Wahapedia8 site header

Books

BookKindEditionVersionLast update
  Warhammer 40,000 Kill TeamRulebook81.0August 2019

Designers’ Commentary


Movement Phase

 Q: Why does pivoting count as moving if model facing doesn’t matter?
 A
Some models are on bases that are not circular.
 Q: If a model Falls Back from one of my models, can my model declare a charge against them when it is my turn to act in that phase?
 A
No. Your model was within 1" of an enemy model at the beginning of the phase, so it can only remain stationary or Fall Back (but this move doesn’t have to be ‘backwards’).
 Q: Can a model declare a charge against a model that is not visible?
 A
Yes.
 Q: Can a Readied model React (to Retreat or fire Overwatch)?
 A
Yes. If it Retreats, it is no longer Readied.
 Q: What does Retreating mean for my model?
 A
A model can only Retreat if it has not already moved in that phase. Once it has Retreated, it cannot move again in that phase, and it cannot shoot in that battle round. Note that Retreating doesn’t stop the enemy model from making a charge attempt, but with your model’s 3" Retreat move you can make it much harder for the enemy model to make a successful charge.
 Q: Can you jump down or leap as part of a Fall Back or Retreat move?
 A
Yes.
 Q: Can a model both fire Overwatch and Retreat?
 A
Not as a Reaction to the same charge attempt. However, a model that has fired Overwatch earlier in the phase (as a Reaction to a different charge attempt) could React to a subsequent charge attempt by Retreating. A model that has Retreated cannot React later in that phase.
 Q: When choosing a target for a charge, how do you measure the 12" distance when the models are at different heights?
 A
You measure the distance from one model’s base to the other model’s base (so you will measure diagonally).
 Q: During a charge move, can my model move within 1" of an enemy model that was not declared as a target of the charge?
 A
No.
 Q: When a model fails its charge, do I have to move it in a straight line? And do I have to move it the full distance rolled?
 A
You have a choice: the model can stay where it is, or it must move as close as possible, within the distance rolled, to at least one target of its charge - which in most cases will mean using the full distance rolled and moving in a straight line.
 Q: If my model fails its charge, can it React later in the phase?
 A
No.
 Q: Can a model move vertically without a surface to climb? For example, can a model move up to an edge of a gantry without a ladder or pillar to climb?
 A
No. If there is any doubt as to what terrain might be considered ‘climbable’, discuss it with your opponent before the game begins.
 Q: When my model jumps down, do I count the vertical distance moved against the distance my model can move (e.g. if my model has jumped down 3", is it considered to have moved 3")?
 A
No.
 Q: Can my model climb down terrain (without jumping)?
 A
Yes – when it does you count the vertical distance moved against the distance the model can move.
 Q: How does leaping combine with jumping down?
 A
A model that leaps and ends its move 6" or more lower than before it leapt also uses all of the rules for jumping down. You do not measure the vertical distance to determine how much of its move the model has used, but you do to determine whether or not it takes falling damage.
 Q: Can my model voluntarily jump down within 1" of an enemy model, thereby getting into combat without making a charge move?
 A
No.
 Q: Does my attack need to wound an enemy model near an edge to force that model to take a falling test, or does my attack just need to hit the enemy model?
 A
It just needs to hit.
 Q: A model falls to a lower level of a building and is within 1" of the edge of the new level. It fails the falling damage roll and takes 1 or more mortal wounds. After the Injury roll is resolved, does that model take another falling test?
 A
Yes.
 Q: If I declare more than one model as the target of a charge, but fail to roll sufficient charge distance to reach one of them, can I still make attacks against that target if the pile-in move for my model brings them within 1” of it?
 A
No.
 Q: I declare a charge against 1 model that is subsequently taken out of action whilst firing Overwatch (for example by supercharging a plasma weapon). Since I can no longer end that charge move within 1” of any targets of my charge, can I still move up to the distance rolled, and if so, in which direction?
 A
No, the model cannot move towards a target of its charge, so cannot move.

