The followers of Slaanesh take many forms, but every one of them is consumed with the thrill of excess. In times of war their obsessions reach lethal intensity, all semblance of sanity discarded as they plumb the depths of indulgent violence. They may appear ecstatic, but the Hedonites of Slaanesh are cursed beyond all measure.This page contains all of the rules you need to field your Slaanesh miniatures on the battlefields of the Mortal Realms, from a host of exciting allegiance abilities to a range of warscrolls and warscroll battalions. The rules are split into the following sections.
|Hedonites of Slaanesh|
|Hedonites of Slaanesh||Battletome||2||1.1||December 2019|
|The Host of Syll’Esske|
|The Host of Syll’Esske||White Dwarf||2||1.0||October 2019|
|Forge World: Monstrous Arcanum|
|Forge World: Monstrous Arcanum||Expansion||2||June 2018|
|General’s Handbook ’2020|
|General’s Handbook ’2020||Expansion||2||1.0||August 2020|
|Q:||Do abilities that deal wounds or mortal wounds count as attacks and generate depravity points? For example, the Keeper of Secrets’ Ritual Knife ability (not the weapon attack), the Dark Temptations ability or the Excess of Blades ability, which can all inflict mortal wounds.|
No. Attacks are described in the core rules; they must use the attack sequence.
|Q:||Do endless spells that deal damage generate depravity points?|
No. An endless spell is independent of the caster that created it.
|Q:||Do the attacks from a HERO’s mount also generate depravity points?|
|Q:||If a unit is affected by both Locus of Diversion and Horrible Fascination and has an ability that allows it to attack first, do they all cancel out?|
|Q:||Can an artefact of power that has already been depleted (e.g. a ‘once per battle’ artefact that has already been used) be sacrificed at the Fane of Slaanesh?|
|Q:||If you negate the mortal wound suffered by a HERO making a sacrifice at the Fane of Slaanesh, do you still get the effect?|
|Q:||If an artefact is sacrificed to the Fane, does the HERO still count as having an artefact for the purposes of holding objectives in battleplans like Places of Arcane Power and Relocation Orb?|
|Q:||Does the Epicurean Revellers’ warscroll battalion ability affect the attacks made by the Hellflayer and Exalted Chariot’s ‘mounts’ (i.e. the Piercing Claws and Poisoned Tongue attacks)?|
|Q:||I find Shalaxi Helbane’s Irresistible Challenge ability confusing. What happens if an enemy HERO can’t reach Shalaxi? Do they remain stationary, or move as far as they can? Can they attack anyone else if Shalaxi is not in range in the following combat phase?|
The answer boils down to applying each part of the rule as written:
‘…If they accept, that HERO must attempt to charge, and must finish the charge move within ½" of this model if it is possible for it to do so. In addition, if the challenge is accepted, any attacks that HERO makes in the following combat phase must target this model.’
I’ve highlighted in bold type the three most important parts of the rule. Note that each part stands alone, and imposes a different requirement on the enemy HERO. First of all, if the challenge is accepted, the enemy HERO must attempt to charge, so you have to make a charge roll for it. Secondly, the enemy HERO must finish its charge move within ½" of Shalaxi if it is possible for it to do so. If it can’t finish the charge move within ½", no further restrictions apply at this stage and it can be moved freely or remain stationary as desired. Thirdly, the only unit the enemy HERO can target in the following combat phase is Shalaxi – so if it didn’t end up within range of Shalaxi in the previous charge phase, it cannot attack at all in that combat phase.
|Q:||Can the Dark Temptations ability from two or more Keepers of Secrets be used on the same enemy HERO?|
|Q:||If Syll’Esske is restricted to fighting at the end of the combat phase for whatever reason, does the Deadly Symbiosis ability still allow them to fight one more time?|
|Q:||If I have 3 Infernal Enrapturesses on the battlefield, do I get 3 depravity points for each one (for a total of 9 points)?|
|Q:||Let’s say Unit A has been made to fight at the end of the combat phase. If, when Unit A fights at the end of the combat phase, its pile-in move results in Unit B being eligible to fight when previously it wasn’t, because Unit B was outside 3", can Unit B now pile in and attack?|
It depends on whether Unit A is part of the army whose turn is taking place. The player whose turn is taking place fights with any of their units that are eligible to fight at the end of the phase, one after the other, in an order of their choice. Then the player whose turn is not taking place fights with any of their units that are eligible to fight at the end of the phase, one after the other, in an order of their choice. What this means is that, if Unit A is from the army of the player whose turn is taking place, then Unit B will be able to fight (as its opportunity to fight comes after that of Unit A, and it will be eligible to fight because it is within 3" of the enemy). If, on the other hand, Unit A is part of the army belonging to the player whose turn is not taking place, then Unit B will not be able to fight (as its opportunity to fight came before that of Unit A, when it was not within 3" of the enemy).
