SeraphonBound Malevolent Maelstrom
Endless Spell

Bound Malevolent Maelstrom

A Malevolent Maelstrom is a swirling vortex of magic, a tempest that sucks in sorcerous energies and the souls of the dead before exploding in a cataclysmic nova.

Unit Size: 1      Points: 20
Battlefield Role: Endless Spell


A Bound Malevolent Maelstrom is a single model.

PREDATORY: A Bound Malevolent Maelstrom is a predatory endless spell. It can move up to 8" and can fly.


Summon Bound Maelstrom: Through the manipulation of the death energy around them, a wizard can manifest an unstable, all-consuming vortex and send it swirling into the enemy ranks.
Summon Bound Maelstrom has a casting value of 7. Only SERAPHON WIZARDS can attempt to cast this spell. If successfully cast, set up a Bound Malevolent Maelstrom model wholly within 18" of the caster.


Devourer of Sorcery and Souls: The Maelstrom pulls the souls of the slain and the spells of the living screaming unto itself, growing ever more unstable as it does so.
If a WIZARD successfully casts a spell within 12" of this model and that spell is not unbound, make an additional unbinding roll for that spell. If the roll is successful, the spell is unbound and 1 energy point (see below) is allocated to this model. In addition, 1 energy point is allocated to this model for each unit that is destroyed within 6" of it.

Morbid Detonation: Having gorged itself on magic and the howling spirits of the dead, the maelstrom eventually collapses under the weight of its own existence in a nova of devastating energy.
At the end of the battle round, roll a dice for this model and add the number of energy points allocated to it to the roll. On a 7+, each unit within 3D6" of this model suffers D3 mortal wounds. This model is then dispelled.

If the warscroll for a model says that the model can fly, it can pass across models and terrain features as if they were not there when it makes any type of move. Any vertical distance up and/or down is ignored when measuring a flying model’s move. It cannot finish the move on top of another model.
Casting and Unbinding Spells
A WIZARD can attempt to cast spells in its own hero phase. You cannot attempt to cast the same spell more than once in the same turn (even with a different wizard).

In order to cast a spell, first say which spell the wizard is going to attempt to use (it must be one they know). To cast the spell, roll 2D6. If the total is equal to or greater than the casting value of the spell, the spell is successfully cast.

If a spell is cast, the opposing player can choose one of their WIZARDS that is within 30" of the caster to attempt to unbind the spell before its effects are applied. To unbind a spell, roll 2D6. If the roll beats the roll used to cast the spell, then the spell is not successfully cast. Only one attempt can be made to unbind a spell.

The SERAPHON and WIZARD keywords are used in following Seraphon warscrolls:

Leader, Behemoth
Mortal Wounds
Some attacks, spells and abilities inflict mortal wounds. Do not make hit, wound or save rolls for mortal wounds. Instead, the damage inflicted on the target is equal to the number of mortal wounds that were suffered. Allocate any mortal wounds that are caused while a unit is attacking at the same time as any other wounds caused by the unit’s attacks, after all of the unit’s attacks have been completed. Mortal wounds caused at other times are allocated to models in the target unit as soon as they occur, in the same manner as wounds caused by damage from an attack.

After they have been allocated, a mortal wound is treated in the same manner as any other wound for all rules purposes.
Unbinding and Dispelling
A WIZARD can attempt to unbind an endless spell when it is initially cast as normal. In addition, a WIZARD can attempt to dispel one endless spell at the start of each of their hero phases. If a wizard attempts to dispel an endless spell, they can attempt to cast one less spell than normal that phase.

In order to dispel an endless spell, first pick an endless spell model within 30" of the wizard and visible to them, and then roll 2D6. If the roll is greater than the casting value of the spell, the endless spell is dispelled. An endless spell model cannot be subjected to more than one dispel attempt per hero phase.

When an endless spell is dispelled its model is removed from play; the model can then be used again if the same endless spell is successfully cast later in the battle.
Army List
Warscrolls collated
© Vyacheslav Maltsev 2013-2020