Shooting Phase

 Q: What do the rules mean when they refer to an attack that is ‘allocated’ to a model?
 A
An attack is allocated to a model when that model is chosen as the target of that attack.
 Q: Can a Readied model pass in the Ready, Fire! section of the Shooting phase and then fire in the Fire At Will section of the Shooting phase?
 A
Yes.
 Q: How many weapons can a model fire in the Shooting phase?
 A
All of its weapons (except Pistol and Grenade weapons), or one Grenade weapon (as long as no other model in your kill team has fired a Grenade weapon in that phase), or all of its Pistol weapons.
 Q: Can I choose a different target for the second and subsequent weapons a model fires in the Shooting phase?
 A
Yes.
 Q: If I fire a combi-weapon, can I choose different targets for each weapon?
 A
Only using the rules for weapons that make more than one attack – you still need to choose an initial target model, and then you can split the attacks from both profiles between that model and any eligible enemy models within 2" of that target.
 Q: Can I fire a Grenade weapon in Overwatch and again in the Shooting phase?
 A
Yes.
 Q: Can my model use a Pistol weapon in a battle round in which it charged or was charged?
 A
No.
 Q: How does long range interact with Rapid Fire weapons?
 A
A model firing a Rapid Fire weapon doubles the number of attacks it makes if all of its targets are within half the weapon’s Range characteristic. If the targets are within half the weapon’s Range characteristic, they are not at long range.
 Q: If my model is obscured from an enemy model (even a little), does that mean that the enemy model is obscured from my model?
 A
Not necessarily. You check visibility from any part of your model, so if your model’s head is sticking out from behind a wall (for example) you can check visibility from that part of the model to every part of your target model.
 Q: Can I choose an enemy model as a target for a shooting attack in a multiplayer game, even if they are within 1" of an enemy model from another kill team?
 A
As long as no friendly models are within 1" of that model, yes.
 Q: If I want to choose multiple targets for a model’s shooting attacks, when do I do so?
 A
At the Choose Ranged Weapon and Targets stage of the Attack sequence. If you are using a weapon with random attacks, like a flamer, you generate the number of attacks first, and then choose your targets.
 Q: When I choose multiple targets for a model’s shooting attacks, do they all have to be visible?
 A
Yes (unless the weapon has an ability that means it can be fired at targets that are not visible).
 Q: When I choose multiple targets for a model’s shooting attacks, can I allocate some attacks to models that are obscured and some to models that are in the open?
 A
Yes, as long as you follow all other restrictions.
 Q: Who rolls the Injury roll?
 A
In most cases, the player whose attacking model dealt the damage will roll the Injury roll (see Inflict Damage). When the damage is caused by something other than an attacking model (for example, by falling) then the controlling player (that is, the player whose model has been damaged) rolls the Injury roll.
 Q: If I have allocated multiple attacks with a Damage characteristic of 1 to a single model with a Wounds characteristic of 1, and that model is damaged by the first of these attacks, what happens?
 A
You will make a single Injury roll with a single dice and apply the result. The remaining attacks are not resolved.
 Q: If I have allocated multiple attacks with a random Damage characteristic (e.g. D3) to a single model, and two or more of those attacks wound the target and the saving rolls are failed, how is damage resolved?
 A
You need to determine the damage for these attacks one at a time. Determine one of those attacks’ Damage characteristics and resolve the Inflict Damage step. If no Injury roll is made as a result (e.g. if the attack reduces a model’s wounds, but not to 0) determine the next attack’s Damage characteristic, and so on until all the attacks are resolved or an Injury roll is made. When an Injury roll is made, no more of the attacks are resolved. The number of dice rolled for the Injury roll is equal to the (randomly determined) Damage characteristic of the attack that reduces the target to 0 wounds.
 Q: When my model shoots a weapon that deals a mortal wound on a wound roll of 6+ (for example, the sniper rifle), and I roll a 6+, when is the mortal wound allocated?
 A
It is allocated immediately after the wound roll. If the target only has one wound remaining, you will make an Injury roll for the target then and there (the attack ends at that point). If the target has more than one wound remaining, they will lose one wound from the mortal wound and then you will continue to resolve the attack.
 Q: If you use the Immovable Automaton, Rune of Ynnead or the Just a Flesh Wound tactic on a model that is taken out of action that already has 3 flesh wounds, what happens?
 A
The model is still taken out of action, as a model with 3 flesh wounds that gains another flesh wound is taken out of action.
 Q: Can a model from my kill team fire a Pistol weapon at an enemy model that is within 1" of another model from my kill team if that firing model is not within 1" of the target model?
 A
No.

