Renegades and Heretics – Rogue Psyker Coven
This datasheet does not meet the selection criteria (see Settings tab).
2

Rogue Psyker Coven

NoNAME  M WS BS S T W A Ld Sv
35
Rogue Psyker
5
35
Rogue Psyker
6" 5+ 5+ 3 3 3 1 8 7+
Every model is equipped with nothing.
ABILITIES
ABILITIES
Witches: Models in this unit have a 5+ invulnerable save.
Choir of Chaos: Each time a Psychic test is taken for this unit, before rolling the dice, you can choose to add D3 to the result. If you do, after attempting to manifest the psychic power, this unit suffers D3 mortal wounds.
Covenant of Chaos: Each time this unit fights, if it made a charge move, was charged, or performed a Heroic Intervention this turn, then until that fight is resolved, add 1 to the Strength characteristic of models in this unit.
PSYKER
PSYKER
This unit can attempt to manifest one psychic power in your Psychic phase, and attempt to deny one psychic power in your opponent’s Psychic phase. It knows Smite.
FACTION KEYWORDS: CHAOS, RENEGADES AND HERETICS
KEYWORDS: INFANTRY, CORE, PSYKER, ROGUE PSYKER COVEN

This datasheet has HQ Battlefield Role. Full list of Renegades and Heretics units sharing same Battlefield Role follows:

Saving Throw
The player commanding the target unit then makes one saving throw by rolling one D6 and modifying the roll by the Armour Penetration (AP) characteristic of the weapon that the attack was made with. For example, if the weapon has an AP of -1, then 1 is subtracted from the saving throw roll. If the result is equal to, or greater than, the Save (Sv) characteristic of the model the attack was allocated to, then the saving throw is successful and the attack sequence ends. If the result is less than the model’s Save characteristic, then the saving throw fails and the model suffers damage. An unmodified roll of 1 always fails.
Invulnerable Saves
Some models have an invulnerable save. Each time an attack is allocated to a model with an invulnerable save, you can choose to use either its normal Save (Sv) characteristic or its invulnerable save, but not both. If a model has more than one invulnerable save, it can only use one of them – choose which it will use. If you use a model’s invulnerable save, it is never modified by a weapon’s Armour Penetration value.

  • Invulnerable save: Saving throw that is never modified by attacking weapon’s AP.
  • A model with an invulnerable save can use it instead of its normal Sv.
Psychic Tests
When a PSYKER unit attempts to manifest a psychic power, you must take a Psychic test for that unit by rolling 2D6. If the total is equal to or greater than that power’s warp charge value, the Psychic test is passed. If you roll a double 1 or a double 6 when taking a Psychic test, that unit immediately suffers Perils of the Warp.

  • Psychic test: Passed if 2D6 equals or exceeds psychic power’s warp charge.
  • If double 1 or double 6 rolled, PSYKER suffers Perils of the Warp.
Manifesting Psychic Powers
The same PSYKER unit cannot attempt to manifest Smite more than once during the same battle round. When you select a PSYKER unit to manifest psychic powers, you select one psychic power that unit knows and attempt to manifest it. With the exception of Smite, you cannot attempt to manifest the same psychic power more than once in the same battle round, even with different PSYKER units.

To manifest the psychic power, you must first pass a Psychic test. The opposing player can then select one of their PSYKER units that is within 24" of the PSYKER unit attempting to manifest the power and attempt to deny that power before its effects are resolved by passing a Deny the Witch test.

So long as the Psychic test was successful and the psychic power was not denied by a successful Deny the Witch test, the psychic power is successfully manifested and its effects, which will be described in the power itself, are then resolved. If the PSYKER unit can attempt to manifest more than one psychic power in its Psychic phase, you can then attempt to manifest those, one at a time, as described above. The number of psychic powers each PSYKER unit can attempt to manifest in its Psychic phase is listed on its datasheet.

  • Select psychic power.
  • You cannot select the same psychic power more than once per battle round, unless that power is Smite.
  • Attempt to manifest the psychic power by taking a Psychic test.
  • The opponent can attempt to deny the psychic power by taking a Deny the Witch test.
  • If successfully manifested, resolve the psychic power’s effects.
  • Select another psychic power.
Mortal Wounds
Some attacks inflict mortal wounds – these are so powerful that no armour or force field can withstand their fury. Each mortal wound inflicts 1 point of damage on the target unit, and they are always applied one at a time. Do not make a wound roll or saving throw (including invulnerable saves) against a mortal wound – just allocate it as you would any other attack and inflict damage to a model in the target unit. Unlike damage inflicted by normal attacks, excess damage from mortal wounds is not lost. Instead, keep allocating damage to another model in the target unit until either all the damage has been allocated or the target unit is destroyed.