|Q:||Can a model that has an ability that allows it to pile in and attack when it dies still use the ability if the unit it is part of has to fight at the end of the combat phase?|
|Q:||My Keeper of Secrets is engaged with an enemy unit that is affected by Locus of Diversion and therefore restricted to fighting at the end of the combat phase. My opponent has activated all of his other units, and I have activated all of mine, but I want to use the Excess of Violence command ability to allow my Keeper of Secrets to pile in and attack again. Am I right in thinking that it isn’t actually the end of the combat phase yet, meaning I can use the command ability to allow my Keeper of Secrets to fight before the enemy unit gets to fight?|
Yes, you can. The main part of the combat phase only ends when both players pass in succession (see Combat Phase). Anything that happens at the end of the combat phase takes place only after both players have passed in succession.
|Q:||Is there a difference between abilities that apply ‘in that combat phase’ and those that apply ‘until the end of the combat phase’.|
No, the phrases are synonymous.
With violence and excess, the walls of reality can be made thin enough to draw forth Slaaneshi daemons.You can summon units of SLAANESH DAEMONS to the battlefield if you collect enough depravity points (DPs). Each time a wound or mortal wound is inflicted on an enemy model by an attack made by a friendly SLAANESH HERO or a spell cast by a friendly SLAANESH HERO, and that enemy model is not slain by that wound or mortal wound, you receive 1 depravity point. In addition, every time a wound or mortal wound is allocated to a friendly SLAANESH HERO and not negated, and that friendly model is not slain by that wound or mortal wound, you receive 1 depravity point.
The disappearance of Slaanesh has divided his followers into several factions, each with their own agenda.After you have chosen the Slaanesh allegiance for your army, you must also choose a Host of Slaanesh keyword for your army. You can choose for your army to be an INVADERS HOST, a PRETENDERS HOST, or a GODSEEKERS HOST. All units in your army gain the keyword of the host that you have chosen. All units with that keyword benefit from the host’s allegiance abilities, which are presented below, in addition to the allegiance abilities they have for being from a Slaanesh army.
Hedonite leaders can fill the minds of those nearby with perverse and compelling desires.At the end of the charge phase, each friendly HEDONITE HERO that is within 6" of an enemy unit can create a locus of diversion. If they do so, pick 1 enemy unit that is within 6" of that HEDONITE HERO and roll a dice, adding 2 if that HEDONITE HERO IS A GREATER DAEMON. On a 5+, that enemy unit fights at the end of the following combat phase, after the players have picked any other units to fight in that combat phase. You cannot pick the same unit as the target for this ability more than once in the same charge phase (whether the roll is successful or not).
The followers of Slaanesh revel in slaughter, the frisson of battle driving them to strike again and again.If the unmodified hit roll for an attack made with a melee weapon by a CHAOS SLAANESH model is 6, that attack inflicts 2 hits on the target instead of 1. Make a wound and save roll for each hit. If the attacking model’s unit has 20 or more models, its attacks inflict 3 hits on an unmodified hit roll of 6 instead.
The Despoiler’s ArtINVADERS HOST units only
FIGUREHEADS OF THE DARK PRINCE
An Invaders host is led by numerous warlords, each vying with the others for control and glory. Below these figureheads fight a whirling riot of Slaanesh’s minions.
An INVADERS HOST army can have up to 3 generals instead of 1. Only 1 of the generals (your choice) can have a command trait, but all 3 are considered to be a general for the purposes of using command abilities. However, an INVADERS HOST general cannot use a command trait or command ability while they are within 12" of any other friendly INVADERS HOST generals. In addition, each time 1 of your generals is slain for the first time, you receive 1 extra command point.
Invaders wreak havoc upon the lands in their attempts to outdo one another in Slaanesh’s name.
At the start of your hero phase, you receive D3 depravity points if any friendly INVADERS HOST units are wholly within enemy territory. If 3 or more friendly INVADERS HOST units are wholly within enemy territory at the start of your hero phase, you receive D6 depravity points instead of D3.
INVADERS HEDONITE HOST
An Invaders host contains a vast multitude of Daemonettes.
A Hedonite Host in an INVADERS HOST army must contain 2-4 Epicurean Revellers battalions and 0-2 Seeker Cavalcade battalions instead of 1-3.
