnerable save.
Inevitable Death: When you set up this model, it can be set up in waiting rather than on the battlefield. If it is, then when another unit is destroyed, after removing the last model in that unit from play, you can set up this model as close as possible to the previous position of that model, more than 1" away from any enemy models. This model cannot charge in a turn in which it was set up in this manner.
Blessings of the Whispering God: When a friendly YNNARI unit within 6” of this model would lose a wound, roll one D6; on a 6 that wound is not lost.
Summoned by Death: When another unit is destroyed, after removing the last model in that unit from play, you can remove this model from the battlefield and can set it up as close as possible to the previous position of that model, more than 1" away from any enemy models. This model cannot charge in a turn in which it was set up in this manner.
Ynnead Stirs: When a Morale test is taken for a friendly YNNARI unit within 6" of this model, do not roll the dice; it is automatically passed.
Avatar of Ynnead: When another AELDARI model is destroyed within 6" of this model, you can roll one D6; on a 4+ this model regains 1 lost wound.
PSYKER
PSYKER
This model can attempt to manifest two psychic powers in your Psychic phase and attempt to deny one psychic power in your opponent’s Psychic phase. It knows Smite and two psychic powers from the Revenant discipline.
WARLORD TRAIT
WARLORD TRAIT
Fear of the Grave: Subtract 1 from the Leadership characteristic of models in enemy units whilst their unit is within 6" of this Warlord; subtract 2 instead if any enemy units have been destroyed as a result of an attack made by this Warlord this turn.
FACTION KEYWORDS: AELDARI, YNNARI
KEYWORDS: CHARACTER, MONSTER, DAEMON, FLY, PSYKER, THE YNCARNE

Datasheet-related Stratagems

1CP

ACOLYTE OF YNNEAD

Ynnari Stratagem

Those psykers amongst the Ynnari hosts can use the souls of the recently dead to focus their powers.

Use this Stratagem before an YNNARI PSYKER model from your army attempts to manifest a psychic power from the Revenant discipline. Add 3 to the total for that Psychic test if any enemy units were destroyed this phase.

This datasheet has HQ Battlefield Role. Full list of Ynnari units sharing same Battlefield Role follows:

Wound Roll
Each time an attack scores a hit against a target unit, make a wound roll for that attack by rolling one D6 to see if that attack successfully wounds the target. The result required is determined by comparing the attacking weapon’s Strength (S) characteristic with the target’s Toughness (T) characteristic, as shown on the following table:

WOUND ROLL
ATTACK’S STRENGTH vs TARGET’S TOUGHNESSD6 ROLL REQUIRED
Is the Strength TWICE (or more) than the Toughness?2+
Is the Strength GREATER than the Toughness?3+
Is the Strength EQUAL to the Toughness?4+
Is the Strength LOWER than the Toughness?5+
Is the Strength HALF (or less) than the Toughness?6+

If the result of the wound roll is less than the required number, the attack fails and the attack sequence ends. An unmodified wound roll of 6 always successfully wounds the target, and an unmodified wound roll of 1 always fails. A wound roll can never be modified by more than -1 or +1. This means that if, after all the cumulative modifiers to a wound roll have been calculated, the total modifier would be -2 or worse, it is changed to be -1. Similarly, if, after all the cumulative modifiers to a wound roll have been calculated, the total modifier would be +2 or better, it is changed to be +1.
Select Weapon
When a model makes a close combat attack, it must do so using a melee weapon (i.e. a weapon that has the ‘Melee’ type). The weapons a model is equipped with are described on its datasheet. If a model is not equipped with any melee weapons, or if it cannot make an attack with any of the melee weapons it is equipped with, then that model makes its attacks using a close combat weapon, which has the following profile:

WEAPONRANGETYPESAPD
Close combat weaponMeleeMeleeUser01

If a model has more than one melee weapon, select which it will use before resolving any attacks. If a model has more than one melee weapon and can make several attacks, it can split them between these weapons however you wish – declare which attacks are being made with which weapons before any attacks are resolved. If the selected weapon has more than one profile that you must choose between, you must declare which profile is being used at the same time. Different attacks made with such a weapon can be made using different profiles if you wish.

If your unit is making attacks with more than one melee weapon against a unit, and those weapons have different characteristics profiles, then after you have resolved an attack with one of those weapons you must, if any other weapons with the same characteristics profile are also being used to make attacks against that unit, resolve those attacks before resolving any attacks against the target with a weapon that has a different characteristics profile. Note that all the attacks you have declared are always resolved against the target unit even if, when you come to resolve an individual attack, no models in the target unit remain in range (this can happen because of models being destroyed and removed from the battlefield as the result of resolving other attacks made by the attacking model’s unit first).

  • Each close combat attack is made with a melee weapon.
  • A model makes attacks using the close combat weapon profile if it has no other melee weapons.
  • If a unit attacks with multiple weapons, all attacks made with weapons that have the same profile must be resolved before resolving attacks with the next.
Strength from Death

To the Ynnari, the life forces released by the newly dead are invigorating in the extreme, the souls of the fallen spurring a burst of activity.

When a unit is destroyed, units from your army with this ability draw strength from death until the end of the turn.

If a unit is drawing strength from death, that unit fights first in the Fight phase, even if it did not charge. If the enemy has units that have charged, or that have an ability that allows them to fight first in the Fight phase, then alternate choosing units to fight with, starting with the player whose turn is taking place.

