Gloomspite Gitz – Scrapskuttle’s Arachnacauldron
Endless Spell

Scrapskuttle’s Arachnacauldron

Scrapskuttle’s Arachnacauldron fumes with sorcerous energies, and a shaman who drinks of its foul fluids feels magical knowledge burn through their brain. Yet the cauldron squeals always with idiot hunger, and there is a price to be paid for the arcane power it bestows.
PITCHED BATTLE PROFILE

Unit Size: 1      Points: 40
Battlefield Role: Endless Spell

DESCRIPTION

Scrapskuttle’s Arachnacauldron is a single model.

MAGIC

Summon Scrapskuttle’s Arachnacauldron: The shaman whistles loudly, calling Scrapskuttle’s Arachnacauldron to his side.
Summon Scrapskuttle’s Arachnacauldron has a casting value of 5. Only GLOOMSPITE GITZ WIZARDS can attempt to cast this spell. If successfully cast, set up a Scrapskuttle’s Arachnacauldron model within 1" of the caster.

As long as the Scrapskuttle’s Arachnacauldron is not dispelled, the caster and the Scrapskuttle’s Arachnacauldron are treated as being a single model from the caster’s army that uses the caster’s warscroll as well as the Endless Spells rules. The Scrapskuttle’s Arachnacauldron must remain within 1" of the caster. If the caster is slain, then the Scrapskuttle’s Arachnacauldron is immediately dispelled and removed from play along with the caster.

ABILITIES

Blessings of the Cauldron: Scrapskuttle’s Arachnacauldron grants great arcane power to the one brave or mad enough to call upon its aid.
As long as Scrapskuttle’s Arachnacauldron is not dispelled, add 1 to casting and unbinding rolls for the caster, and the caster knows all of the spells from the Lore of the Moonclans.

Bloodslither Pact: Scrapskuttle’s Arachnacauldron only imparts its gifts when live victims are plunged screaming into the bubbling broth that sloshes around in its iron belly. If no enemies are nearby, then allies or even the caster will have to be sacrificed!
When the Scrapskuttle’s Arachnacauldron is set up, and at the start of each of the caster’s hero phases after it is set up, you must pick 1 unit within 3" of the caster. That unit suffers D3 mortal wounds. Note that this means that if there are no other units within 3" of the caster, then the caster will suffer the mortal wounds.

KEYWORDS
ENDLESS SPELL, SCRAPSKUTTLE’S ARACHNACAULDRON
Casting and Unbinding Spells
A WIZARD can attempt to cast spells in its own hero phase. You cannot attempt to cast the same spell more than once in the same turn (even with a different wizard).

In order to cast a spell, first say which spell the wizard is going to attempt to use (it must be one they know). To cast the spell, roll 2D6. If the total is equal to or greater than the casting value of the spell, the spell is successfully cast.

If a spell is cast, the opposing player can choose one of their WIZARDS that is within 30" of the caster to attempt to unbind the spell before its effects are applied. To unbind a spell, roll 2D6. If the roll beats the roll used to cast the spell, then the spell is not successfully cast. Only one attempt can be made to unbind a spell.

The GLOOMSPITE GITZ and WIZARD keywords are used in following Gloomspite Gitz warscrolls:

None
Leader
• Zarbag
Leader, Behemoth
Unbinding and Dispelling
A WIZARD can attempt to unbind an endless spell when it is initially cast as normal. In addition, a WIZARD can attempt to dispel one endless spell at the start of each of their hero phases. If a wizard attempts to dispel an endless spell, they can attempt to cast one less spell than normal that phase.

In order to dispel an endless spell, first pick an endless spell model within 30" of the wizard and visible to them, and then roll 2D6. If the roll is greater than the casting value of the spell, the endless spell is dispelled. An endless spell model cannot be subjected to more than one dispel attempt per hero phase.

When an endless spell is dispelled its model is removed from play; the model can then be used again if the same endless spell is successfully cast later in the battle.
Mortal Wounds
Some attacks, spells and abilities inflict mortal wounds. Do not make hit, wound or save rolls for mortal wounds. Instead, the damage inflicted on the target is equal to the number of mortal wounds that were suffered. Allocate any mortal wounds that are caused while a unit is attacking at the same time as any other wounds caused by the unit’s attacks, after all of the unit’s attacks have been completed. Mortal wounds caused at other times are allocated to models in the target unit as soon as they occur, in the same manner as wounds caused by damage from an attack.

After they have been allocated, a mortal wound is treated in the same manner as any other wound for all rules purposes.

The ENDLESS SPELL keyword is used in following Gloomspite Gitz warscrolls:

Endless Spell
Army List
Warscrolls collated
© Vyacheslav Maltsev 2013-2020