Wahapedia8 site header

The Ynnari, known as the Reborn, are a rising force in the galaxy. They believe the Aeldari can be saved from the brink of oblivion by the rise of Ynnead, the God of the Dead, whose powers they harness to draw upon the energies of the slain.

This section contains all of the datasheets that you will need in order to fight battles with your Ynnari miniatures. Each datasheet includes the characteristics profiles of the unit it describes, as well as any wargear and abilities it may have. Some rules are common to several Ynnari units – these are described below and are referenced on the datasheets.

Books

BookKindEditionVersionLast update
► Xenos 1Index81.4September 2018

FAQ

Index: Xenos 1

 Q: When an AELDARI PSYKER become Ynnari and gains the Ynnari keyword, do they also gain access to powers from the Revenant Discipline?
 A
No. Only Yvraine and the Yncarne generate their psychic powers from this discipline.
 Q: If a transport is destroyed whilst an YNNARI unit is embarked inside, can that unit make a Soulburst action after it disembarks?
 A
No.
 Q: Can any YNNARI unit embark on any YNNARI transport?
 A
No. Whilst both units have gained the YNNARI keyword, the Transport ability on the transport’s datasheet does not change. So, for example, an Ynnari Starweaver can still only transport ‘6 <MASQUE> Infantry models’.
 Q: If I use a Soulburst action to charge with a YNNARI unit outside of the Charge phase, can my opponent’s CHARACTERS perform a Heroic Intervention after I have made a charge move with my unit?
 A
No.
 Q: Can Yvraine, the Visarch or the Yncarne have a Warlord Trait? If so, what Warlord Traits can they have?
 A
Yes. They can only have one of the Warlord Traits listed in the Warhammer 40,000 rulebook (unless you are playing an expansion such as Planetstrike, Stronghold Assault etc., in which case they would also have access to the Warlord Traits listed there).
 Q: If I include Yvraine, the Visarch or the Yncarne in a Craftworlds, Drukhari or Harlequins Detachment, do I still have access to the all the Stratagems in that Detachment’s codex (Craftworlds, Drukhari or Harlequins respectively)?
 A
Yes, provided the Detachment in question is not an Auxiliary Support Detachment.
 Q: If Yvraine, the Visarch or the Yncarne is my Warlord, do I still get a free ‘relic’? For example, if Yvraine is my Warlord and is part of a Harlequins Detachment, does she count as a HARLEQUINS unit for the purposes of giving one HARLEQUINS CHARACTER in my army an Enigma of the Black Library?
 A
No. You can, however, if your army includes the appropriate Detachment(s), use the Prizes from the Dark City, Treasures of the Craftworld and/or Enigmas of the Black Library Stratagems to give ‘relics’ to your Characters.

Army of the Reborn

If your army is Battle-forged and the Warlord of your army is either Yvraine, the Visarch or the Yncarne then you can include any of these models in any Craftworlds, Harlequins or Drukhari Detachment (as defined in their respective codexes), provided that the Detachment does not include any of the following: Urien Rakarth, Drazhar, Mandrakes, the Avatar of Khaine or any <HAEMONCULUS COVEN> units. You can include these models in the Detachment even if you are using the Battle Brothers matched play rule.

If Yvraine, the Visarch or the Yncarne is included in a Detachment, all AELDARI units in that Detachment gain the YNNARI keyword. These units cannot use any of the following abilities, and are not considered to have them: Ancient Doom, Battle Focus, Rising Crescendo, Power From Pain. Instead, YNNARI INFANTRY and BIKER units gain the Strength from Death ability, as described below. The Detachment is still considered to be a Craftworlds, Harlequins or Drukhari Detachment, and so can use Craftworlds, Harlequins or Drukhari Stratagems, Warlord Traits and Relics respectively. Note that these units will not, however, gain any of the Detachment abilities listed in their respective codexes (such as The Path of War, Craftworld Attributes, Masque Forms, Drukhari Obsessions, etc.).

Abilities

The following abilities are common to several YNNARI units:

Strength from Death

This ability is common to all YNNARI INFANTRY and YNNARI BIKER units and the Yncarne. Each time a unit is completely destroyed within 7" of one or more units with this ability, except in the Morale phase, pick one of those units to make a Soulburst action. That unit can immediately do one of the following, even if it has already done so in this turn:
  • The unit can move as if it were your Movement phase. It can Advance or Fall Back as part of this move.
  • The unit can, if it is a PSYKER, immediately attempt to manifest a single psychic power as if it were the Psychic phase.
  • The unit can shoot as if it were your Shooting phase, even if it Advanced or Fell Back this turn.
  • The unit can charge as if it were the Charge phase, even if it Advanced or Fell Back this turn (enemy units can fire Overwatch as normal). A unit cannot do this if it is within 1" of an enemy unit.
  • The unit can fight as if it were the Fight phase.
Note that this means that a unit may be able to shoot or fight twice in the same turn.

A unit can only make a Soulburst action once per turn.

Matched Play: If you are playing a matched play game, a unit from your army cannot make a Soulburst action if a friendly unit has already made the same Soulburst action during your turn. In addition, units from your army cannot perform any Soulburst actions during your opponent’s turn.

Ynnead’s Will

Units with this ability can embark onto any AELDARI TRANSPORT, even though the transport in question might normally only permit models with other Faction keywords to do so. All other restrictions apply normally.

Revenant Discipline

Before the battle, generate the psychic powers for PSYKERS that can use powers from the Revenant discipline using the table below. You can either roll a D3 to generate their powers randomly (re-roll any duplicate results), or you can select the psychic powers you wish the psyker to have.

REVENANT DISCIPLINE
D3PSYCHIC POWER
1Gaze of Ynnead
Gaze of Ynnead has a warp charge value of 8. If manifested, select a visible enemy unit within 18" of the psyker and roll a D6. On a 1, that unit suffers a mortal wound. On a 2-5 that unit suffers D3 mortal wounds. On a 6, that unit suffers D6 mortal wounds.
2Ancestors’ Grace
Ancestors’ Grace has a warp charge value of 5. If manifested, select a friendly YNNARI unit within 18" of the psyker. Until the start of your next Psychic phase, you can re-roll hit rolls of 1 for that unit.
3Word of the Phoenix
Word of the Phoenix has a warp charge value of 8. If manifested, select one of the following friendly units within 18" of the psyker that has not made a Soulburst action this turn: an YNNARI INFANTRY unit, an YNNARI BIKER unit or the Yncarne. That unit can immediately make a Soulburst action (see Strength from Death).

Reference


Wargear


Melee Weapons

WEAPON
RANGE
TYPE
S
AP
D
ABILITIES
Asu-var, the Sword of Silent Screams
Melee
Melee
+2
-3
D3
Enemy units that suffer any unsaved wounds from this weapon subtract 1 from their Leadership until the end of the turn.
Kha-vir, the Sword of Sorrows
Melee
Melee
+1
-2
D3
-
Vilith-zhar, the Sword of Souls
Melee
Melee
User
-4
D6
You can re-roll failed wound rolls for this weapon.

The profiles using AELDARI and PSYKER keywords can be found in following Factions:

Aeldari: Craftworlds, Harlequins, Ynnari.

The AELDARI and PSYKER keywords are used in following datasheets:

HQ
• Yvraine
HQ
• Farseer
• Warlock
Flyers
HQ
Elites
Morale Test

Even the bravest heart may quail when the horrors of battle take their toll.

In the Morale phase, starting with the player whose turn it is, players must take Morale tests for units from their army that have had models slain during the turn.

To take a Morale test, roll a dice and add the number of models from the unit that have been slain this turn. If the result of the Morale test exceeds the highest Leadership characteristic in the unit, the test is failed. For each point that the test is failed by, one model in that unit must flee and is removed from play. You choose which models flee from the units you command.
Advancing
When you pick a unit to move in the Movement phase, you can declare that it will Advance. Roll a dice and add the result to the Move characteristics of all models in the unit for that Movement phase. A unit that Advances can’t shoot or charge later that turn.
Falling Back
Units starting the Movement phase within 1" of an enemy unit can either remain stationary or Fall Back. If you choose to Fall Back, the unit must end its move more than 1" away from all enemy units. If a unit Falls Back, it cannot Advance (see below), or charge later that turn. A unit that Falls Back also cannot shoot later that turn unless it can Fly.
Psyker
Some models are noted as being a Psyker on their datasheet. Psykers can manifest their otherworldly abilities and attempt to deny enemy sorceries. The powers a psyker knows, and the number of powers they can attempt to manifest or deny each Psychic phase, are detailed on their datasheet.
Psychic Test
A psyker can attempt to manifest a psychic power they know by taking a Psychic test. To do so, roll 2D6. If the total is equal to or greater than that power’s warp charge value, the power is successfully manifested. A psyker cannot attempt to manifest the same psychic power more than once in a turn.
Hit Roll
Each time a model makes an attack, roll a dice. If the roll is equal to or greater than the attacking model’s Ballistic Skill characteristic, then it scores a hit with the weapon it is using. If not, the attack fails and the attack sequence ends. A roll of 1 always fails, irrespective of any modifiers that may apply.
Overwatch
Each time a charge is declared against a unit, the target unit can immediately fire Overwatch at the would-be attacker. A target unit can potentially fire Overwatch several times a turn, though it cannot fire if there are any enemy models within 1" of it. Overwatch is resolved like a normal shooting attack (albeit one resolved in the enemy’s Charge phase) and uses all the normal rules except that a 6 is always required for a successful hit roll, irrespective of the firing model’s Ballistic Skill or any modifiers.
Strength from Death