When resolving an attack made with a melee weapon by a model that is drawing strength from death, and that made a charge move this turn or has another ability that allows it to fight first in the Fight phase, add 1 to the hit roll.
Saving Throw
The player commanding the target unit then makes one saving throw by rolling one D6 and modifying the roll by the Armour Penetration (AP) characteristic of the weapon that the attack was made with. For example, if the weapon has an AP of -1, then 1 is subtracted from the saving throw roll. If the result is equal to, or greater than, the Save (Sv) characteristic of the model the attack was allocated to, then the saving throw is successful and the attack sequence ends. If the result is less than the model’s Save characteristic, then the saving throw fails and the model suffers damage. An unmodified roll of 1 always fails.
Invulnerable Saves
Some models have an invulnerable save. Each time an attack is allocated to a model with an invulnerable save, you can choose to use either its normal Save (Sv) characteristic or its invulnerable save, but not both. If a model has more than one invulnerable save, it can only use one of them – choose which it will use. If you use a model’s invulnerable save, it is never modified by a weapon’s Armour Penetration value.

  • Invulnerable save: Saving throw that is never modified by attacking weapon’s AP.
  • A model with an invulnerable save can use it instead of its normal Sv.
Morale Tests
To take a Morale test, roll one D6 and add the number of models from the unit that have been destroyed this turn. If the result is equal to or less than the highest Leadership (Ld) characteristic in the unit, the Morale test is passed and nothing else happens. An unmodified roll of 1 also always results in a passed Morale test, irrespective of the total result. In any other case, the Morale test is failed, one model flees that unit, and you must then take Combat Attrition tests for the remaining models in the unit. You decide which model from your unit flees – that model is removed from play and counts as having been destroyed, but it never triggers any rules that are used when a model is destroyed.

  • Morale test = D6 + number of models destroyed this turn.
  • Unmodified roll of 1 always a success (no models flee).
  • If Morale test exceeds unit’s Ld, one model flees and other models must take Combat Attrition tests.
Manifesting Psychic Powers
The same PSYKER unit cannot attempt to manifest Smite more than once during the same battle round. When you select a PSYKER unit to manifest psychic powers, you select one psychic power that unit knows and attempt to manifest it. With the exception of Smite, you cannot attempt to manifest the same psychic power more than once in the same battle round, even with different PSYKER units.

To manifest the psychic power, you must first pass a Psychic test. The opposing player can then select one of their PSYKER units that is within 24" of the PSYKER unit attempting to manifest the power and attempt to deny that power before its effects are resolved by passing a Deny the Witch test.

So long as the Psychic test was successful and the psychic power was not denied by a successful Deny the Witch test, the psychic power is successfully manifested and its effects, which will be described in the power itself, are then resolved. If the PSYKER unit can attempt to manifest more than one psychic power in its Psychic phase, you can then attempt to manifest those, one at a time, as described above. The number of psychic powers each PSYKER unit can attempt to manifest in its Psychic phase is listed on its datasheet.

  • Select psychic power.
  • You cannot select the same psychic power more than once per battle round, unless that power is Smite.
  • Attempt to manifest the psychic power by taking a Psychic test.
  • The opponent can attempt to deny the psychic power by taking a Deny the Witch test.
  • If successfully manifested, resolve the psychic power’s effects.
  • Select another psychic power.
Deny the Witch
When a PSYKER unit attempts to deny a psychic power, you must take a Deny the Witch test for that unit by rolling 2D6. If the total is greater than the result of the Psychic test, the Deny the Witch test is passed and the psychic power is denied. Only one attempt can be made to deny a psychic power. If a PSYKER unit can attempt to deny more than one psychic power in a psychic phase, this will be listed on its datasheet.

  • Deny the Witch: Passed if 2D6 exceeds result of the opposing PSYKER’s Psychic test.
  • Only one attempt can be made to deny each psychic power.
Smite
Smite has a warp charge value of 5. Add 1 to the warp charge value of this psychic power for each other attempt that has been made to manifest this power by a unit from your army in this phase, whether that attempt was successful or not. If manifested, the closest enemy unit within 18" of and visible to the psyker suffers D3 mortal wounds. If the result of the Psychic test was 11 or more, that unit suffers D6 mortal wounds instead.

  • Warp Charge 5: A Psychic test of 5+ is required to manifest Smite.
  • Warp charge increases by 1 for each other attempt to manifest Smite made in this phase.
  • If manifested, closest visible enemy unit in 18" suffers D3 mortal wounds.
  • If manifested with a Psychic test result of 11+, enemy instead suffers D6 mortal wounds.
The Warlord
While mustering your army, you can nominate one model (except a model with the FORTIFICATION keyword) to be your Warlord. That model gains the WARLORD keyword. If this model is a CHARACTER, you can also assign a Warlord Trait to it. Note, that more than one model in your army can have a Warlord Trait (e.g. by using Stratagems), but they are only considered your Warlord for the purpose of that trait.

The AELDARI keyword is used in following Ynnari datasheets:

The YNNARI keyword is used in following Ynnari datasheets:

The CHARACTER keyword is used in following Ynnari datasheets:

The PSYKER keyword is used in following Ynnari datasheets:

The YNNARI and PSYKER keywords are used in following Ynnari datasheets:

Psychic Tests
When a PSYKER unit attempts to manifest a psychic power, you must take a Psychic test for that unit by rolling 2D6. If the total is equal to or greater than that power’s warp charge value, the Psychic test is passed. If you roll a double 1 or a double 6 when taking a Psychic test, that unit immediately suffers Perils of the Warp.

  • Psychic test: Passed if 2D6 equals or exceeds psychic power’s warp charge.
  • If double 1 or double 6 rolled, PSYKER suffers Perils of the Warp.
© Vyacheslav Maltsev 2013-2021