Fight Phase

 Q: Can a model whose charge failed fight in the Fight phase?
 A
Only if they themselves were charged in that battle round, or if they are within 1" of an enemy model.
 Q: If a model charged, and all of the targets of their charge are taken out of action before they are chosen to fight in the Fight phase (and they were not themselves charged) can they still pile in and consolidate?
 A
They can still pile in, but they cannot consolidate – the fight sequence ends at step 2 as they have no valid targets.
 Q: Can a model end a Consolidate move within 1" of an enemy model?
 A
Yes.

Morale Phase

 Q: Does the order in which I take Nerve tests for my kill team matter?
 A
Yes. Each Nerve test you fail will make all successive tests in the same phase harder, as a model that fails a Nerve test is shaken, and Nerve tests have a +1 modifier for each friendly shaken model.
 Q: What can a shaken model do?
 A
Nothing. They cannot move, React, attempt to manifest psychic powers, shoot, fight, control objectives, use Tactics, and so on. However, a shaken model’s abilities still work unless specified otherwise – so, for example, a shaken model with Disgustingly Resilient can still use that ability to attempt to avoid losing a wound, and the Icon of Flame ability still works even if the model bearing the icon is shaken.
 Q: If I have an odd number of models in my kill team, how do I work out if I need to roll to see if it is broken?
 A
If I had 9 models in my kill team, half of this number would be 4.5. Therefore, once 5 models had flesh wounds, were shaken or were out of action, a roll would be required to check if my kill team was broken.

Missions

 Q: If all enemy models are out of action, do I automatically win?
 A
Not unless the mission’s victory conditions states this.
 Q: Is the vertical distance considered when measuring between objective markers?
 A
No.
 Q: In the Take Prisoners mission, if one of my models takes an enemy model out of action with a ‘final attack’, e.g. by using the Only In Death Does Duty End Tactic, is the enemy model captured even though my model is then taken out of action, as long as all the other conditions for being captured are fulfilled?
 A
Yes.
 Q: In the Terror Tactics mission, when a model is moved off the battlefield using the Wreak Havoc rule, do they still count when determining whether more than half the models in a kill team have flesh wounds, are shaken, or are out of action?
 A
They take no further part in the mission, but they are still part of your kill team. They are not considered to be out of action, and you do not include them in any count of the number of models that have flesh wounds.

Tactics

 Q: When I use a Tactic such as Decisive Shot or Decisive Strike, does that Tactic allow that model to act twice in that phase?
 A
No.
 Q: Can I use the Tactical Re-roll Tactic to re-roll a dice my opponent rolled?
 A
No.
 Q: If two players both use the Decisive Move/Strike/Shot Tactic, does the loser of the roll-off still get to do their Decisive Move/Strike/Shot immediately after the winner?
 A
Yes.
 Q: If I use the Tactical Re-roll Tactic to re-roll an Injury roll for a weapon with a Damage characteristic of 2 or more, how many dice do I re-roll?
 A
You must re-roll all the dice. For example, if the Tactical Re-roll Tactic was used to re-roll the Injury roll for an attack made with a weapon that has a Damage characteristic of 3, all three dice must be re-rolled.

Choosing a Kill Team

 Q: Does a model’s cost include its weapons and wargear?
 A
No.
 Q: Some datasheets allow you to equip models with wargear combinations that don’t seem particularly optimal. Why is that?
 A
These options are in there so that, no matter how you have built your models from the kit, you should be able to use them in games of Kill Team.
 Q: Do Gunners, Sergeants and the like have to be specialists?
 A
No.

Specialists

 Q: When I use the Combat specialist’s Deadly Charge Tactic, if I end my charge within 1" of two enemies, can I roll for both?
 A
No. Choose one when you use the Tactic.
 Q: When I use the Comms specialist’s New Intelligence Tactic to Ready a model, can I use this to allow a model that would not normally be able to shoot (e.g. a shaken model, or a model that made a charge attempt) to shoot?
 A
No.
 Q: If I have a Comms specialist with Expert and Command Relay, if I use the Expert Command Point on a Tactic and it is refunded by Command Relay, do I still lose that Command Point at the end of the battle round?
 A
No.
 Q: Can the Demolitions specialist’s Lucky Escape Tactic prevent mortal wounds as well?
 A
Yes.
 Q: Can I still use the Heavy specialist’s More Bullets Tactic when using a weapon that fires a random amount of shots?
 A
Yes. You choose to use the Tactic before the number of attacks is determined.
 Q: If I use the More Bullets Tactic and fire a Rapid Fire 1 weapon at a target that is not at long range, how many attacks does the weapon make?
 A
3.
 Q: If I use the Medic specialist’s Trauma Specialist ability against a weapon with a Damage characteristic of more than 1, how is it resolved?
 A
An additional dice is rolled, and then the lowest result across all of the dice is used.
 Q: If I use the Scout specialist’s Marked Positions Tactic on an enemy model and that model then ends up more than 6" away from my Scout for some reason (for example, if it falls) can my models still re-roll hit rolls of 1 for attacks that target that model?
 A
Yes.
 Q: What are the penalties mentioned by the Veteran specialist Grizzled ability?
 A
Negative modifiers to Leadership and positive modifiers to Nerve tests.
 Q: If I use the Veteran specialist’s Adaptive Tactics to move or Advance with a model before the Initiative phase, can that model move again in the Movement phase (including Advancing or charging, for example)?
 A
Yes.
 Q: Does the Veteran specialist’s Seen It All ability ‘stack’ with the normal -1 to Nerve tests for being within 2" of another model that is not shaken?
 A
Yes.
 Q: Does the Zealot specialist’s Martyr Tactic allow a model that failed a charge in this battle round to shoot with one of its weapons?
 A
Yes.
 Q: If I have a Zealot specialist with both Flagellant and Disgustingly Resilient, can I use both abilities when the model loses a wound?
 A
Yes.

Campaigns

 Q: How do I build my command roster at the start of a campaign?
 A
Just choose up to 12 models, all of which must share a Faction keyword. The total points cost of the models doesn’t matter, the Max characteristic of the models doesn’t matter, and you can have multiples of the same Specialist on your command roster. When you play your first mission, you will choose a kill team from this command roster that must be a Battle-forged kill team.
 Q: How do I add new models to a fire team during a campaign?
 A
When you choose a kill team for a mission, you can include one new member of a fire team (and add that model to your command roster) for each existing member of the fire team that you include in your kill team. So, if I wanted to add two new Reivers to an existing Reiver fire team, I would need to choose those two new Reivers to be in my kill team for the next mission, alongside at least two existing Reivers (other than Specialists) from my command roster. The two new Reivers would be New Recruits, as described in Adding Members to a Fire Team in the Kill Team Core Manual.
 Q: If I disband a fire team, how do I later add models from that datasheet to my command roster?
 A
If you do not have a fire team for a datasheet (because you disbanded them, or they have all been killed, or you just haven’t chosen any yet) you can add any number of models from that datasheet to your command roster by including them in the kill team you choose for your next mission.
 Q: How do I add models to my command roster during a campaign?
 A
You will only add models to your command roster when you are using those models in your next mission (so you can’t add models to your command roster after the start of the campaign without using them in at least one mission). Other than this, there is no limit to the number of models on your command roster, or the number of Specialists, or the total points value of the models on your command roster, and so on.

When you choose a kill team for a mission, you will do one of three things:

1) Choose a kill team from models that are already on your command roster. You do not add any models to your command roster.

2) Choose an entirely new kill team. This kill team can include new Specialists (including a new Leader) – the only restrictions here are the normal limits for Battle-forged kill teams. Add these new models to your command roster.

The kill team can also include any number of models chosen from a datasheet for which you do not have a fire team (so, for example, if you only have an Intercessor fire team on your command roster, you could freely add Reivers to your kill team) – again, the only restrictions here are the normal limits for Battle-forged kill teams. Add these new models to your command roster.

3)Choose a kill team that is a mix of models from your command roster and new models. This kill team can include new models as described above. Add these new models to your command roster.

This kill team can also include new models for existing fire teams, subject to the restrictions on adding new models to a fire team (see below). Add these new models to your command roster.

This kill team can also include models that are already on your command roster, subject to the restrictions for Battle-forged kill teams.
 Q: Can a fire team of a single model gain experience?
 A
Yes. A fire team of a single model gains 1 experience point after a mission if at least one enemy model was taken out of action during that mission by an attack made or psychic power manifested by that model (or another model from that model’s fire team that was later killed).
 Q: Do New Recruits in an experienced fire team also cost the increased amount of points listed under Crack Troops?
 A
Yes.
 Q: I have a fire team of two experienced models and one New Recruit. In the next battle, the New Recruit survives but both experienced models die. What happens?
 A
The New Recruit gains the fire team’s experience and advances. They do not gain one experience point for taking part in the mission. However, they could still gain one experience point after the mission if at least one enemy model was taken out of action during that mission by an attack made or psychic power manifested by that model (or another model from that model’s fire team that was later killed).
 Q: Can I choose not to assign a model to a fire team?
 A
No. All non-specialist models chosen from a single datasheet always form a fire team.
 Q: How are models that are not part of fire teams (like DS8 Tactical Support Turrets and Drones) added to a command roster in a campaign?
 A
They can be added to your kill team (and your command roster) in the same way as new Specialists (but they do not count as Specialists).
 Q: Can I choose a campaign roster with models from more than one faction?
 A
In the campaign presented in the Kill Team Core Manual, you cannot, as all models on a matched play command roster (which is the starting point for your campaign roster) must share a faction keyword. However, if your gaming group wants to allow players to have campaign rosters that include models from more than one faction, that’s entirely up to you!
 Q: Can I change the wargear a model on my command roster is equipped with during a campaign?
 A
No.

Kill Team: Commanders

 Q: Since all Commanders have a specialism, are they treated in the same way as specialists in matched play games (i.e. can only be taken at level 1)?
 A
Yes.
Falling Back
When you pick a model to move, if that model started the Movement phase within 1" of an enemy model, it cannot make a normal move. Instead, it can either remain stationary or Fall Back. A model cannot Fall Back if an enemy model finished a charge move within 1" of it in the same phase. If you choose to Fall Back, the model can move a distance equal to or less than its Move characteristic, but must end its move more than 1" away from all enemy models. If a model Falls Back, it cannot Advance, charge, React or be Readied in that phase. A model that Falls Back also cannot shoot later that battle round unless it can FLY. If you have Kill Team tokens, place a Fall Back token next to the model as a reminder.
Readying
When you pick a model to move, instead of making a normal move (including pivoting the model) you can Ready them, unless they are within 1" of an enemy model. A model that is Readied in the Movement phase has an advantage in the subsequent Shooting phase (see Ready, Fire!). If you have Kill Team tokens, place a Ready token next to the model as a reminder. If the model moves for any reason, it is no longer Readied – remove this token.
eact
After you have declared a charge, any opponents take it in turn to make Reactions with any models from their kill teams that are allowed to do so, if they wish to do so, in the order determined in the Initiative phase. Once one opponent has resolved all of their models’ Reactions, the next player can do so, and so on.

A model can React if it is the target of a charging model and it is more than 1" from an enemy model. A model can either fire Overwatch or Retreat when it Reacts. If, at any point, the charging model is slain, no further Reactions can be made for this charge sequence.
Retreat
A target model cannot Retreat if it has already made a move of any kind (or attempted to charge) in this phase. A model can Retreat if it has already fired Overwatch in this phase. When a model Retreats, it can be moved up to 3" by the controlling player. This move must end with the model further away from the charging model, and more than 1" from any other enemy models. A model that Retreats cannot React later in the battle round, and cannot shoot later in the battle round (unless it can FLY). If you have Kill Team tokens, place a Fall Back token next to the model as a reminder.
Overwatch
Overwatch is a special type of shooting attack, made by a model that is the target of a charge and resolved in the Movement phase. It uses all the normal rules for shooting (e.g. the target must be in range and visible when they declare the charge), except that any attacks made must target the model attempting to charge, and a 6 is always required for a successful hit roll, irrespective of the firing model’s Ballistic Skill or any modifiers.
Charge Move
After all Reactions have been resolved, make a charge roll by rolling 2D6. The charging model can move up to this number of inches – this is their charge distance this turn. To make a successful charge roll, the model must finish its move within 1" of at least one of the target models. A model that does so is said to have charged, and the enemy models that are within 1" of it at the end of its move are said to have been charged. It cannot move within 1" of an enemy model that was not a target of its charge.