If an attack inflicts mortal wounds in addition to the normal damage, resolve the normal damage first. If an attack inflicts mortal wounds in addition to the normal damage, but the normal damage is subsequently saved, the target unit still suffers the mortal wounds, as described before. If an ability modifies the damage inflicted by a weapon, and that weapon can inflict mortal wounds in addition to the normal damage, the modifier does not apply to any mortal wounds that are inflicted (unless the rule specifically states otherwise).

  • Each mortal wound inflicted on a unit causes one model in the unit to lose one wound.
  • No saving throws can be made against mortal wounds.
  • Mortal wounds inflicted by attacks in addition to normal damage always apply, even if normal damage saved.
Engagement Range
Engagement Range represents the zone of threat that models present to their enemies. While a model is within 1" horizontally and 5" vertically of an enemy model, those models are within Engagement Range of each other. While two enemy models are within Engagement Range of each other, those models’ units are also within Engagement Range of each other. Models cannot be set up within Engagement Range of enemy models.

  • Engagement Range: 1" horizontally + 5" vertically.
  • Models cannot be set up within Engagement Range of enemy models.
Charging with a Unit
Once you have chosen an eligible unit to declare a charge with, you must select one or more enemy units within 12" of it as the targets of its charge. The target(s) of this charge do not need to be visible to the charging unit. You then make a charge roll for your unit by rolling 2D6. This is the maximum number of inches each model in the charging unit can now be moved if they can make the charge move. To make a charge move, the unit’s charge roll must be sufficient that it is able to end that move in unit coherency and within Engagement Range of every unit that was a target of its charge, without moving within Engagement Range of any enemy units that were not a target of its charge. If this is possible, then the charge is successful and the models in the unit make a charge move so as to fulfil the above conditions. If this is impossible, the charge fails and no models in the charging unit move this phase.

  • Declare targets of the charge (must be within 12").
  • Charge roll = 2D6".
  • If insufficient to move charging unit into Engagement Range of all targets, charge fails.
  • If charge successful, models make their charge move.
  • Cannot make a charge move within Engagement Range of any unit that was not the target of the charge.
Performing a Heroic Intervention
When a unit performs a Heroic Intervention, you can move each model in that unit up to 3" – this is a Heroic Intervention move. Each model in the unit must finish its Heroic Intervention move closer to the closest enemy model. Remember that a unit must finish any type of move in unit coherency.

  • Heroic Intervention: Move up to 3".
  • Must end closer to the closest enemy model.
Deny the Witch
When a PSYKER unit attempts to deny a psychic power, you must take a Deny the Witch test for that unit by rolling 2D6. If the total is greater than the result of the Psychic test, the Deny the Witch test is passed and the psychic power is denied. Only one attempt can be made to deny a psychic power. If a PSYKER unit can attempt to deny more than one psychic power in a psychic phase, this will be listed on its datasheet.

  • Deny the Witch: Passed if 2D6 exceeds result of the opposing PSYKER’s Psychic test.
  • Only one attempt can be made to deny each psychic power.
Smite
Smite has a warp charge value of 5. Add 1 to the warp charge value of this psychic power for each other attempt that has been made to manifest this power by a unit from your army in this phase, whether that attempt was successful or not. If manifested, the closest enemy unit within 18" of and visible to the psyker suffers D3 mortal wounds. If the result of the Psychic test was 11 or more, that unit suffers D6 mortal wounds instead.

  • Warp Charge 5: A Psychic test of 5+ is required to manifest Smite.
  • Warp charge increases by 1 for each other attempt to manifest Smite made in this phase.
  • If manifested, closest visible enemy unit in 18" suffers D3 mortal wounds.
  • If manifested with a Psychic test result of 11+, enemy instead suffers D6 mortal wounds.

The PSYKER keyword is used in following Renegades and Heretics datasheets:

© Vyacheslav Maltsev 2013-2021