Wahapedia8 site header

The following ‘Q and As’ were published alongside Warhammer 40,000 when it was first released. They are designed to clarify certain core rules concepts and as a result each tends to have an accompanying designer’s note, in italics, to help provide further context or to give examples.


Books

BookKindEditionVersionLast update
  Stepping into a New Edition of Warhammer 40,000Rulebook8July 2017
  Warhammer 40,000Rulebook81.5May 2019
  Designers’ CommentaryRulebook81.4April 2019
  Warhammer 40,000 Update 04’2019Rulebook8May 2019

Stepping into a New Edition of Warhammer 40,000


Core Rules Questions

 Q: If a Vehicle model has a base, but it is itself larger than the base (such as a Stormraven Gunship), what do I measure to – the base or the hull of the vehicle?
 A
Unless such a model’s datasheet has an ability saying otherwise, you measure to and from the model’s base.
 Q: How do I determine if a model is visible to another model?
 A
The models are visible to each other if you can draw a straight, uninterrupted line between any part of one model to any part of the other.
 Q: How do vertical distances work for movement and measurements?
 A
All distances are measured in three dimensions, so if a unit moves over a hill or scales a wall, the horizontal distance and vertical distance combined cannot exceed its Movement characteristic. This means that in order to traverse across an obstacle, you must move up to the top of that obstacle, move across the top of it, then move down it
 Q: What happens when an INFANTRY model cannot completely end its move on a floor of ruins when attempting to scale the walls?
 A
If an INFANTRY model is unable to complete a move to a stable position, use the Wobbly Model Syndrome guidelines in the core rules to identify with your opponent where your model’s actual location is.
 Q: Can I roll to Deny the Witch with a psyker that is not targeted directly by a psychic power?
 A
Yes.
 Q: Does my psyker need to be visible to the enemy psyker manifesting the psychic power to attempt to Deny the Witch?
 A
No. The psyker just needs to be within 24" of them.
 Q: If a psychic power affects a friendly unit, does that unit need to be visible to my psyker for me to be able to manifest it upon them?
 A
No, unless the specific psychic power says otherwise.
 Q: Can you manifest psychic powers while embarked upon a transport, whether they have the Open-topped ability or otherwise?
 A
No, unless specifically stated otherwise.
 Q: When shooting with models, do I measure ranges from the model’s weapons, or from its base (or hull, if it’s a vehicle without a base)?
 A
Distances are measured from the closest point of the model’s base (or from the closest point of the vehicle’s hull if it does not have a base) to the closest point of the target’s base (or hull).
 Q: If a model uses a weapon that always wounds on a set value, but the roll required to successfully wound the model is worse than if that model were fighting using its basic Strength characteristic, what roll to wound is required?
 A
The value described in the weapon’s abilities takes precedence.

For example, if a Grotesque (with a Strength characteristic of 5) attacked an enemy unit with a Toughness characteristic of 3 using its flesh gauntlet, it would successfully wound that unit on rolls of 4+, even though its Strength is greater than the target’s Toughness.
 Q: If an enemy unit is attacked by a weapon that has the ability ‘Units attacked by this weapon do not gain any bonus to their saving throws for being in cover’, do they a) not gain any bonuses for being in cover for the remainder of the battle, b) not gain any bonuses for being in cover when resolving all of the firing unit’s attacks, or c) not gain any bonuses for being in cover against attacks made by the weapon that has this ability?
 A
The answer is c), the enemy unit being attacked does not gain any bonuses for being in cover when resolving the attacks made by the weapon with this ability.
 Q: Can you wound models in a target unit that are not visible to the firer or that are beyond its maximum range?
 A
Yes.

When resolving a shooting attack, only one model in the target unit needs to be visible and within range of the firing model in order to make the attack. Your opponent can allocate any resulting wounds to any unwounded models in the target unit that they choose, even those that are not visible or within range of the attack.
 Q: Is there any limit on the number of enemy units I can choose as targets of a charge?
 A
No – so long as all the targets of the charge are within 12", you can declare as many targets of a charge as you like.
 Q: Can a single-model unit declare charges against multiple units?
 A
Yes.

A single model can declare charges against several units, even if it would be impossible to finish the charge within 1" of all of them. Doing so gives you more choices on where to actually move, depending upon your subsequent charge roll, but leaves you vulnerable to more Overwatch.
 Q: Does a weapon have to be in range of the charging unit to fire Overwatch at it?
 A
Yes.
 Q: A unit has a special rule that says, for example, ‘add 3" to the dice roll(s) for determining the charge distance of the unit’. Does that mean my unit can move 15" if I roll a double 6 on 2D6?
 A
Yes. Note though that you can only ever declare a charge against an enemy unit you are within 12" of, unless the charging unit has an ability that says otherwise.
 Q: Must a unit end its charge move as close as possible to the target(s) of its charge (i.e. base-to-base contact), and must a unit attempt to engage as many of the targets of its charge as possible?
 A
No. The first model in the charging unit that is moved only has to finish its charge move within 1" of at least one of the units that was selected as a target of its charge.

The only other restrictions that apply are that the charging unit must end its move in unit coherency, and no models in the charging unit can move within 1" of an enemy unit that was not selected as a target of the charge.
 Q: Do units have to pile in and consolidate?
 A
No, these extra moves are optional.

Also note that if a unit does pile in or consolidate, you do not need to necessarily move all of the models in the unit (but any that do move must end their move closer to the nearest enemy model).
 Q: When can I target an enemy CHARACTER that has a Wounds characteristic of less than 10?
 A
Such a CHARACTER can only be targeted in the Shooting phase if it is the nearest visible model to the firing model. You can target enemy CHARACTERS without restriction in the Psychic phase*, Charge phase, Fight phase, etc. You may also make shooting attacks at enemy CHARACTERS which occur outside the Shooting phase (i.e. when resolving Overwatch in the Charge phase).

*Note, however, that some psychic powers, such as Smite, do not target units but instead affect the nearest enemy unit.
 Q: Can I embark within a transport at any time other than in the Movement phase, such as following a consolidate move that takes a unit within 3" of a transport?
 A
No. You may only embark within or disembark a transport in the Movement phase, unless a rule or ability explicitly says otherwise.
 Q: Can a unit that Advances or Falls Back embark within a transport? What about if the transport has moved before – can a unit still embark inside?
 A
Yes, yes and yes (remember though that a transport cannot both embark and disembark units in the same turn).
 Q: Can units move within 1" of enemy models whilst Falling Back?
 A
Yes, but they must end their move more than 1" from all enemy models.

Remember though that they cannot move ‘through’ other models.
 Q: How do objective markers work for purposes of vertical distances?
 A
Include both vertical and horizontal distances when determining the number of models within range of an objective marker.
 Q: Can a unit be healed or repaired to above its starting number of wounds?
 A
No, unless specifically stated otherwise.

Index Books Questions

 Q: Can a model take the same wargear option more than once? For example, can a Space Marine Terminators replace his storm bolter with a cyclone missile launcher and another storm bolter, and then replace its ‘new’ storm bolter with a heavy flamer?
 A
No.
 Q: How do the weapon profiles of CAVALRY mounts, and other models such as chariots (which have weapon profiles for riders and mounts), work?
 A
Each weapon profile is treated as a separate weapon the model is equipped with.

Note that typically these weapon profiles have abilities that mean they can be used to make additional attacks.

For example, a Thunderwolf mount provides its rider with a set of extra attacks with its own melee weapon profile (crushing teeth and claws). So, the rider can make all its attacks using, for example, its thunder hammer, and then it can make an additional set of attacks using the Thunderwolf’s melee weapon profile. When resolving these attacks, bonuses and penalties to the rider’s hit rolls and wound rolls also apply to the Thunderwolf’s attacks – it is effectively a weapon wielded by the rider. As such, where a mount’s weapon profile has a Strength characteristic other than User – as is the case with the Thunderwolf – the Strength of the mount’s attacks is not affected by changes to the model’s Strength. Note, however, that the mount’s weapon profile would be affected by changes to the Strength (or other characteristics) of a model’s weapons.
 Q: The Mob Rule ability says that ‘a unit with this ability can use the number of models in their unit as their Leadership characteristic’. Is this fixed at the number of models in the unit at the start of the battle, or does it vary throughout the battle?
 A
It is not fixed and will vary throughout the game.