If the model cannot finish its move while following these restrictions, the charge fails and the model is not said to have charged – however, the model can move up to its charge distance, as long as that move takes it as close as possible to at least one of the targets of its charge, and not within 1" of any enemy models. A model can only make one charge attempt in each Movement phase, and once it has done so it cannot shoot later in the battle round. If you have Kill Team tokens, place a Charge token next to the model as a reminder.
Mortal Wounds
Some attacks inflict mortal wounds – these are so powerful that no armour or force field can withstand their fury. Each mortal wound inflicts one point of damage on the target model. Do not make a wound roll or saving throw (including invulnerable saves) against a mortal wound – just inflict damage to the model. If a mortal wound reduces a model to 0 wounds, any further mortal wounds directed against this model by this attack are not resolved and the player whose model caused the mortal wound makes an Injury roll for that model.
Pile In
You may move the model up to 3" – the model must end the move closer to the nearest enemy model.
Out of Action
A model that is taken out of action is seriously injured or may even be slain – either way it will play no further part in the battle. Remove that model from the battlefield.
Ready, Fire!
Readied models shoot before all other models. Players take it in turn to choose a Readied model from their kill team to shoot with (following the sequence below), or pass, in the order determined in the Initiative phase. If a player passes, it is the next player’s turn to choose. Once all players have done so, they do so again in the same order, until all players pass in succession. When all of the players pass in succession, the Ready, Fire! section of the Shooting phase is over.
PISTOL
Pistols are carried one-handed and can even be used in a melee to shoot at point-blank range.
You can choose to shoot with a model with a Pistol weapon even if there are enemy models within 1", but it must target the closest enemy model (you can choose which if two or more are equidistant) and can only shoot with its Pistol weapon(s). In such circumstances, the model can shoot its Pistol even if other friendly models are within 1" of the same enemy model. It cannot fire a Pistol if it was charged in this battle round.

Each time a model armed with both a Pistol and another type of ranged weapon (e.g. a Pistol and a Rapid Fire weapon) is chosen to shoot, it can either shoot with its Pistol(s) or with all of its other weapons. Choose which it will fire (Pistols or non-Pistols) before making hit rolls.
GRENADE

Grenades are handheld explosive devices that a warrior throws at the enemy while their squad mates provide covering fire.

A model in your kill team armed with a Grenade weapon may fire it in Overwatch or in the Shooting phase. If they do so, they cannot fire any other weapons that phase, and no other model in your kill team can fire a Grenade weapon that phase.
RAPID FIRE

Rapid Fire weapons are capable of single aimed shots at long range and controlled bursts at close quarters.

A model firing a Rapid Fire weapon doubles the number of attacks it makes if all of its targets are within half the weapon’s Range characteristic.
Long Range
A target is at long range if it is more than half the weapon’s Range characteristic away from the attacking model. Grenade weapons are not affected by this rule.

For example, a boltgun has a Range of 24". Any target that is more than 12" away from a model attacking with a boltgun is at long range.
Obscured
Other models (even friendly models) and terrain may hide a target from view. If the target of an attack is even partially obscured from the best point of view of the firing model (that is, the point of view from a part of the firing model that gives the clearest line of sight), then it is said to be obscured.

When checking to see if a target is obscured, consider the main body of the firing and target models – do not include a model’s base or parts that are ‘sticking out’ like aerials or weapons, but do include all limbs and a model’s head. If there is still doubt, we recommend the players agree about what constitutes the main body of a model before the battle begins.
Wound Roll
If an attack scores a hit, you will then need to roll another dice to see if the attack wounds the target. The roll required is determined by comparing the attacking weapon’s Strength characteristic with the target’s Toughness characteristic, as shown on the following table:

WOUND ROLL
ATTACK’S STRENGTH VS TARGET’S TOUGHNESSD6 ROLL REQUIRED
Is the Strength
TWICE (or more)
than the Toughness?
2+
Is the Strength
GREATER
than the Toughness?
3+
Is the Strength
EQUAL
to the Toughness?
4+
Is the Strength
LOWER
than the Toughness?
5+
Is the Strength
HALF (or less)
than the Toughness?
6+


If the roll is equal to or greater than the required number, the attack succeeds and the attack sequence continues. If the roll is less than the required number, the attack fails and the attack sequence ends. An unmodified wound roll of 1 always fails and an unmodified wound roll of 6 is always successful.
Flesh Wound
A model that suffers a flesh wound is restored to 1 wound remaining. A model with one or more flesh wounds suffers penalties to hit and is more likely to be taken out of action (see above). Mark one of the empty Flesh Wound boxes on that model’s datacard. If a model suffers a flesh wound and all of the Flesh Wound boxes on their datacard are marked, it is taken out of action instead. In the Morale phase each player takes Nerve tests for each of their models that has one or more flesh wounds.
IMMOVABLE AUTOMATON
Thousand Sons Tactic
Use this Tactic when a Rubric Marine, Rubric Marine Gunner, Scarab Occult Terminator or Scarab Occult Gunner from your kill team is taken out of action. Roll a D6. On a 4+ that model suffers a flesh wound instead.
2 COMMAND POINTS
RUNE OF YNNEAD
Craftworlds Tactic
Use this Tactic when a model from your kill team is taken out of action. Roll a D6. On a 4+ that model suffers a flesh wound instead.
2 COMMAND POINTS
JUST A FLESH WOUND
Orks Tactic
Use this Tactic when a model from your kill team is taken out of action. Roll a D6. On a 4+ that model suffers a flesh wound instead.
2 COMMAND POINTS
Consolidate
You may move the model up to 3" – the model must end the move closer to the nearest enemy model.
Nerve Tests
You must take a Nerve test for each of your models that has a flesh wound, and for your other models if your kill team is broken. To take a Nerve test for a model, roll a D6 and apply the following cumulative modifiers:

NERVE TEST MODIFIERS
Each other friendly model that is shaken or is out of action+1
Each other friendly model (other than shaken models) within 2" of the model-1

If the result of the Nerve test exceeds the model’s Leadership characteristic, the test is failed. The model is shaken, and cannot do anything until it is no longer shaken: place a Shaken token next to it. Otherwise, the test is passed. The test is always passed on an unmodified roll of 1.
Psychic Test
You can attempt to manifest a psychic power with a psyker from your kill team by taking a Psychic test. To do so, roll 2D6. If the total is equal to or greater than that power’s warp charge value, the power is successfully manifested.
ONLY IN DEATH DOES DUTY END
Deathwatch Tactic
Use this Tactic when a model from your kill team is taken out of action; that model summons the strength for one final attack, and can immediately either shoot as if it were your turn in the Shooting phase, or fight as if it were your turn in the Fight phase.
2 COMMAND POINTS
Roll-offs
Some rules instruct players to roll off. To do so, each player rolls a D6 (or 2D6 if there are more than two players), and whoever scores highest wins the roll-off. In the case of a tie, those players re-roll their dice – if the second and subsequent rolls are also tied, keep on rolling until a winner is determined; this is the only time players can re-roll a re-roll.
DECISIVE SHOT
Tactic
Use this Tactic at the start of the Shooting phase. Pick a model from your kill team that is eligible to shoot and shoot with it before any other models. If another player uses this Tactic, roll off: the winner goes first.
2 COMMAND POINTS
DECISIVE STRIKE
Tactic
Use this Tactic at the start of the Fight phase. Pick a model from your kill team that is eligible to fight and fight with it before any other models. If another player uses this Tactic, roll off: the winner goes first.
2 COMMAND POINTS
Advancing
When you pick a model to move, instead of making a normal move with that model you can declare that it will Advance, unless it is within 1" of an enemy model. If you do so, make an Advance roll by rolling a D6. Add the result to the model’s Move characteristic for that Movement phase. You can then move that model a distance equal to or less than its Move characteristic. A model that Advances cannot charge, React or shoot later that battle round. If you have Kill Team tokens, place an Advance token next to the model as a reminder.
Deny the Witch Test
If there are any enemy psykers within 24" of a psyker that has manifested a psychic power, the controlling player can choose one of those models to take a Deny the Witch test to resist the psychic power. The number of times a psyker can make a Deny the Witch attempt in each battle round is specified on their datasheet. Only one model can take a Deny the Witch test for each psychic power that is manifested, regardless of the number of models that could make an attempt or the number of times each is allowed to try and Deny the Witch in each battle round.