This ability is common to all YNNARI INFANTRY and YNNARI BIKER units and the Yncarne. Each time a unit is completely destroyed within 7" of one or more units with this ability, except in the Morale phase, pick one of those units to make a Soulburst action. That unit can immediately do one of the following, even if it has already done so in this turn:
  • The unit can move as if it were your Movement phase. It can Advance or Fall Back as part of this move.
  • The unit can, if it is a PSYKER, immediately attempt to manifest a single psychic power as if it were the Psychic phase.
  • The unit can shoot as if it were your Shooting phase, even if it Advanced or Fell Back this turn.
  • The unit can charge as if it were the Charge phase, even if it Advanced or Fell Back this turn (enemy units can fire Overwatch as normal). A unit cannot do this if it is within 1" of an enemy unit.
  • The unit can fight as if it were the Fight phase.
Note that this means that a unit may be able to shoot or fight twice in the same turn.

A unit can only make a Soulburst action once per turn.

Matched Play: If you are playing a matched play game, a unit from your army cannot make a Soulburst action if a friendly unit has already made the same Soulburst action during your turn. In addition, units from your army cannot perform any Soulburst actions during your opponent’s turn.
Characters
Some models are noted as being a Character on their datasheet. These heroes, officers, prophets and warlords are powerful individuals that can have a great impact on the course of a battle. The swirling maelstrom of the battlefield can make it difficult to pick out such individuals as targets, however.

An enemy CHARACTER with a Wounds characteristic of less than 10 can only be chosen as a target in the Shooting phase if it is both visible to the firing model and it is the closest enemy unit to the firing model. Ignore other enemy CHARACTERS with a Wounds characteristics of less than 10 when determining if the target is the closest enemy unit to the firing model.

This means that if any other enemy units (other than other CHARACTERS with a Wounds characteristics of less than 10) are closer, whether they are visible or not, then the enemy CHARACTER cannot be targeted.
Heroic Intervention
After the enemy has completed all of their charge moves, any of your Characters that are within 3" of an enemy unit may perform a Heroic Intervention. Any that do so can move up to 3", so long as they end the move closer to the nearest enemy model.

The HARLEQUINS and CHARACTER keywords are used in following Harlequins datasheets:

Elites
HQ

The profiles using AELDARI and TRANSPORT keywords can be found in following Factions:

Aeldari: Craftworlds, Drukhari, Harlequins.

The AELDARI and TRANSPORT keywords are used in following datasheets:

Heavy Support
• Falcon
Dedicated Transport
• Raider
• Venom
Dedicated Transport
Dedicated Transport
Heavy Support
Lords of War
Wound Roll
WOUND ROLL
ATTACK’S STRENGTH VS TARGET’S TOUGHNESSD6 ROLL REQUIRED
Is the Strength
TWICE (or more)
than the Toughness?
2+
Is the Strength
GREATER
than the Toughness?
3+
Is the Strength
EQUAL
to the Toughness?
4+
Is the Strength
LOWER
than the Toughness?
5+
Is the Strength
HALF (or less)
than the Toughness?
6+
If an attack scores a hit, you will then need to roll another dice to see if the attack successfully wounds the target. The roll required is determined by comparing the attacking weapon’s Strength characteristic with the target’s Toughness characteristic, as shown on the table to the right:

If the roll is less than the required number, the attack fails and the attack sequence ends. A roll of 1 always fails, irrespective of any modifiers that may apply.
Invulnerable Saves
Some models possess supernatural reflexes or are protected by force fields that grant them an invulnerable save. Each time a wound is allocated to a model with an invulnerable save, you can choose to use either its normal Save characteristic or its invulnerable save, but not both. If a model has more than one invulnerable save, it can only use one of them – choose which it will use. If you use a model’s invulnerable save, it is never modified by a weapon’s Armour Penetration value.
Mortal Wounds
Some attacks inflict mortal wounds – these are so powerful that no armour or force field can withstand their fury. Each mortal wound inflicts one point of damage on the target unit. Do not make a wound roll or saving throw (including invulnerable saves) against a mortal wound – just allocate it as you would any other wound and inflict damage to a model in the target unit as described above. Unlike normal attacks, excess damage from attacks that inflict mortal wounds is not lost. Instead keep allocating damage to another model in the target unit until either all the damage has been allocated or the target unit is destroyed.
Melee Weapon
Each time a model makes a close combat attack, it uses a melee weapon – the weapons a model is equipped with are described on its datasheet. In addition to their other weapons, all models are assumed to be equipped with a close combat weapon, which has the following profile:

WEAPONRANGETYPESAPD
Close combat weaponMeleeMeleeUser01

If a model has more than one melee weapon, choose which it will use before rolling the dice. If a model has more than one melee weapon and can make several close combat attacks, it can split its attacks between these weapons however you wish – declare how you will divide the attacks before any dice are rolled.
© Vyacheslav Maltsev 2013-2018