This ability is based upon the number of models in the unit at the time. Thus, as the unit suffers casualties throughout the battle, its Leadership characteristic will be lower.
 Q: If the Strength from Death ability is triggered, and I choose to manifest a psychic power as if it were the Psychic phase, can I attempt to manifest a power I already attempted to manifest this turn?
 A
No. The psyker can only attempt to manifest a different psychic power that it knows.
 Q: If the Strength from Death ability is triggered, and I choose to manifest a psychic power as if it were the Psychic phase, can I attempt to manifest a power that another psyker in my army has attempted to manifest this turn?
 A
Yes. Note, however, that if you are playing a matched play game, then the Psychic Focus rule still applies, in which case your psyker cannot attempt to manifest a psychic power that has already been attempted by another psyker in your army this turn (with the exception of Smite).
 Q: Can I use a Soulburst action to charge in the Fight phase and fight in the same phase?
 A
No. A unit that uses a Soulburst action to charge in the Fight phase cannot then fight in that phase.
 Q: If I use a Soulburst action to charge in my opponent’s turn (other than in the Fight phase), when does that unit fight in the Fight phase?
 A
This unit will fight before any units that did not charge this turn. If your opponent also has units that have charged this turn then players alternate choosing units that have charged to fight with, starting with the player whose turn it is (in this case, your opponent’s).
 Q: How do psychic powers and abilities that can slay models – like ’Eadbanger and the C’tan power Time’s Arrow – interact with abilities such as Commissar Yarrick’s Iron Will, which allows him to negate his final wound on 3+?
 A
These powers and abilities do not inflict damage or cause models to lose wounds, so in these cases abilities like Yarrick’s Iron Will have no effect.
 Q: Do models that are still embarked within a transport count as being in range of an objective marker if their transport is within range of it?
 A
No.
 Q: If a unit has an aura ability, and it is embarked within a transport, does that aura ability still apply, whether the transport has the Open-topped ability or otherwise?
 A
No.
 Q: If I charge a transport that has the Open-topped ability, can units that are embarked inside also fire Overwatch at the charging unit?
 A
No.
 Q: Can a model with the ability to repair vehicles – such as a Techmarine or an Ork Mek – use that ability to repair a transport they are currently embarked within?
 A
No.
 Q: Do Space Marine teleport homers count as separate units for the purposes of deployment?
 A
No. It is set up at the same time as the unit that is equipped with a teleport homer is.
 Q: A Space Marine Apothecary’s Narthecium ability says to select a ‘friendly <CHAPTER> INFANTRY or BIKER unit’. Does this mean ‘a friendly <CHAPTER> INFANTRY or <CHAPTER> BIKER unit’ or can it be used to affect Biker units from other Chapters?
 A
It means ‘<CHAPTER> INFANTRY or <CHAPTER> BIKER’ – you cannot select a BIKER unit from a different Chapter.
 Q: Do models with profiles, such as Armorium Cherubs and Ammo Runts, count as a model for the purposes of embarking within transports or when measuring ranges to and from the unit?
 A
Yes – for all rules purposes they are part of the unit.

Warhammer 40,000 Rulebook


General Questions

 Q: If a unit is affected by a rule that forces it to fight after all other units able to fight have done so, such as the effects of the Paroxysm psychic power, the Vexator Mask or the Armour of Russ, can it still be affected by the Counter-Offensive Stratagem?
 A
Yes, the Counter Offensive Stratagem allows a unit to fight outside of the normal fight order (i.e. the Stratagem does not give a unit the ability to fight first in the Fight phase, it simply instructs you to pick a unit and fight with it next).
 Q: In a Matched Play game, or another game that is using points values, what is the points value of a unit champion (a Sergeant, a Boss Nob, an Exarch etc.)?
 A
Unless noted otherwise in the points value entry for that unit, a unit champion has the same points cost as the other models in their unit.
 Q: Can I ever skip a phase, or part of a phase? For example, if
my army contains no PSYKERS, can I skip my Psychic phase?
 A
No. You must play out all of the phases in a turn, and all parts of each phase. In the example you give, your opponent may have rules or Stratagems that are used in your Psychic phase, and so you cannot skip it.
 Q: If a unit has a Strength characteristic of ‘-’, but I need to use that characteristic to resolve a rule (e.g. shooting web pistols or webbers, the Death Grip Stratagem etc.) what value should I use?
 A
Substitute the unit’s Toughness characteristic for its Strength characteristic for the purposes of resolving such rules.
 Q: What does within 1" mean? Does it mean any distance up to 1", or does it mean any distance up to and including 1"?
 A
It means any distance up to and including 1".
 Q: Can you clarify what the difference is between ‘wholly within’ and ‘within’ for rules purposes?
 A
If a rule says it affects models that are ‘wholly within’ then it only applies if every part of the model’s base (or hull) is within. If a rule says it affects models that are ‘within’, however, then it applies so long as any part of the model’s base (or hull) is within.

If a rule says it affects units that are ‘wholly within’ then it only applies if every part of every model’s base (or hull) in that unit is within. If a rule says it affects units that are ‘within’, however, then it applies so long as any part of any model’s base (or hull) in that unit is within. If a rule says it affects units if every model in that unit is ‘within’ then applies so long as any part of every model’s base (or hull) is within.

For example, units gain the benefit of cover if every model in the unit is either on or within terrain. So long as all the models in that unit are either on or partially within the terrain, they gain the benefit of cover.
 Q: When a rule refers to the ‘nearest’ unit/model, and two are equidistant, who decides which is the nearest?
 A
Unless stated otherwise, the player controlling the unit that is using the rule decides.

For example, if a psyker manifested the Smite psychic power, and two enemy units were both exactly 4" away, the player controlling the psyker could choose which is the ‘closest’ and hence which suffers damage from the power.

Similarly, if in your Shooting phase an enemy CHARACTER and another enemy unit were both exactly 10" away from your firing model, you could choose which is the closest before resolving the shots – so you could choose to shoot the Character if you want. If two enemy Characters are equidistant from a firing model (and there is no other closer enemy unit) then the firing model’s controller can choose which of the two Characters is closest before resolving the model’s shots. Note that it cannot choose for them both to be the closest, so cannot split its fire between the two.

If neither player controls the origin of the rule in question (e.g. if a mission’s rules include gigantic rocks that are crashing indiscriminately into the battlefield) then the players should roll off. Whoever wins decides which unit/model is nearest.
 Q: Can I set up a unit, or finish any sort of move with a unit, so that its models form several separate groups (where each group consists of models from that unit that are within 2" horizontally and 6" vertically of at least one other model from their group)?
 A
No. The unit must set up or finish any sort of move as a single group.
 Q: If a unit is out of unit coherency, must that unit move to reestablish unit coherency, or can the unit remain stationary, thus staying out of coherency?
 A
The unit can choose to remain stationary.
 Q: If a unit cannot make any sort of move (including pile-in and consolidation moves) and end that move in unit coherency, can it make that move?
 A
No.
 Q: If one of my units shoots an enemy unit in which only one model is visible, and I resolve the attacks one at a time, slaying that model before I have resolved all of my unit’s attacks, what happens to the rest of the attacks – are they wasted?
 A
No. You determine the number of attacks the firing unit will make against the target unit before any of those attacks are made (i.e. before any hit rolls are made). If you are resolving these attacks one at a time and your opponent removes the only visible model as a casualty, you still continue to resolve the remainder of the firing unit’s attacks against that target.
 Q: If a model whose attacks always hit on a specific roll (such as a Vindicare Assassin or Dark Reaper’s ranged attacks) targets a unit that can only be hit on a specific roll (such as a unit under the effects of the Pathfinders Stratagem), which rule takes precedent – the attacking model’s or the target unit’s?
 A
The attacking model’s ability takes precedence.
 Q: For rules that modify a weapon’s characteristic(s), if that characteristic is a random value, how is the modification applied? For example, if a rule increases a weapon’s Damage characteristic by 1, and the weapon’s normal Damage characteristic is ‘D3’, what is its modified characteristic?
 A
Any such modification is applied after the random result is rolled. In the example given, the modified characteristic would be D3+1.
 Q: Can a unit fire Overwatch at a CHARACTER if, when it declares its charge at them, there are other visible enemy models that are closer?
 A
Yes.
 Q: Can I use the Command Re-roll Stratagem to retroactively re-roll a dice? For example, if I take a Psychic test, and then my opponent successfully Denies the Witch, could I use the Stratagem to try and increase the result of the original Psychic test?
 A
No. You must use the Stratagem as soon as you have rolled your dice, before anything else occurs.
 Q: Do units that are not INFANTRY (VEHICLES, MONSTERS, etc.) gain the benefit of cover from woods, ruins etc. if they are at least 50% obscured by that piece of terrain but are not actually on or within it?
 A
No. Unless they are INFANTRY, such a unit must meet the two following conditions to gain the benefit of cover:
  • All of its models must be either on or within the terrain.
  • The unit must be at least 50% obscured from the point of view of the firer (note that it doesn’t matter what is obscuring the target, only that it is obscured).
 Q: If a rule allows me to re-roll Damage rolls of 1, and the Damage characteristic for a weapon is D3, do I re-roll the D6 rolls of 1 and 2 (which are halved to get the D3 result) or only the original D6 rolls of 1?
 A
In this case, you re-roll the D3 result (so you re-roll rolls of 1 or 2 made on the D6).
 Q: Two enemy INFANTRY units are within 1" of each other and in the same piece of terrain. Do they both receive the benefit of cover against shooting attacks made with Pistols by the other unit?
 A
Yes.
 Q: If my unit, which is equipped with Pistols, is within 1" of an enemy unit in the Shooting phase, but the closest enemy unit to some of the models in my unit is actually another enemy unit (i.e. not the enemy unit that is within 1" of my unit), which unit do those models shoot at?
 A
Each individual model in your unit can shoot its Pistols at the closest enemy unit, whether it is the unit within 1" of the firing model’s unit or not (in such circumstances, the firing model can shoot the closest unit even if other friendly units are within 1" of it).
 Q: In the narrative play missions that use the Reserves mission rule, what happens with units such as Terminators that have abilities that allow them to be set up on the battlefield midbattle? Can they be set up at the end of any Movement phase, as indicated by the ability, or can they only do so when they arrive from Reserves?
 A
If the unit is deployed somewhere other than the battlefield (for instance, in a teleportarium chamber) then it is only set up on the battlefield when it arrives from Reserves.
 Q: Some rules allow me to add models to a unit during the battle (e.g. the Poxwalker’s Curse of the Walking Pox ability). Where are those models set up?
 A
Unless otherwise stated, these new models are placed anywhere that is more than 1" from any enemy model and still within unit coherency of a model in its own unit that was itself on the battlefield at the start of the phase in which the new model was created. Note that if you cannot set up a new model on the battlefield because there is no room, it is simply not set up.
 Q: Is it possible to use a Stratagem from one codex to target a unit from another?
 A
Yes, so long as the unit the Stratagem is being used on has the appropriate keywords (note that the Stratagems in Codex: Chaos Daemons and Codex: Tyranids are specific exceptions to this, as discussed in the relevant FAQs and Errata).

For example, you can use the Tide of Traitors Stratagem from Codex: Chaos Space Marines on a unit of Cultists from a DEATH GUARD Detachment (from Codex: Death Guard) if your army has both an ALPHA LEGION Detachment and a DEATH GUARD Detachment in a single Battle-forged army.

Also note that the only requirement to have access to Stratagems is that you have a Detachment of the appropriate Faction.
 Q: For the purposes of the Strategic Discipline matched play rule, are Stratagems with identical names that appear in different codexes (e.g. ‘Veterans of the Long War’, which is a Stratagem in Codex: Chaos Space Marines, Codex: Death Guard and Codex: Thousand Sons) considered to be the same Stratagem?
 A
Yes. This means that, in matched play games, such Stratagems can only be used once per phase regardless of their source. For example, if you use the Veterans of the Long War Stratagem from Codex: Chaos Space Marines, you cannot in the same phase also use the Veterans of the Long War Stratagem from either Codex: Death Guard or Codex: Thousand Sons
 Q: For the purposes of the Tactical Reserves matched play rule, do units that act separately after they have been set up (e.g. Mek Gunz and their Grot Crew, T’au Battlesuits and their Drones, units that have the Vehicle Squadron ability, etc.) count as being a single unit, or several units?
 A
Such units are a single unit for the purposes of the Tactical Reserves rule.
 Q: If both players have Stratagems or abilities that are used ‘at the beginning of the first battle round but before the first turn begins’ (for example, if both players use the Forward Operatives Stratagem from Codex: Chaos Space Marines), who resolves their abilities first?
 A
Unless the rule in question says otherwise, the players roll off and, starting with the winner, alternate resolving such rules one at a time.
 Q: The rules for Advancing state that you roll a dice and add the result to the Move characteristic of the models in the unit ‘for that Movement phase’. If, for whatever reason, I am able to Advance and then move normally with a unit in the same Movement phase, does the number I added to the unit’s Move characteristic when it Advanced still apply when I make the normal move with the unit? For example, I have a unit whose Move characteristic is 6". It Advances, and I roll a 6, adding that to its Move characteristic to make 12". If it moves again in the same phase, its Move characteristic is still 12", so can it move up to 12" when making this move?
 A
Yes. Note that a unit cannot Advance more than once in the same Movement phase, so the Move characteristic of a unit can only be modified once in this manner.
 Q: If a unit with a minimum Move characteristic is affected by an ability which changes its Move characteristic, do I change both its minimum and maximum Move characteristics?
 A
Yes. For example, an undamaged Hemlock Wraithfighter has a Move characteristic of 20"-60". If it was affected by the Doombolt psychic power, in the following Movement phase, it’s Move characteristic would be 10"-30".
 Q: If a Stratagem instructs you to select a unit from your army at the start of the turn, can I choose one that is not yet on the battlefield (because, for example, it is currently embarked in a Transport or it was set up in a teleportarium chamber during deployment)?
 A
No, unless the Stratagem specifically says otherwise.
 Q: If I set up a unit on the battlefield as reinforcements at the end of my Movement phase, can I then use any Stratagems that are used ‘during your Movement phase’?
 A
No, unless the Stratagem specifically says otherwise.
 Q: What rules apply to units that are removed from the battlefield after deployment (via abilities, Stratagems or psychic powers), and are then set back up again on the battlefield?
 A
If a rule or ability causes a unit to be removed from the battlefield and subsequently set back up, the following rules apply to that unit:
  1. Any rules that are triggered by or apply to units that are ‘set up on the battlefield as reinforcements’ are also triggered by and apply to that unit when it is set up on the battlefield.
  2. Models in that unit count as having moved a distance equal to their Move characteristic that turn (and so suffer the penalty to their hit rolls for moving and firing Heavy weapons). If the unit has a minimum Move characteristic, it counts as having moved its maximum Move characteristic.
  3. Models in that unit cannot move again during that turn for any reason, other than to make a charge move, to pile in, or to consolidate.
  4. If that unit was within 1" of an enemy unit when it was removed, it does not count as having Fallen Back when it is set back up on the battlefield.
  5. If that unit has Advanced during this turn, it still counts as having Advanced after it has been set back up on the battlefield.
  6. Any destroyed models in that unit when it is removed are still destroyed when their unit is set back up on the battlefield. If they were destroyed during this turn, they still count towards any Morale tests taken for that unit this turn.
  7. Any models in that unit that have lost any wounds do not regain those wounds when they are removed, and will still have lost them when their unit is set back up on the battlefield.
  8. Any rules that unit was being affected by when it was removed, and which would continue to affect it for a specific duration (from abilities, Stratagems, psychic powers, etc.), continue to affect that unit until such a point as they would normally have no longer applied. For example, a unit that was within range of an aura ability when it was removed would no longer be affected by that ability if it was set up outside of that aura’s range, whereas a unit that was being affected by a psychic power that lasted until the end of that turn would still be affected by it until the end of that turn.

Note that points 5-8 do not apply to any unit set up via the Sustained Assault rule, any unit that has been added to your army during the battle and has been set up (such as those added via the Daemonic Ritual ability), or units set up via any of the following Stratagems: Fresh Converts (see Codex: Adeptus Mechanicus), Tide of Traitors (see Codex: Chaos Space Marines), Unstoppable Green Tide (see Codex: Orks), More Where They Came From (see Imperium Nihilus: Vigilus Ablaze), Send in the Next Wave! (Codex: Astra Militarum), and Endless Swarm (Codex: Tyranids). These Stratagems represent new units joining the fight, rather than the existing units being repositioned on the battlefield.
 Q: When a rule allows a model or unit to take an action (move, shoot, charge, fight or attempt to manifest a psychic power) outside of the normal turn sequence, and that rule explicitly mentions to make that action as if it were a different phase of the turn structure to the current one, e.g. ‘That unit can shoot as if it were the Shooting phase’, do rules that are normally used during that phase (in the example this would be the Shooting phase) take effect? Is the same true of Overwatch attacks?
 A
With the exception of Stratagems, all rules (e.g. abilities, Warlord Traits, psychic powers etc.) that would apply in a specific phase apply to actions that are taking place ‘as if it were that phase’. However, if a Stratagem specifies that it must be used in a specific phase, then it can only be used in that phase (e.g. you cannot use a Stratagem that says ‘Use this Stratagem in the Shooting phase’ to affect a unit that is Shooting ‘as if it were the Shooting phase’). For the purposes of this FAQ, Overwatch attacks are not considered to be attacks made as if it were your Shooting phase.
 Q: If I use a Stratagem such as Auspex Scan or Forewarned to shoot with a unit ‘as if it were the Shooting phase’, does the restriction on not being able to target an enemy CHARACTER with a Wounds characteristic of 10 or less apply, even though that Stratagem is being used in the Movement phase?
 A
Yes.
 Q: Are you able to Advance or Fall Back in a different phase when moving ‘as if it were the Movement phase’ through an ability, Relic, Stratagem etc.?
 A
Unless stated otherwise, yes. Note that if you do Advance, and the unit has already Advanced this turn, you should roll the dice again to see how much further the unit moves (i.e. do not use the same roll made when the unit first Advanced this turn).
 Q: When a unit is chosen to make a charge move and fails the charge, do they still count as having charged? Specifically, can a unit that has failed a charge move be chosen to pile in – and potentially consolidate – towards the enemy?
 A
A unit only counts as having charged if they made a charge move. If a charge fails, and no models make a charge move, they do not count as having charged. As such, they cannot be chosen to fight in the Fight phase (and so cannot pile in or consolidate) unless an enemy unit moves within 1" of them.
 Q: Can you perform Heroic Interventions in your opponent’s charge phase even if they did not declare any charges that phase?
 A
Yes.
 Q: Can you ever perform a Heroic Intervention during your own turn?
 A
No.
 Q: If a unit declares a charge against an enemy unit that is entirely on the upper level of a terrain feature such as a ruin, Sector Mechanicus structure, etc., but it cannot physically end its charge move within 1" of any models from that unit (either because there is not enough room to place the charging unit, or because the charging unit is unable to end its move on the upper levels of that terrain feature because of the expanded terrain rules for it – as with ruins, for example), does that charge fail?
 A
Yes.
 Q: When using an ability or Stratagem to fight again in the Fight phase, or fight ‘as if it were the Fight phase’, are you able to ignore the rules for who is eligible to fight in the Fight phase? For example, a unit is not within 1" of any enemy models and did not charge that turn when I use the Stratagem – can it be selected to fight again in order to pile into an enemy unit that was more than 1" away and fight?
 A
No.
 Q: When using an ability or Stratagem at the end of the Fight phase to immediately fight again (e.g. Fury of Khorne) and the selected unit moves within 1" of an enemy unit that has not yet fought this phase, after fighting with the unit selected, can that enemy unit now fight even though it’s the end of the Fight phase?
 A
Yes.
 Q: If a rule states that a unit fails its Morale test in a certain roll, but that unit is affected by another rule that says that it automatically passes Morale tests, which rule takes precedence?
 A
Rules that say a unit automatically pass a Morale test always take precedence over rules that say a Morale test is failed.
 Q: If a rule states that a number of additional models flee a unit when it fails a Morale test, but that unit is affected by another rule that says that no models flee from that unit, which rule takes precedence?
 A
Rules that say no models flee from a unit always take precedence over rules that say that a number of additional models flee that unit.
 Q: How do we resolve consecutive use of Stratagems that cancel other Stratagems (e.g. what happens if a player uses Agents of Vect in order to try and stop another player’s using A Plan Generations in the Making)?
 A
The Stratagem used last must be resolved completely first.

For example, let’s say a Drukhari player declares the use of the ‘Lightning-fast Reactions’ Stratagem. A Genestealer Cults player declares the use of the ‘A Plan Generations in the Making’ Stratagem on ‘Lightning-fast Reactions’. The Drukhari player then declares the use of ‘Agents of Vect’ on ‘A Plan Generations in the Making’. The Drukhari player resolves Agents of Vect first, rolling one D6 to see if their Stratagem successfully stops ‘A Plan Generation in the Making’. If it does, then after refunding any CPs as directed (or not), A Plan Generations in the Making is not considered to have been used and Lightning-fast Reactions is resolved as normal. If Agents of Vect fails to stop A Plan Generations in the Making, the Genestealer Cults player can now resolve their Stratagem, rolling one D6 to see if they can stop Lightning-fast Reactions in the normal manner.

Reinforcements

 Q: If a rule creates a new unit during the battle in a matched play game and adds them to my army, must I pay for the unit with my reinforcement points?
 A
Yes (unless the rule itself says otherwise). If you don’t have enough reinforcement points, you cannot add that unit to your army.
 Q: What about rules that transform one model into another model – such as turning an enemy Character into a Chaos Spawn; do I still need to pay reinforcement points to add the Chaos Spawn to my army?
 A
Again, yes (unless the rule itself says otherwise).
 Q: What about rules that add models to existing units; do I need to pay reinforcement points for those models?
 A
No (unless the rule itself says otherwise or adding the models would take the unit above its starting size).
 Q: If a unit is added to my army during the battle that has any keywords that are in angular brackets, when do I choose what those keywords are?
 A
You decide what that unit’s keywords are the moment that it is added to your army.
 Q: If a unit is added to my Battle-forged army during the battle, is it ever considered to be part of a Detachment?
 A
No, units that are added to your army during the battle are never part of any Detachment (this means they will never benefit from any Detachment abilities).
 Q: The rules for reinforcements say that when a unit is set up on the battlefield as reinforcements, it cannot move or Advance further that turn, but can otherwise act normally (shoot, charge, etc.).
 A
 Q: Can such a unit make a charge move? Can it pile in and consolidate?
 A
Yes to both questions – the unit can declare a charge and make a charge move, and if it is chosen to fight, it can pile in and consolidate.
 Q: Can such a unit move or Advance for any other reason e.g. because of an ability such as The Swarmlord’s Hive Commander ability, or because of a psychic power such as Warptime from the Dark Hereticus discipline, or because of a Stratagem like Metabolic Overdrive from Codex: Tyranids, etc.?
 A
No.
 Q: Some rules – such as Early Warning Override in Codex: T’au Empire, the Ever Vigilant Stratagem in Codex: Adeptus Custodes, and the Auspex Scan Stratagem in Codex: Space Marines – allow units to shoot at enemy units that have just arrived on the battlefield as reinforcements, as if it were the Shooting phase.
 A
 Q: If the unit arriving as reinforcements is a CHARACTER, can the firing unit shoot at it even if it is not the closest enemy unit?
 A
No – unless the firing unit is using a weapon that allows them to target a CHARACTER even if it is not the closest enemy unit. This takes place ‘as if it were the Shooting phase’, so all the normal restrictions of the Shooting phase still apply.
 Q: If the unit arriving as reinforcements has another unit embarked inside it which must disembark after it has been set up (such as units embarked within a Drop Pod, or a Tyrannocyte), can the firing unit shoot at the unit as it disembarks?
 A
No – though the unit can shoot at the Drop Pod/Tyrannocyte before the units inside disembark

Transports

 Q: Where Detachments say that you may include 1 Dedicated Transport for each other choice, what does that mean?
 A
It means that for each unit you include in the Detachment that does not have the Dedicated Transport Battlefield Role, you can include one Dedicated Transport.
 Q: How do transports work with regards to disembarking units upon the transport’s destruction?
 A
Disembarking from a destroyed transport operates as follows:
  1. If the transport has the Explodes ability (or equivalent) roll to see if it explodes and resolve any resulting damage to nearby units.*
  2. All models inside immediately disembark following the standard rules for disembarkation.
  3. Roll a number of D6 equal to the number of models disembarked in this fashion.
  4. Each result of a 1 yields a slain model, and must be allocated to one of the models which disembarked; the controlling player may choose which model.
  5. Remove the destroyed transport model.
* Note that if the transport does explode, units being transported are not affected as they are not yet on the battlefield.

For example, a Razorback is transporting a Tactical Squad of five models and one Space Marine Captain when it is destroyed. The Razorback rolls a 6 for its Explodes ability, inflicting D3 mortal wounds on each unit within 6". The six models inside now disembark, and six D6 are rolled. Two of the results are a 1, so two models are slain – the Space Marine player chooses two of the Space Marines from the Tactical Squad. The Razorback model is now removed from the battlefield.
 Q: The Tactical Reserves matched play rule states that at least half the total number of units in my army must be set up on the battlefield during Deployment. If I have units embarked in a transport, do they count against the number of units I have to set up during Deployment? If, for example, I have a Valkyrie with three units embarked inside it that will arrive on the battlefield during the game, how many other units do I need to set up during Deployment to satisfy the Tactical Reserves rule?
 A
Yes, embarked units count as units in your army, so must be counted when referring to this rule. If you have three units embarked inside a transport that will arrive during the game, you need to set up at least four other units on the battlefield during Deployment – equivalently, if you set up three units in a transport on the battlefield, you could set up four other units to arrive during the game.
 Q: If a transport moves, do any models embarked inside it count as also having moved?
 A
Yes.
 Q: Can a unit that is within 1" of the enemy and entirely within 3" of a friendly Transport embark into that transport without having to move? For example, because they cannot FLY and would have to move through enemy models?
 A
No.
 Q: If a transport with the Open-topped ability (e.g. a Trukk) is within range of an aura ability, are units that are embarked upon that transport affected by that ability?
 A
No.
 Q: Can units embark inside a transport in a phase other than the Movement phase, such as when they are using the Fire and Fade Stratagem from Codex: Craftworlds, or when a unit performs a Soulburst action to move again?
 A
No, unless the rule in question specifically states that the unit can embark inside a TRANSPORT.

Unit and Weapon Abilities

 Q: If I have a weapon that can target enemy units that are not visible to the firer (such as a mortar), can I shoot at an enemy CHARACTER that has a Wounds characteristic of less than 10 if it is not the closest enemy model?
 A
No.
 Q: Lots of aura abilities say they grant an ability to nearby units that are within range of any such models. Are the bonuses cumulative (i.e. if I am within range of two models with identical aura abilities, is the bonus doubled)?
 A
Unless stated otherwise, no. The bonus for such an ability applies once if any (i.e. one or more) of these models are within range.
 Q: Can abilities that are used ‘instead of shooting’, such as Smoke Launchers, be used if the model using them has Fallen Back, Advanced or has enemy models within 1" of it?
 A
Yes. A model can use such an ability so long as it does not shoot – it does not matter whether this is because the model cannot shoot or it chooses not to.
 Q: Some CHARACTERS have aura abilities, such as a Commissar’s Aura of Discipline or a Chaplain’s Spiritual Leader, that allow nearby friendly units to use the character’s Leadership characteristic instead of their own. There are also lots of abilities that modify Leadership characteristics. Could you explain how these rules interact and in what order I should apply the substitution and any modifications?
 A
You modify the Leadership characteristic first, then you use the character’s Leadership characteristic instead (this means that the modification will not affect the unit unless the character’s Leadership has also been modified).
 Q: If both players have units with abilities that allow them to be set up during deployment ‘after both armies are fully deployed’ (e.g. Ratlings’ Find the Best Spot), which player deploys their units first?
 A
The players should roll off and, starting with the winner, they should alternate setting up such units.
 Q: A number of abilities allow a unit to arrive during the battle and be set up more than 9" from any enemy models. If I use such an ability to set up as close as allowed towards an enemy unit and then select it as the target of the charge, what is the minimum charge distance I need to roll to make a successful charge (assuming no modifiers)?
 A
9.
 Q: If a unit uses a rule that removes them from the battlefield and then sets them up again, such as the Teleport Homer ability or the Gate of Infinity psychic power, does that unit count as having moved for the purposes of moving and firing Heavy weapons?
 A
Yes.
 Q: If a unit uses a rule that removes them from the battlefield and then sets them up again, such as the Teleport Homer ability or the Gate of Infinity psychic power, does that unit count as having moved for the purposes of moving and firing Heavy weapons?
 A
Yes. Treat such units as if they are arriving on the battlefield as reinforcements.
 Q: If a unit starts its Movement phase within 1" of an enemy, can it use a rule that removes them from the battlefield and then sets them up again, such as the Teleport Homer ability or the Gate of Infinity psychic power?
 A
Yes.
 Q: If a weapon such as a rail rifle has an ability that can inflict a mortal wound on the target in addition to the normal damage, but the ‘normal damage’ is subsequently saved, does the target still suffer the mortal wound?
 A
Yes. Note that if the ‘normal damage’ was not saved, the wound would be allocated on the target unit first (and any resulting damage inflicted) before the mortal wound was inflicted.
 Q: Some abilities and Stratagems confer extra bonuses each time a hit roll of, for example, 6+ is rolled. If a weapon has an ability that says ‘this weapon automatically hits its target’, do I still roll the hit rolls for those attacks in the hope of gaining such a bonus?
 A
No, no hit rolls are made when resolving attacks with such weapons (and so they will never benefit from such a bonus).
 Q: Some abilities can cause extra hits or wounds on a specific roll e.g. ‘Each hit roll of 6 scores 2 hits instead of 1’ and ‘Each hit roll of 6 scores 1 additional hit on the target’. Are these abilities cumulative?
 A
It depends on the exact wording of the rule in question. Rules that ‘score 2 (or more) hits instead of 1’ are not cumulative. Rules that ‘score 1 (or more) additional hits’ are cumulative. Here are some examples to show how these rules interact:
  1. If a model is affected by two different rules that say that on a hit roll of 6 that attack ‘scores 2 hits instead of 1’ then a hit roll of 6 will still only result in 2 hits being scored against the target unit.
  2. If a model is affected by two different rules that say that on a hit roll of 6 that attack ‘scores 1 additional hit‘ on the target, then a hit roll of 6 will result in 3 hits being scored against the target unit.
  3. If a model is affected by two different rules, one that says that on a hit roll of 6 that attack ‘scores 2 hits instead of 1’ and one that says that on a hit roll of 6 that attack ‘scores 1 additional hit‘ against the target, then a hit roll of 6 will result in 3 hits being scored against the target unit.
 Q: If a rule states that you can choose a unit to ‘fight again’, what does this mean exactly?
 A
Repeat the entire Fight phase for that unit – i.e., choose to fight with the unit, pile in with that unit, choose its target, choose its melee weapon, resolve its close combat attacks, then consolidate with it.
 Q: If a unit has an ability that allows it to fight twice in the Fight phase (e.g. Berzerkers), at what point during the Fight phase do they fight for the second time?
 A
Treat each time the unit is able to fight as a separate unit selected to fight for all purposes.

So, if such a unit charged this turn, it will fight both times before any units that did not charge. If the unit did not charge this turn, then, after all units that did charge have fought, you can select this unit to fight with, then your opponent can select a unit to fight with, then you can select your unit to fight with for the second time (you need not consecutively use both of the unit’s opportunities to fight – unless of course there are no other eligible units to select to fight with).

Note that any rule that interrupts the normal sequence of who fights first (such as the Counter-Offensive Stratagem, or the Slaanesh Daemon Quicksilver Reflexes ability) may be used to fight in between the unit’s first and second ‘fight’.
 Q: If a unit that can fight twice in the Fight phase charges one enemy unit and destroys it during their first ‘fight’ in the subsequent Fight phase, and then consolidates into a second enemy unit, can they then attack that unit during their second ‘fight’?
 A
The charging unit can only make attacks against the second unit if it also declared a charge against it in its charge phase.
 Q: If a unit has an ability that allows it to ‘shoot twice’ (e.g. Maugan Ra’s Whirlwind of Death ability, or an Aggressor Squad’s Fire Storm ability), do I need to shoot the same target each time or can I choose different targets? Do I need to resolve these two shooting attacks back to back?
 A
Unless otherwise stated, you can shoot different targets each time it shoots. The attacks are resolved back to back – resolve the first shooting attack completely before resolving the second.
 Q: If an ability instructs me to resolve an attack with a different characteristic (e.g. a Culexus Assassin’s Etherium ability) does this happen before or after any other modifiers that also apply to that characteristic (e.g. the Drukhari Serpentin Combat Drug)?
 A
When resolving such an attack, change the relevant characteristic to the new value before applying any modifiers to that new value.

In the example above, the Weapon Skill of the model attacking a Culexus Assassin is treated as being 6+ because of the Etherium ability, but the Serpentin then boosts it to 5+.
 Q: If a model is equipped with two chainswords, do they get to make 2 extra close combat attacks?
 A
Yes (though both must be made with a chainsword).
 Q: Can abilities such as Disgustingly Resilient be used to ignore wounds if they were inflicted by mortal wounds?
 A
Yes.
 Q: If a model has an ability that halves damage suffered (rounding up) such as Marneus Calgar’s Armour of Antilochus ability, how is that resolved when I am attacked by several attacks at once? Do I halve the total of all the damage suffered, or do I halve the damage inflicted by each attack separately?
 A
Halve the damage suffered by each attack separately.

Remember that wounds are allocated one at a time. For example, if Marneus Calgar was wounded by four boltgun attacks (Damage characteristic 1) and each saving throw resulted in a failure, Calgar would suffer 0.5 wounds (which is rounded up to 1) four times, and would therefore lose 4 wounds.
 Q: If an ability allows me to add 1 to saving throws, does it apply to both normal saving throws and invulnerable throws?
 A
Yes, unless otherwise stated.

Remember that invulnerable saves are unaffected by the +1 bonus models receive to their saving throws for the benefits of cover.
 Q: If a unit has an ability that allows it to attempt to Deny the Witch (e.g. the Flesh Hounds’ Collar of Khorne, or a Canoptek Spyder’s Gloom Prism), at what range can it attempt to Deny the Witch?
 A
24".
 Q: If a unit has an ability that allows it to attempt to Deny the Witch as if it were a Psyker, is it treated as a Psyker for any other rules purposes?
 A
No.
 Q: A chainsword has the following ability: ‘Each time the bearer fights, it can make 1 additional attack with this weapon’. If, for example, a Khorne Berzerker is armed with a chainsword and chainaxe, does he make two attacks with the chainaxe and then one additional attack with the chainsword, or does he have to split his attacks (making at least one attack with the chainsword) to be able to make the additional attack with the chainsword?
 A
He can make two attacks with the chainaxe, then one additional attack with the chainsword.
 Q: If an ability does not state its effects take place in a ‘friendly’ phase or ‘enemy’ phase, does that mean it works in every such phase (e.g. Mortarion’s Host of Plagues ability, which takes effect ‘at the start of the Fight phase’)?
 A
Yes.
 Q: When a unit has mounts that have a melee profile – for example Thunderwolf Cavalry – can that unit make any attacks they wish to with that mount’s melee profile, or can they only make the additional attacks noted in the weapon profile’s abilities text?
 A
You can only make the additional attacks noted in the abilities text.

Missions

 Q: If the Search and Destroy or Vanguard Strike deployment map is determined, must the deployment zones be located in the exact corners specified on the deployment map?
 A
Yes.
 Q: When measuring distances to or from an objective marker, do you measure diagonally (i.e. counting both vertical and horizontal distances)?
 A
Yes.
 Q: Certain abilities and Stratagems are used ‘before the battle’. When specifically is this?
 A
The game begins when players start the Deployment step of a mission – all abilities and Stratagems that are used ‘before the battle’ must be used before then.

Remember that if both players have ‘before the battle’ abilities they wish to use, and the rules themselves do not explicitly say in which order they should be resolved, the players should roll off – the winner decides in what order they are resolved.
 Q: Is the Deployment step of a mission considered to be a ‘phase’ for the purposes of rules?
 A
No.

Note that this means that the Strategic Discipline matched play rule does not apply to Stratagems that are used during deployment and they can be used as many times as a player wishes, as long as they have enough Command Points to pay for them and the Stratagem does not explicitly say it can only be used ‘once’, or ‘once per battle’.
 Q: Some units have an ability that says that the models in the unit must be deployed at the same time, but thereafter each model is treated as a separate unit (e.g. Vehicle Squadron, Drone Support, etc.). For the purposes of missions that have the First Blood victory condition, if a unit has such an ability, does every model in it need to be destroyed for the opponent to claim First Blood, or just a single model?
 A
The models in such units are each treated as individual units after they have deployed, so destroying a single one of them satisfies the First Blood victory condition.
 Q: For the purposes of the Sudden Death rule, do units that are embarked within transports with the Flyer Battlefield Role count as being on the battlefield?
 A
No.
 Q: If I am playing the Spoils of War mission, and I generate the Priority Orders Received Tactical Objective, which then generates a Secure Objective X Tactical Objective, can my opponent achieve it and/or can I discard it?
 A
Your opponent cannot achieve the Priority Orders Tactical Objective and you can discard it as you normally would.
 Q: Can a unit with the Fortifications Battlefield Role control an objective marker?
 A
Yes, so long as it is considered to be a friendly unit (such as a BUILDING). Note that this means that Fortifications like Feculent Gnarlmaws cannot control objective markers.
 Q: Are Teleport Homers or Infestation Nodes friendly models? Can they control objective markers?
 A
No to both questions.
 Q: If my opponent’s Warlord was slain during the battle, but has an ability, Stratagem etc. that has allowed it to be set back up again during the battle, do I score the victory point for the Slay the Warlord victory condition?
 A
You only score this victory condition if the Warlord is destroyed at the end of the battle.

Organised Events

The updated Organised Events guidelines table restricts the number of times a particular datasheet can be included in your army. A few common questions have arisen from this:
 Q: Some units, like Carnifexes and Leman Russ Battle Tanks, can contain up to 3 models each, but after they are set up on the battlefield, they each become individual units. How many of these models can I include in my army if I’m using the Organised Events guidelines for, say, a 2,000 point game?
 A
You can include up to 3 units in a 2,000 point game, meaning you could include up to 9 of these models.
 Q: Do Tactical Drones that are taken as upgrades for certain T’au Empire units (e.g. XV8 Crisis Battlesuits, XV25 Stealth Battlesuits etc.) count as units for the purposes of the Organised Events guidelines, and so count towards the number of Tactical Drones units (i.e. the Fast Attack choice) I can include?
 A
No.
 Q: Are the Daemon Prince datasheet from Codex: Chaos Space Marines, the Daemon Prince of Chaos datasheet from Codex: Chaos Daemons, the Daemon Prince of Nurgle datasheet from Codex: Death Guard, and the Daemon Prince of Tzeentch datasheet from Codex: Thousand Sons all considered different datasheets for the purposes of the Organised Events guidelines?
 A
No. For the purposes of these guidelines all these datasheets are all considered to be the same.
 Q: Are the Heavy Weapons Squad datasheet from Codex: Astra Militarum, the Death Korps Heavy Weapons Squad datasheet from Imperial Armour – Index: Forces of the Astra Militarum, the Elysian Heavy Weapons Squad datasheet from Imperial Armour – Index: Forces of the Astra Militarum, and the Renegade Heavy Weapons Squad datasheet from Imperial Armour – Index: Forces of the Astra Militarum considered to be a different datasheet for the purposes of the Organised Events guidelines?
 A
No. For the purposes of these guidelines all these datasheets are all considered to be the same.
 Q: Is the Cult Leman Russ datasheet from Codex: Genestealer Cults, and the Leman Russ datasheet from Codex: Astra Militarum considered to be a different datasheet for the purposes of the Organised Events guidelines? What about Cult Scout Sentinels and Scout Sentinels, Cult Armoured Sentinels and Armoured Sentinels, Brood Brothers Infantry Squads and Infantry Squads, and Brood Brothers Heavy Weapons Squads and Heavy Weapons Squads?
 A
No. If by deleting the word ‘Cult’ or ‘Brood Brothers’ from the datasheet’s title in Codex: Genestealer Cults they match another datasheet, then for the purposes of these guidelines those datasheets are considered to be the same.

Designers’ Commentary

 Q: Can a model take the same wargear option more than once? For example, can a Space Marine Terminator replace his storm bolter with a cyclone missile launcher and another storm bolter, and then replace its ‘new’ storm bolter with a heavy flamer?
 A
No. Each bullet-pointed wargear option on a unit’s datasheet can only be used once each time you include that unit in your army.
 Q: If a rule modifies a model’s Strength characteristic, and that model is equipped with a melee weapon that also has a modifier (e.g. ‘x2’), could you explain the order in which the modifiers are applied to the characteristics and the weapon’s Strength?
 A
First you must determine the model’s current Strength characteristic. To do so apply all modifiers to it that multiply or divide the value, then apply any that add or subtract to it. Having done this, you then modify this value as described by the weapon’s Strength characteristic.

For example, let’s imagine a model with a basic Strength characteristic of 3 is under the effects of two psychic powers: a friendly one that doubles their Strength characteristic, and an enemy one that subtracts 1 from their Strength characteristic. That model’s current Strength is therefore 5. If this model then fights with a weapon like a power fist, which has a Strength characteristic of ‘x2’, that attack will therefore be resolved at Strength 10.
 Q: Are modifiers to dice rolls cumulative in the same way that modifiers to characteristics are?
 A
Yes.

For example, if a model has the benefit of cover (+1 to its saving throw) and is wounded by a plasma pistol (AP -3, so -3 to its saving throw), the total modifier to the model’s saving throw will be -2.
 Q: Can a dice roll ever be modified above 6?
 A
Yes.

Note that in some cases, a roll will only be successful on rolls of 7+. Poxwalkers, for example, have a Save characteristic of 7+, meaning that without at least a +1 modifier to their saving throw (such as that gained from cover) they will not be able to pass the roll.
 Q: Can a dice roll ever be modified to less than 1?
 A
No. If, after all modifiers have been applied, a dice roll would be less than 1, count that result as a 1.
 Q: If a rule or ability grants a re-roll on, for example, ‘hit rolls of 1’ (such as a Space Marine Captain’s Rites of Battle ability) does that effect trigger before or after applying modifiers to the hit rolls?
 A
Re-rolls always happen before modifiers, so the re-roll ability is triggered before applying modifiers.

For example, let’s imagine a Space Marine (Ballistic Skill 3+) moves and fires a heavy bolter (a Heavy 3 weapon) whilst within range of a Space Marine Captain’s Rites of Battle ability (allowing you to re-roll hit rolls of 1).

The hit dice are rolled and result in a 1, 2 and 5.

Re-rolls are applied before modifiers. In this example a single dice is re-rolled because of the Captain’s ability, this time resulting in a 3.

Modifiers are applied after re-rolls. In this example there is a -1 modifier to the hit rolls for moving and firing a Heavy weapon. That means that the post-re-roll scores of 2, 3 and 5 are modified to 1, 2 and 4. Comparing the final results to the model’s Ballistic Skill, only one shot hits the target.
 Q: When making a hit roll with a supercharged plasma weapon, do you determine whether a ‘1’ was rolled before or after applying re-rolls and modifiers?
 A
You apply all re-rolls and modifiers first.

For example, if, after re-rolls and modifiers, the final result is then a 1 (or counts as a 1, as explained above), then the supercharged plasma weapon injures or kills the firer.
 Q: If a rule states that an ability triggers on, for example, ‘hit rolls of 6+’, does this refer to the result of the dice rolls before or after modifiers are applied?
 A
It refers to the final result, after re-rolls and modifiers (if any) have been applied.

The only exception to this would be abilities that specifically state, for example, ‘unmodified hit rolls of 6’, or ‘hit rolls of 6 before modifiers are applied.’
 Q: Can I use the Command Re-roll Stratagem to re-roll a dice roll made by my opponent?
 A
No.

Note that the rules assume that a player always rolls their own dice (instead of asking their opponent, for example, to roll hit rolls, saving throws, etc. on their behalf). That being the case, you can only use the above-mentioned Stratagem to affect dice rolls you make, and not those made by your opponent.
 Q: What happens if a unit that has become split up during battle cannot re-establish unit coherency the next time it moves?
 A
In this case the unit cannot move.

Note that the rules concerning unit coherency apply any time that a unit is moved, including charging, piling in, consolidating, etc. Again, if a unit cannot end such a move in unit coherency, it cannot make the move.
 Q: Can CHARACTERS only perform a Heroic Intervention against enemy units that charged this turn, or can they do so against any enemy unit?
 A
They can do so against any enemy unit.

Note that they can only do so if they end up closer to the nearest enemy model, whether it charged this turn or not.
 Q: Some CHARACTER units can include non-CHARACTER models – the Genestealer Cults Patriarch and its Familiar ‘upgrade’, for example. Can such a unit be shot at even if it isn’t the closest visible enemy unit?
 A
No. The restrictions on targeting CHARACTERS applies to a unit whilst any model in the unit has the CHARACTER keyword (and none have 10 or more wounds).

For example, if a Patriarch takes a Familiar as an upgrade, the Patriarch is a CHARACTER, but the Familiar is not. Neither has 10 or more Wounds. Enemies can therefore only target the pair if they are the closest visible enemy models. If the Patriarch is slain and the Familiar is not, enemy units could then target the Familiar freely.
 Q: If a model cannot shoot at the closest visible enemy unit for some reason (e.g. it is within 1" of one of your units) but the next closest visible enemy unit is a CHARACTER, can that model then target the character?
 A
No.
 Q: When rolling for abilities such as ‘Disgustingly Resilient’ or ‘Tenacious Survivor’ against attacks which inflict multiple wounds, do you roll to ignore each individual wound inflicted by the attack, or do you roll only once to ignore all the wounds inflicted by the attack?
 A
Roll to avoid each wound lost separately.

For example, if a model with Disgustingly Resilient fails its saving throw against an attack made by a thunder hammer (Damage 3), you would roll three dice and for each result of 5+ you would ignore a single wound.
 Q: When determining whether a model benefits from cover, does the model’s entire unit need to be fully on or within terrain, or just the model making a particular saving throw?
 A
All of the models in a unit need to be at least partially on or within terrain if any of the models are to receive the +1 bonus to their saving throw.

Note, however, that it is possible for a unit to gain the benefit of cover as it suffers casualties during the Shooting phase by removing those models that are not on, or within terrain. As soon as the last model that was not on or within terrain is slain, the rest of the unit immediately starts to receive the benefit of cover.
 Q: What happens when a model fires a weapon that can shoot at targets that are not visible to it (such as a mortar) at a target it cannot see, if the target unit is within range of a piece of terrain that grants it the benefits of cover only when it is obscured by a certain amount from the point of view of the firer (such as a unit within 3" of Imperial Statuary)?
 A
The unit receives the benefit of cover.
 Q: Is a unit’s charge roll the same thing as its charge distance?
 A
Yes.
 Q: Can you declare charges against units that are not visible to the charging unit?
 A
Yes.

Note however that the unit being charged still obeys the normal rules for targeting when it fires Overwatch, and so, if a model cannot see the charging unit, it will not be able to fire Overwatch.
 Q: If any of your units are eligible to fight in the Fight phase, can you choose for them not to fight this turn? Also, if any of your units charged in the Charge phase, do they have to fight first in the Fight phase, or can you choose for them to wait until later in the phase?
 A
All eligible units must fight in the Fight phase; they cannot ‘pass’ and wait for another phase. Additionally, a unit must fight when it is its time to do so; it cannot ‘hold’ in order to fight later in the phase. So if a unit charged in the preceding Charge phase, it must fight before any non-charging models in the Fight phase (barring any related abilities).

Note that when a model fights, it must do all of its close combat attacks if it can do so – you cannot choose for it not to do so (though you can still choose which weapon it uses for each close combat attack).
 Q: If a unit starts the Fight phase within 1" of an enemy unit but, due to casualties suffered and models removed, it is no longer within 1" of any enemy units later in the phase, can it still be chosen to fight?
 A
No, unless the unit in question charged this turn it cannot be chosen to fight if there are no longer enemy units within 1". Note that it is possible – if heavy enough casualties have been incurred – that even a unit that did charge may not be close enough, even after a pile-in move, to make close combat attacks. It can still, of course, consolidate.
 Q: If a unit starts the Fight phase with no enemy units within 1", but then enemy units that have been chosen to fight move to within 1" of it as a result of their pile-in or consolidation moves, can that unit then be chosen to fight when it is your turn to choose a unit?
 A
Yes.

Note, however, that units can only be chosen to fight once per phase.
 Q: When piling in and consolidating, does a model have to move as close as possible towards the nearest enemy model, or do they just need to move closer to it?
 A
If a model moves at all when piling in or consolidating, it only has to end its move closer to the nearest enemy model than where it started. It is not necessary to move as close as possible (i.e. base-to-base contact).

Note that if a model is in base-to-base contact, it cannot possibly end a move closer to the enemy, and so cannot move when its unit piles in or consolidates.
 Q: If a unit piles in or consolidates into a unit it didn’t declare a charge against in the preceding Charge phase, does that unit get to fire Overwatch?
 A
No.

Remember though that units that charged can only make close combat attacks against units that they declared the charge against, even if pile-in moves, etc. bring them within 1" of a different unit.
 Q: When is a unit considered to be ‘completely destroyed’ or ‘wiped out’?
 A
These two terms are used synonymously. A unit is considered to be completely destroyed when the last model in that unit is destroyed (also referred to as slain) or flees.
 Q: Which player rolls the D6 to see if a vehicle explodes, or if a monster has death throes, etc. when it is destroyed?
 A
The player whose model has been destroyed rolls the D6.
 Q: In missions where players alternate deploying units, do units that are set up somewhere other than the battlefield still count as a player’s deployment choice? What about units that begin the battle embarked within a transport?
 A
Units with abilities on their datasheets that allow them to be set up somewhere other than the battlefield must still be ‘set up’ in that locale, and so still count as a deployment choice. When you choose to set up a transport, declare what units (if any) are embarked inside – these are not separate deployment choices.

For example, two players are deploying their armies for the Only War mission. The mission instructs them to alternate deploying their units. Player A starts by setting up a unit of Ork Boyz on the battlefield. Player B then sets up a unit of Intercessors on the battlefield. Player A then sets up a Battlewagon on the battlefield – as it is a transport, Player A declares it will start the battle with a Warboss and a unit of Tankbustas embarked inside. Player B then sets up a unit of Terminators, but uses their Teleport Strike ability to set them up in a teleportarium chamber instead of on the battlefield. Player A then sets up their next unit, and so on.
 Q: Can a Battle-forged army ever have fewer than 0 Command Points?
 A
No.

Regardless of how many Auxiliary Support Detachments you take, you can never start a battle with fewer than 0 Command Points.
 Q: What is the difference between a unit’s Power Rating and its points value? Can I play a matched play game using my army’s Power Level instead of its points total? Can I play a narrative play mission using a points total?
 A
A unit’s Power Rating is a measure of its efficacy on the battlefield. The higher the Power Rating, the more powerful the unit. An army’s Power Level is calculated by adding up the Power Ratings of all the units in the army, so an army with a high Power Level is more powerful than one with a low Power Level.

Power Ratings are designed to give players, at a glance, an idea of how mighty a unit is on the battlefield, irrespective of the weapons and wargear it can take (they are actually based on a calculation of the unit’s average value, after considering all possible combinations of weapons and wargear the unit can have). They can therefore be used as a quick guide to establish the comparative might of each army, and are intended primarily for open and narrative play games.

Points values are similar, but are designed specifically with matched play in mind because they offer more granularity. Whilst it takes a little longer to work out each unit’s points value, doing so enables you to differentiate between two similar squads equipped with different weapon options, as the points values listed in our books reflect the fact that some weapons are more powerful than others.There is a relationship between the two – a unit with a high Power Rating will also have a high points value. As a result, it is perfectly legitimate to play a matched play game using Power Ratings instead of points values. Likewise, if you wish to use points values in a narrative or open play game, you can. We recommend both players use the same method as each other, but as long as you both agree, you can decide which method you prefer to use.
 Q: If I can choose a keyword for a unit, such as <REGIMENT> for Astra Militarum, could I choose that keyword to be, for example ‘Blood Angels’ or ‘Death Guard’?
 A
No.

In the example above, ‘Blood Angels’ is a Chapter of the Adeptus Astartes and ‘Death Guard’ is a Legion of the Heretic Astartes – neither of which are Regiments of the Astra Militarum.
 Q: If I create an Astra Militarum Regiment of my own and name them, for example, the ‘Emperor’s Finest’, and I then also create an Adeptus Astartes Chapter of my own choosing, and also call them the ‘Emperor’s Finest’, do the abilities that work on the and/or keywords now work on both the Astra Militarum and Adeptus Astartes units?
 A
No.

The intent of naming Regiments, Chapters, etc. of your own creation is to personalise your collections and not to enable players to circumvent the restrictions on what abilities affect what units. It is also not intended to circumvent the restrictions on which units are able to be included in the same Detachment.
 Q: When a model does not have a base, as is the case with many vehicles, what exactly is the ‘hull’ of the model?
 A
The hull of these models refers to the main body of the model. It does not include things such as turrets, sponsons, aerials, banners, spikes etc. If there is still doubt, we recommend both players agree about what constitutes the hull of such models before the battle begins.
 Q: What is the difference between a keyword and a Faction keyword?
 A
The only real difference is that Faction keywords are used when building an army; when Battle-forging an army, for instance, you will often only be able to include units in the same detachment if they share the same Faction keyword. Also, if you are playing a matched play game, you will need to have an Army Faction – this is a Faction keyword that is shared by all of the units in your entire army (with the exception of those that are Unaligned). Once the battle has begun, there is no functional difference between a keyword and a Faction keyword.

For example, when creating a Battle-forged army for matched play, I take two Patrol Detachments; the first contains only units with the HERETIC ASTARTES Faction keyword, and the second contains only units with the DAEMON Faction keyword. My Army Faction is ‘CHAOS’ because this is a Faction keyword every unit in the entire army shares.

Once the battle has begun, the distinction between keywords and Faction keywords no longer has any effect – both are used to interact with abilities identically. Imagine, then, that the HERETIC ASTARTES Detachment contains a unit of Possessed (which does not have the DAEMON Faction keyword, but does have the DAEMON keyword), and I choose for them to replace their <MARK OF CHAOS> keyword with KHORNE. If the DAEMON Detachment contained a Herald of Khorne, his ability to ‘add 1 to the Strength characteristic of all KHORNE DAEMONS’ would also apply to the unit of Possessed, as they have both the KHORNE and DAEMON keywords.
 Q: Several missions refer to different types of victory – minor victory, major victory, heroic victory, etc. Do the different types of victory mean anything?
 A
Only for determining bragging rights post-battle.
 Q: Does the pluralisation (or not) of a keyword make any difference to which units the rule applies to (e.g. Terminator vs. Terminators)?
 A
No.

What Datasheet Rules Should I Use?

Use the following flowchart to determine which datasheet to use for your models. Note that regardless of which datasheet you use, if you are playing a matched play game, or a game that uses a points limit, you should always use the most recently published points for your models and their weapons and wargear.


For example, if you wished to use a Commissar with a power axe, you would check if the codex – Codex: Astra Militarum – has a datasheet for Commissars. It does, so you would use this datasheet – however, it does not support the wargear options which allow him to replace his power sword with a power axe, so you would use the Commissar wargear options from Index: Imperium 2.

Similarly, as Codex: Astra Militarum does not have a weapon profile for the power axe, you would use the one found in Index: Imperium 2.

When coming to calculate the points cost, the Commissar himself and the bolt pistol have points in Codex: Astra Militarum, so you would use those alongside the cost for the power axe from Index: Imperium 2.

Alternatively, if you wished to field an Autarch model with a banshee mask, you would use the Autarch datasheet from Codex: Craftworlds alongside the appropriate wargear option from Index: Xenos 1.

Codex: Craftworlds contains rules and points costs for all your Autarch’s wargear, so you would use these in place of the ones from Index: Xenos 1.
Deny the Witch Test
A psyker can attempt to resist a psychic power that has been manifested by an enemy model within 24" by taking a Deny the Witch test – this takes place immediately, even though it is not your turn. To do so, roll 2D6. If the total is greater than the result of the Psychic test that manifested the power, it has been resisted and its effects are negated. Only one attempt to deny each successfully manifested psychic power can be made each turn, regardless of the number of psykers you have within 24" of the enemy model manifesting the psychic power.
Psychic Test
A psyker can attempt to manifest a psychic power they know by taking a Psychic test. To do so, roll 2D6. If the total is equal to or greater than that power’s warp charge value, the power is successfully manifested. A psyker cannot attempt to manifest the same psychic power more than once in a turn.
Terrain and Cover
The battlefields of the far future are littered with terrain features such as ruins, craters and twisted copses. Models can take shelter within such terrain features to gain protection against incoming weapons’ fire.