If more than one player has an eligible model to take a Deny the Witch test, players take it in turn to choose a model from their kill team to take a Deny the Witch test with, or pass, in the order determined in the Initiative phase. If a player passes, it is the next player’s turn to choose, and so on until a player chooses a model to take a Deny the Witch test or all players with eligible models have passed.

To take a Deny the Witch test, roll 2D6. If the total is greater than the result of the Psychic test that manifested the power, it has been successfully resisted and its effects are negated.
Hit Roll
To see if an attack hits the target, roll a D6 and apply the following cumulative modifiers:

HIT ROLL MODIFIERS
Target model is at long range-1
Target model is obscured-1
Each flesh wound on the attacking model-1
Attacking model’s kill team is broken-1

If the result is equal to or greater than the attacking model’s Ballistic Skill characteristic, then it scores a hit with the weapon it is using. If not, the attack fails and the attack sequence ends. An unmodified hit roll of 1 always fails, and an unmodified hit roll of 6 always hits.
Saving Throw
The player controlling the target model then makes a saving throw by rolling a D6 and modifying the roll by the Armour Penetration characteristic of the attacking weapon. For example, if the attacking weapon has an Armour Penetration of -1, then 1 is subtracted from the saving throw. If the result is equal to, or greater than, the Save characteristic of the target model, then the damage is prevented and the attack sequence ends. If the result is less than the model’s Save characteristic, then the saving throw fails and the model suffers damage. An unmodified saving throw of 1 always fails.
TACTICAL RE-ROLL
Tactic
Re-roll a single Advance roll, charge roll, Psychic test, Deny the Witch test, hit roll, wound roll, saving throw, Injury roll or Nerve test.
1 COMMAND POINT
DEADLY CHARGE
Level 3 Combat Tactic
Use this Tactic when a Combat specialist of Level 3 or higher from your kill team finishes a charge move within 1" of an enemy model. Roll a D6; on a 5+ that enemy model suffers 1 mortal wound.
1 COMMAND POINT
NEW INTELLIGENCE
Level 3 Comms Tactic
Use this Tactic at the end of the Movement phase. Pick a model from your kill team within 12" of a friendly Comms specialist of Level 3 or higher. Ready that model.
1 COMMAND POINT
LUCKY ESCAPE
Level 2 Demolitions Tactic
Use this Tactic at the start of the Shooting phase. Pick a Demolitions specialist of Level 2 or higher from your kill team. Roll a D6 each time that model loses a wound in this phase; on a 5+ that wound is not lost.
1 COMMAND POINT
ASSAULT

Assault weapons fire so rapidly or indiscriminately that they can be shot from the hip as warriors dash forwards into combat.

You can choose to shoot with a model with an Assault weapon in the Shooting phase (or React with that model to fire Overwatch) even if it Advanced earlier in that battle round. If it does so, it can only fire Assault weapons, and you must subtract 1 from any hit rolls made when firing that weapon this battle round.
MORE BULLETS
Level 1 Heavy Tactic
Use this Tactic when you pick a Heavy specialist from your kill team to shoot in the Shooting phase. You can add 1 to the number of shots fired by that model’s ranged weapons, with the exception of weapons that would otherwise fire 1 shot (e.g. an Assault 2 weapon would fire 3 shots, but a Rapid Fire 1 weapon at long range would fire 1 shot) in this Shooting phase.
1 COMMAND POINT
MARKED POSITIONS
Level 2 Scout Tactic
Use this Tactic at the start of the Shooting phase. Pick an enemy model within 6" of a Scout specialist of Level 2 or higher from your kill team that is not shaken. You can re-roll hit rolls of 1 for shooting attacks made by models in your kill team that target that enemy model until the end of the phase.
1 COMMAND POINT
ADAPTIVE TACTICS
Level 1 Veteran Tactic
Use this Tactic at the start of the first battle round, but before the Initiative phase. Pick a Veteran specialist from your kill team. They can make a normal move or Advance. You can only use this Tactic once per battle.
1 COMMAND POINT
MARTYR
Level 2 Zealot Tactic
Use this Tactic when a Zealot specialist of Level 2 or higher from your kill team loses their last wound, before any player rolls on the Injury table. You may immediately shoot with one of its weapons as if it were the Shooting phase, or pile in and make one attack as if it were the Fight phase.
2 COMMAND POINTS
© Vyacheslav Maltsev 2013-2020