Obsessions of the InvaderINVADERS HOST HERO general only
Sacred Spoils of WarINVADERS HOST HERO only
Magnificence Made FleshPRETENDERS HOST units only
HEIR TO THE THRONE
Pretender hosts are made up of large throngs of Slaaneshi warriors led by a powerful and charismatic individual. In many cases, this will be a Keeper of Secrets, or an especially arrogant, vain and ambitious mortal champion.
If the general of a PRETENDERS HOST army is a HERO, they have 2 different command traits instead of 1 command trait. If you randomly generate the traits, roll again if the second result is the same as the first. In addition, you can re-roll hit rolls of 1 for attacks made with melee and missile weapons by friendly PRETENDERS HOST units while they have 10 or more models.
PRETENDERS HEDONITE HOST
A Pretender will rarely brook any rivals.
A Supreme Sybarites battalion in a PRETENDERS HOST army must have only 1 CHAOS SLAANESH HERO instead of 3-6.
Pretender warlords must constantly prove their prowess in order to deter any challengers that might otherwise rise from the ranks.
At the start of your hero phase, you receive D3 depravity points if your general is within 3" of any enemy units. If your general is within 3" of 3 or more enemy units at the start of your hero phase, you receive D6 depravity points instead of D3.
Aspects of the Perfect LiegePRETENDERS HOST HERO general only
Regalia of the Rightful HeirPRETENDERS HOST HERO only
Blessings of the Gleeful ChaseGODSEEKERS HOST units only
THUNDERING CAVALCADEMANIACAL HUNTERS
Hosts of Slaaneshi Godseekers are thundering cavalcades of cruel-eyed hedonists that gallop forth on Steeds of Slaanesh or ride atop whirl-bladed chariots.
Add 1 charge rolls for units in a GODSEEKERS HOST army.
GODSEEKERS HEDONITE HOST
A Godseekers host contains a vast vanguard of Seekers.
A Hedonite Host in a GODSEEKERS HOST army must contain 0-2 Epicurean Revellers battalions and 2-4 Seeker Cavalcade battalions instead of 1-3.
Trilling and shrieking, laughing and groaning, Godseekers sweep down upon their prey in a wild mass.
At the end of your charge phase, you receive D3 depravity points if any friendly GODSEEKERS HOST units made a charge move in that phase. If 3 or more friendly GODSEEKERS HOST units made a charge move in that phase, you receive D6 depravity points instead of D3.
Traits of the Seeker SupremeGODSEEKERS HOST HERO general only
Treasures of the HuntGODSEEKERS HOST HERO only
Vengeance UnleashedSYLL’ESSKAN HOST units only
In reflection of their leader, the hosts that follow Syll’Esske count both daemons and mortals in roughly equal number, working together in perfect symmetry.
At the start of the battle, if the number of MORTAL units in a Syll’Esskan Host army is exactly equal to the number of DAEMON units, you receive D3 extra command points. If the total number of units in the army is more than 12, and the number of MORTAL units in a Syll’Esskan Host army is exactly equal to the number of DAEMON units, you receive D6 extra command points instead of D3 extra points. Syll’Esske counts as 2 units, 1 MORTAL and 1 DAEMON, for the purposes of this rule.
The followers of Syll’Esske are united in their desire to wreak vengeance, and they take shivering pleasure in their comrades committing acts of violence and excess in the name of the Vengeful Allegiance.
When you receive depravity points because a friendly SLAANESH HERO has inflicted a wound or mortal wound, or has suffered a wound or mortal wound, you receive 2 depravity points instead of 1 if that SLAANESH HERO is within 12" of SYLL’ESSKE.
A Syll’Esskan host contains far more mortal warriors that any other host of Slaanesh.
A Syll’Esskan Host can include only the following warscroll battalions: The Vengeful Alliance, Epicurean Revellers, Seeker Cavalcade, Devout Supplicants, Vengeful Throng and Daemonsteel Contingent. The Vengeful Alliance, Devout Supplicants, Vengeful Throng and Daemonsteel Contingent warscroll battalions can only be used in an army that is a Syll’Esskan Host.
Lore of SlaaneshSLAANESH DAEMON WIZARDS only
Forbidden Sorceries of SlaaneshSLAANESH GREATER DAEMONS only
Lore of Pain and PleasureMORTAL SLAANESH WIZARDS only
Two Hosts Go To War
The hosts of Slaanesh have long held bitter rivalries. With their deity missing, many warlords hope to claim dominion over all their kith and kin, and in doing so dominate the realms and consecrate them in the name of their fell patron – or even replace him entirely. Invaders seek to conquer the territory and material possessions of their foes, while Godseekers try to get as close to Slaanesh as possible – usually through committing acts of depravity on the altar of war. Pretenders merely seek to eliminate the strongest of their rivals, and in doing so prove their right to become a living god.THE ARMIES
Each player picks an army as described in the core rules. Both players must use a Slaanesh army. Neither army can include a FANE OF SLAANESH.