If a unit is entirely on or within any terrain feature, add 1 to its models’ saving throws against shooting attacks to represent the cover received from the terrain (invulnerable saves are unaffected). Units gain no benefit from cover in the Fight phase.
Overwatch
Each time a charge is declared against a unit, the target unit can immediately fire Overwatch at the would-be attacker. A target unit can potentially fire Overwatch several times a turn, though it cannot fire if there are any enemy models within 1" of it. Overwatch is resolved like a normal shooting attack (albeit one resolved in the enemy’s Charge phase) and uses all the normal rules except that a 6 is always required for a successful hit roll, irrespective of the firing model’s Ballistic Skill or any modifiers.
Units and Unit Coherency
Models move and fight in units, made up of one or more models. A unit must be set up and finish any sort of move as a group, with every model within 2" horizontally, and 6" vertically, of at least one other model from their unit: this is called unit coherency. If anything causes a unit to become split up during a battle, it must re-establish its unit coherency the next time it moves.
Pile In Move
You may move each model in the unit up to 3" – this move can be in any direction so long as the model ends the move closer to the nearest enemy model.
Characters
Some models are noted as being a Character on their datasheet. These heroes, officers, prophets and warlords are powerful individuals that can have a great impact on the course of a battle. The swirling maelstrom of the battlefield can make it difficult to pick out such individuals as targets, however.

An enemy CHARACTER with a Wounds characteristic of less than 10 can only be chosen as a target in the Shooting phase if it is both visible to the firing model and it is the closest enemy unit to the firing model. Ignore other enemy CHARACTERS with a Wounds characteristics of less than 10 when determining if the target is the closest enemy unit to the firing model.

This means that if any other enemy units (other than other CHARACTERS with a Wounds characteristics of less than 10) are closer, whether they are visible or not, then the enemy CHARACTER cannot be targeted.
Smite
Smite has a warp charge value of 5. If manifested, the closest visible enemy unit within 18" of the psyker suffers D3 mortal wounds. If the result of the Psychic test was more than 10, the target suffers D6 mortal wounds instead.
Advancing
When you pick a unit to move in the Movement phase, you can declare that it will Advance. Roll a dice and add the result to the Move characteristics of all models in the unit for that Movement phase. A unit that Advances can’t shoot or charge later that turn.
Falling Back
Units starting the Movement phase within 1" of an enemy unit can either remain stationary or Fall Back. If you choose to Fall Back, the unit must end its move more than 1" away from all enemy units. If a unit Falls Back, it cannot Advance (see below), or charge later that turn. A unit that Falls Back also cannot shoot later that turn unless it can Fly.
Hit Roll
Each time a model makes an attack, roll a dice. If the roll is equal to or greater than the attacking model’s Ballistic Skill characteristic, then it scores a hit with the weapon it is using. If not, the attack fails and the attack sequence ends. A roll of 1 always fails, irrespective of any modifiers that may apply.
Wound Roll
WOUND ROLL
ATTACK’S STRENGTH VS TARGET’S TOUGHNESSD6 ROLL REQUIRED
Is the Strength
TWICE (or more)
than the Toughness?
2+
Is the Strength
GREATER
than the Toughness?
3+
Is the Strength
EQUAL
to the Toughness?
4+
Is the Strength
LOWER
than the Toughness?
5+
Is the Strength
HALF (or less)
than the Toughness?
6+
If an attack scores a hit, you will then need to roll another dice to see if the attack successfully wounds the target. The roll required is determined by comparing the attacking weapon’s Strength characteristic with the target’s Toughness characteristic, as shown on the table to the right:

If the roll is less than the required number, the attack fails and the attack sequence ends. A roll of 1 always fails, irrespective of any modifiers that may apply.
Mob Rule

The more Orks in one place, the more the Waaagh! energy flows, and the more fearless they all become.

When using the Leadership characteristic of this unit, you can use either its own Leadership characteristic, or you can choose for the characteristic to be equal to either the number of models in the unit or the number of models in another friendly unit within 6" that has this ability.
Morale Test

Even the bravest heart may quail when the horrors of battle take their toll.

In the Morale phase, starting with the player whose turn it is, players must take Morale tests for units from their army that have had models slain during the turn.

To take a Morale test, roll a dice and add the number of models from the unit that have been slain this turn. If the result of the Morale test exceeds the highest Leadership characteristic in the unit, the test is failed. For each point that the test is failed by, one model in that unit must flee and is removed from play. You choose which models flee from the units you command.
Psyker
Some models are noted as being a Psyker on their datasheet. Psykers can manifest their otherworldly abilities and attempt to deny enemy sorceries. The powers a psyker knows, and the number of powers they can attempt to manifest or deny each Psychic phase, are detailed on their datasheet.
Strength from Death
This ability is common to all YNNARI INFANTRY and YNNARI BIKER units and the Yncarne. Each time a unit is completely destroyed within 7" of one or more units with this ability, except in the Morale phase, pick one of those units to make a Soulburst action. That unit can immediately do one of the following, even if it has already done so in this turn:
  • The unit can move as if it were your Movement phase. It can Advance or Fall Back as part of this move.
  • The unit can, if it is a PSYKER, immediately attempt to manifest a single psychic power as if it were the Psychic phase.
  • The unit can shoot as if it were your Shooting phase, even if it Advanced or Fell Back this turn.
  • The unit can charge as if it were the Charge phase, even if it Advanced or Fell Back this turn (enemy units can fire Overwatch as normal). A unit cannot do this if it is within 1" of an enemy unit.
  • The unit can fight as if it were the Fight phase.
Note that this means that a unit may be able to shoot or fight twice in the same turn.

A unit can only make a Soulburst action once per turn.

Matched Play: If you are playing a matched play game, a unit from your army cannot make a Soulburst action if a friendly unit has already made the same Soulburst action during your turn. In addition, units from your army cannot perform any Soulburst actions during your opponent’s turn.
Roll-offs
Some rules instruct players to roll off. To do so, both players roll a D6, and whoever scores highest wins the roll-off. In the case of a tie, both players re-roll their D6; this is the only time players can reroll a re-roll – if the second and subsequent rolls are also tied, keep on rolling until a winner is decided.
PISTOL

Pistols are carried one-handed and can even be used in a melee to shoot at point-blank range. Many warriors carry one as a sidearm, alongside their primary weapon.

A model can fire a Pistol even if there are enemy units within 1" of its own unit, but it must target the closest enemy unit. In such circumstances, the model can shoot its Pistol even if other friendly units are within 1" of the same enemy unit.

Each time a model equipped with both a Pistol and another type of ranged weapon (e.g. a Pistol and a Rapid Fire weapon) shoots, it can either shoot with its Pistol(s) or with all of its other weapons. Choose which it will fire (Pistols or non-Pistols) before making hit rolls.
HEAVY

Heavy weapons are the biggest and deadliest guns on the battlefield, but require reloading, careful set-up or bracing to fire at full effect.

If a model with a Heavy weapon moved in its preceding Movement phase, you must subtract 1 from any hit rolls made when firing that weapon this turn.
Mortal Wounds
Some attacks inflict mortal wounds – these are so powerful that no armour or force field can withstand their fury. Each mortal wound inflicts one point of damage on the target unit. Do not make a wound roll or saving throw (including invulnerable saves) against a mortal wound – just allocate it as you would any other wound and inflict damage to a model in the target unit as described above. Unlike normal attacks, excess damage from attacks that inflict mortal wounds is not lost. Instead keep allocating damage to another model in the target unit until either all the damage has been allocated or the target unit is destroyed.
Daemonic Ritual

Through dark pacts and blasphemous rituals, a champion of Chaos weakens the fabric of reality, opening a gateway to the warp through which daemonic allies can pour to rend and tear the enemies of the Dark Gods.

Instead of moving in their Movement phase, any CHAOS CHARACTER can, at the end of their Movement phase, attempt to summon a unit with this ability by performing a Daemonic Ritual (the character cannot do so if they arrived as reinforcements this turn, or if they themselves have been summoned to the battlefield this turn).

If they do so, first choose one of the four Chaos Gods – KHORNE, TZEENTCH, NURGLE or SLAANESH. A CHARACTER who owes allegiance to one of the Dark Gods can only attempt to summon the units of their patron – for example, a KHORNE CHARACTER could only attempt to summon a KHORNE unit.

Roll up to three D6 – this is your summoning roll. You can summon one new unit with the Daemonic Ritual ability to the battlefield that has a Power Rating equal to or less than the total result so long as it has the same Chaos God keyword you chose at the start. This unit is treated as reinforcements for your army and can be placed anywhere on the battlefield that is wholly within 12" of the character and more than 9" from any enemy model. If the total rolled is insufficient to summon any unit, the ritual fails and no new unit is summoned.

If your summoning roll included any doubles, your character then suffers 1 mortal wound. If it contained any triples, it instead suffers D3 mortal wounds.
Heroic Intervention
After the enemy has completed all of their charge moves, any of your Characters that are within 3" of an enemy unit may perform a Heroic Intervention. Any that do so can move up to 3", so long as they end the move closer to the nearest enemy model.
Disgustingly Resilient

Those favoured by Nurgle are inured to pain, their rotting bodies shrugging off all but the most traumatic damage with ease.

Each time a model with this ability loses a wound, roll a dice; on a 5+, the model does not lose that wound.
Invulnerable Saves
Some models possess supernatural reflexes or are protected by force fields that grant them an invulnerable save. Each time a wound is allocated to a model with an invulnerable save, you can choose to use either its normal Save characteristic or its invulnerable save, but not both. If a model has more than one invulnerable save, it can only use one of them – choose which it will use. If you use a model’s invulnerable save, it is never modified by a weapon’s Armour Penetration value.
Re-rolls
Some rules allow you to re-roll a dice roll, which means you get to roll some or all of the dice again. If a rule allows you to re-roll a result that was made by adding several dice together (e.g. 2D6, 3D6, etc.) then, unless otherwise stated, you must roll all of those dice again. You can never re-roll a dice more than once, and re-rolls happen before modifiers (if any) are applied.
© Vyacheslav Maltsev 2013-2019