SylvanethAwakened Wyldwood
Scenery

Awakened Wyldwood

When the Wyldwoods of the Sylvaneth stir, enemies of the natural order must be on their guard. The awakened spirits that dwell within these ancient groves are roused to terrible fury by intrusions into their domain. They seek every chance to prey upon those foolish enough to stray beneath their shadowed boughs.
PITCHED BATTLE PROFILE

Unit Size: 1      Points: 0
Battlefield Role: Scenery
Notes: Each Awakened Wyldwood is comprised of 3-6 Citadel Wood models

SET UP

A Sylvaneth army can include 1 AWAKENED WYLDWOOD terrain feature. After territories have been chosen but before armies are set up, you can set up the AWAKENED WYLDWOOD anywhere on the battlefield that is more than 1" from any other terrain features, more than 1" from enemy territory and more than 6" away from any objectives. If both players can set up a terrain feature before armies are set up, they must roll off, and the winner can choose the order in which the terrain features are set up.

DESCRIPTION

An Awakened Wyldwood is a single terrain feature consisting of 3-6 Citadel Wood models. Each tip of each Citadel Wood model must touch the tip of a different Citadel Wood model, with the tips of all the models pointing inwards so that a ring is formed. The battlefield inside the ring is treated as being part of that Awakened Wyldwood.


Scenery Rules

Overgrown Wilderness: It is only possible to see a few yards into these foreboding thickets.
Models are not visible to each other if an imaginary straight line 1mm wide drawn between the closest points of the two models crosses over more than 1" of an AWAKENED WYLDWOOD. This scenery rule does not apply if either model can fly.

Roused By Magic: The arcane currents of hostile spellcasting drive Wyldwood spirits into a fury.
In the hero phase, if a spell is successfully cast by a WIZARD wholly within 6" of an AWAKENED WYLDWOOD and not unbound, roll a dice for each unit within 1" of that AWAKENED WYLDWOOD which does not have the SYLVANETH keyword. On a 5+ that unit suffers D3 mortal wounds after that spell’s effects have been resolved.

Wyldwood: The spirits within a Wyldwood are easily angered by trespassers into their domain.
At the end of the charge phase, roll a dice for each unit within 1" of an AWAKENED WYLDWOOD which does not have the SYLVANETH keyword. On a 6, that unit suffers D3 mortal wounds.

KEYWORDS
SCENERY, AWAKENED WYLDWOOD

The AWAKENED WYLDWOOD keyword is used in following Sylvaneth warscrolls:

Scenery
Roll-offs
Sometimes a rule may require the players to make a roll-off. When this is the case, each of the players rolls a dice, and whoever rolls highest wins the roll-off. If there is a tie for the highest roll, make the roll-off again. Neither player is allowed to re-roll or modify any of the dice when making a roll-off.
Flying
If the warscroll for a model says that the model can fly, it can pass across models and terrain features as if they were not there when it makes any type of move. Any vertical distance up and/or down is ignored when measuring a flying model’s move. It cannot finish the move on top of another model.
Casting and Unbinding Spells
A WIZARD can attempt to cast spells in its own hero phase. You cannot attempt to cast the same spell more than once in the same turn (even with a different wizard).

In order to cast a spell, first say which spell the wizard is going to attempt to use (it must be one they know). To cast the spell, roll 2D6. If the total is equal to or greater than the casting value of the spell, the spell is successfully cast.

If a spell is cast, the opposing player can choose one of their WIZARDS that is within 30" of the caster to attempt to unbind the spell before its effects are applied. To unbind a spell, roll 2D6. If the roll beats the roll used to cast the spell, then the spell is not successfully cast. Only one attempt can be made to unbind a spell.
Mortal Wounds
Some attacks, spells and abilities inflict mortal wounds. Do not make hit, wound or save rolls for mortal wounds. Instead, the damage inflicted on the target is equal to the number of mortal wounds that were suffered. Allocate any mortal wounds that are caused while a unit is attacking at the same time as any other wounds caused by the unit’s attacks, after all of the unit’s attacks have been completed. Mortal wounds caused at other times are allocated to models in the target unit as soon as they occur, in the same manner as wounds caused by damage from an attack.

After they have been allocated, a mortal wound is treated in the same manner as any other wound for all rules purposes.
Charge roll, charge move
Any of your units within 12" of the enemy in your charge phase can attempt to make a charge move. Pick an eligible unit and make a charge roll for it by rolling 2D6. Each model in the unit can move a number of inches equal to the charge roll. You cannot make a charge move with a unit that has run or retreated earlier in the turn, or with a unit that is within 3" of an enemy unit.

The first model you move from a unit making a charge move must finish the move within ½" of an enemy model (you do not have to pick the target for the charge before making the charge roll). If that’s impossible, or you decide not to make the charge move, the charge fails and no models in the unit can move in this phase.

Once all models in one unit have made their charge moves, you can pick another eligible unit to make a charge attempt, until all units that you want to make charge attempts have done so.
© Vyacheslav Maltsev 2013-2020