Both players can use the following command ability.
Glory of the Dark Prince: The leaders of the host entreat their followers to fight their hardest to capture the Fane of Slaanesh.
You can use this command ability at the end of the combat phase if there are any friendly HEROES within 12" of the Fane of Slaanesh (see ‘The Battlefield’, below). If you do so, pick 1 friendly unit wholly within 12" of the Fane of Slaanesh and within 3" of an enemy unit. That unit can pile in and attack with its melee weapons. You cannot pick the same unit to benefit from this command ability more than once per combat phase.
Designer’s Note: If both players wish to use this command ability at the end of the same combat phase, remember that the player whose turn is taking place does so first.
Set up 1 FANE OF SLAANESH terrain feature in centre of the battlefield, as shown on the map below.
The players roll off, and the winner decides which territory each side will use. The territories are shown on the map below.
The players then alternate setting up units one at a time, starting with the player that won the roll-off. Units must be set up wholly within their own territory.
Continue to set up units until both players have set up their armies. If one player finishes first, the opposing player sets up the rest of the units in their army, one after another.
This battle is fought to control the Fane of Slaanesh, and to achieve a quest. The Fane of Slaanesh is located at the centre of the battlefield, as shown on the map, and is treated as an objective in addition to the other rules that apply to it.
The quest each player is trying to achieve is determined by the Host of Slaanesh the player’s army belongs to:
Invaders Host Quest: You complete your quest if any friendly units with 5 or more models are wholly within your opponent’s territory at the end of the battle.
Pretenders Quest: You complete your quest if the Leader with the highest points value on your opponent’s roster is slain at the end of the battle. If 2 or more models are eligible, pick 1 at the start of the first battle round.
Godseekers Quest: You complete your quest if, at the end of the battle, you have 6 or more unspent depravity points.
Starting from the third battle round, at the end of each battle round, roll a dice and add the number of the current battle round to the roll. On a 9+ the battle ends. On any other roll, the battle continues.
When the battle ends, if one player controls the objective and has completed their quest, then that player wins a major victory. If neither player controls the objective, but only one has completed their quest, then the player that has completed their quest wins a minor victory. Any other result is a draw.
Path to Glory campaigns centre around collecting and fighting battles with a warband in the Age of Sigmar. Champions fight each other and gather followers to join them in their quest for glory, taking advantage of this age of unending battle to win glory and renown.In order to play Path to Glory campaigns you have to follow rules described here.
Followers Rewards Table
Champion Rewards Table
The SLAANESH and DAEMON keywords are used in following Slaanesh warscrolls:
The SLAANESH and HERO keywords are used in following Slaanesh warscrolls:
The HEDONITE and HERO keywords are used in following Slaanesh warscrolls:
The HEDONITE, HERO and GREATER DAEMON keywords are used in following Slaanesh warscrolls:
The CHAOS and SLAANESH keywords are used in following Slaanesh warscrolls:
The INVADERS HOST keyword is used in following Slaanesh warscrolls:
The INVADERS HOST and HERO keywords are used in following Slaanesh warscrolls:
The PRETENDERS HOST keyword is used in following Slaanesh warscrolls:
The CHAOS, SLAANESH and HERO keywords are used in following Slaanesh warscrolls:
The PRETENDERS HOST and HERO keywords are used in following Slaanesh warscrolls:
The GODSEEKERS HOST keyword is used in following Slaanesh warscrolls:
The GODSEEKERS HOST and HERO keywords are used in following Slaanesh warscrolls:
The SYLL’ESSKAN HOST keyword is used in following Slaanesh warscrolls:
The MORTAL keyword is used in following Slaanesh warscrolls:
The DAEMON keyword is used in following Slaanesh warscrolls:
The SYLL’ESSKE keyword is used in following Slaanesh warscrolls:
The SLAANESH and WIZARD keywords are used in following Slaanesh warscrolls:
The SLAANESH, DAEMON and WIZARD keywords are used in following Slaanesh warscrolls:
The SLAANESH and GREATER DAEMON keywords are used in following Slaanesh warscrolls:
The DAEMON, HEDONITE and HERO keywords are used in following Slaanesh warscrolls:
The MORTAL, SLAANESH and WIZARD keywords are used in following Slaves to Darkness warscrolls:
The MORTAL and SLAANESH keywords are used in following Slaanesh warscrolls:
The FANE OF SLAANESH keyword is used in following Slaanesh warscrolls: