Wahapedia8 site header
TzeentchTome of Eyes
Endless Spell

Tome of Eyes

By conjuring a Tome of Eyes, a spellcaster can read knowledge inscribed by daemonic forces as the tome reads them in turn; in doing so, they gain access to the fabled Parchment Curse. A particularly disturbing spell, this turns the enemies of the caster into scattering sheafs of paper, each detailing a dark and twisted version of the victim’s life story.
PITCHED BATTLE PROFILE

Unit Size: 1      Points: 40
Battlefield Role: Endless Spell

DESCRIPTION

A Tome of Eyes is a single model.

MAGIC

Summon Tome of Eyes: With a snap of the conjurer’s fingers, the Tome appears at their side from a spark of blue wyrdflame.
Summon Tome of Eyes has a casting value of 5. Only TZEENTCH WIZARDS can attempt to cast this spell. If successfully cast, set up 1 Tome of Eyes model within 1" of the caster.

As long as the Tome of Eyes is on the battlefield, the caster and the Tome of Eyes are treated as being a single model from the caster’s army that uses the caster’s warscroll as well as the Endless Spells rules. The Tome of Eyes must remain within 1" of the caster. If the caster is slain, then the Tome of Eyes is immediately dispelled and removed from play along with the caster.

The Parchment Curse: The Tome’s flames intensify, its eyes twitching frantically as it seeks new prey for the curses on its parchment leaves.
The Parchment Curse has a casting value of 8. Only the caster of the Tome of Eyes can attempt to cast this spell. If successfully cast, pick 1 enemy unit within 18" of the caster that is visible to them and roll a dice. On a 3+, that unit suffers D3 mortal wounds. In addition, for each model that is slain by mortal wounds inflicted by this spell, subtract 1 from the Bravery characteristic of that unit for the rest of the battle.

ABILITIES

Transfixed by Countless Eyes: As the Tome flicks through its endless pages, it peers into the mind of its summoner, giving knowledge to the loyal and punishing the insatiable as it sees fit.
If the Tome of Eyes is on the battlefield, you can re-roll casting rolls for the caster.

In addition, if the unmodified casting roll for a spell attempted by the caster is a 2 or a 12, the spell is automatically cast (regardless of the result) and cannot be unbound. However, the caster suffers D3 mortal wounds after the effects of that spell have been resolved.

KEYWORDS
ENDLESS SPELL, TOME OF EYES
Casting and Unbinding Spells
A WIZARD can attempt to cast spells in its own hero phase. You cannot attempt to cast the same spell more than once in the same turn (even with a different wizard).

In order to cast a spell, first say which spell the wizard is going to attempt to use (it must be one they know). To cast the spell, roll 2D6. If the total is equal to or greater than the casting value of the spell, the spell is successfully cast.

If a spell is cast, the opposing player can choose one of their WIZARDS that is within 30" of the caster to attempt to unbind the spell before its effects are applied. To unbind a spell, roll 2D6. If the roll beats the roll used to cast the spell, then the spell is not successfully cast. Only one attempt can be made to unbind a spell.
Unbinding and Dispelling
A WIZARD can attempt to unbind an endless spell when it is initially cast as normal. In addition, a WIZARD can attempt to dispel one endless spell at the start of each of their hero phases. If a wizard attempts to dispel an endless spell, they can attempt to cast one less spell than normal that phase.

In order to dispel an endless spell, first pick an endless spell model within 30" of the wizard and visible to them, and then roll 2D6. If the roll is greater than the casting value of the spell, the endless spell is dispelled. An endless spell model cannot be subjected to more than one dispel attempt per hero phase.

When an endless spell is dispelled its model is removed from play; the model can then be used again if the same endless spell is successfully cast later in the battle.
Mortal Wounds
Some attacks, spells and abilities inflict mortal wounds. Do not make hit, wound or save rolls for mortal wounds. Instead, the damage inflicted on the target is equal to the number of mortal wounds that were suffered. Allocate any mortal wounds that are caused while a unit is attacking at the same time as any other wounds caused by the unit’s attacks, after all of the unit’s attacks have been completed. Mortal wounds caused at other times are allocated to models in the target unit as soon as they occur, in the same manner as wounds caused by damage from an attack.

After they have been allocated, a mortal wound is treated in the same manner as any other wound for all rules purposes.

The ENDLESS SPELL keyword is used in following Tzeentch warscrolls:

Endless Spell
© Vyacheslav Maltsev 2013-2020